We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Old Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Rustic Old Hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

If you are looking for a hotel with the finer amenities this is not the hotel for you. The hotel is older and has a very rustic look and feel about it. From the hardwood floor in the room to the furniture all show signs of aging. The room was clean but just old. The bed was very firm and not very comfortable. The television was a 16" (yes 16") flat screen that gets very poor reception to the point you receive only about 5 channels clearly. The channel selection is very limited and doesn't contain channels like ESPN. The lighting in the hallways and elevator were very poor and the elevator stopped for no reason twice on me during the week long stay. I wasn't stuck in the elevator but I had to reselect the floor I was going to and it started back up. It is also very, very slow. Overall, if you are wanting one night in a historic, rustic looking hotel to sleep in while you party in St. Petersburg then this might be the place as the location is excellent. If you want a hotel to relax while you or a family are on vacation go somewhere else. The staff was just average, the check-in help was nice and friendly while the other staff had moments of rudeness. I think the hotel is trying to improve this but there is some resistance. There is no storage for your luggage should you request it. Or I should say it depends on who you ask. The two employees argued over this right in front of me with one saying they could store it while I was at work and the other said they had no storage. It reminded me of a classic comedy act the way they went back and forth. I chose to take my luggage with me to the office that day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robsdaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    186
    125
    70
    98
See reviews for
88
273
56
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ponce for one night while visiting St. Petersburg. The hotel is located in the beautiful downtown district about a block from the water, a two-minute walk to bars, restaurants and nightlife, and a 10 to 15-minute walk to the famous St. Pete Pier.

Parking: This outstanding location has several parking options nearby, including meters on the street (free after 6 p.m. on Friday and through the weekend), an honor system surface lot and garage about a block away. Both times we parked, we were able to get metered parking right next to the hotel - and we took advantage of it being free!

Staff/Check-in: First impression was, what a cute little lobby! Modern furnishings and decor give it an understated trendy feel. Unfortunately, the two ladies behind the desk didn't feel like welcoming or greeting us... and when we gave them our name to check in, they couldn't find our reservation. They asked, "what site did you book from?" and the hilarious part was that we booked it straight from their own website! They eventually found it, honored our request for a room on a higher floor and it was smooth sailing from there. Later, a couple of guys took over in the ladies' place behind the desk and were MUCH friendlier, holding the door open for us, chatting, etc.

The Room: We stayed in a Queen room - the modern look is alive and well here, too. Just the basics - nothing fancy! Yes, the room is a bit smaller than what many people are accustomed to but it is not like you have to walk in and over the bed to get to the bathroom! Well, almost. I think they could have done a little better on the layout because there is plenty of space when you walk in the door but the distance between the foot of the bed and desk is a bit narrow, so you do have to squeeze through - or if someone is standing there - hop across the bed! Other than that, no complaints. The headboard to the bed is kind of cool because it is set up like a shelf and you can put your phone, jewelry, luggage or whatever else on it to save a little room or have things handy. Bed wasn't overly soft or hard, but very low profile and it kind of rattled if you rolled over on it. The flooring is all wood, there is a closet to put your stuff in, a mini fridge with water ($2), complimentary coffee, tea and cups, a small flatscreen TV, robe and the usual bath products. The bathroom is also a bit small but totally functional. The hot water knob in the tub had a sign above it letting people know to let the water run for 2 minutes. Hey, it's an older building people! :) Really enjoyed the FREE WI-FI though, as a big plus.

Final Word: The Ponce is a great place to stay in St. Pete if you're looking to get out and enjoy all this downtown area has to offer. There are so many fantastic restaurants, bars, museums and other great sights to see near this hotel. Take advantage of its proximity to everything, get out and enjoy! The Ponce will give you a decent place to rest when you're ready to retire.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smootchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safety Harbor,Fl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I booked this hotel as a gift for my mom along with tickets to the mahaffey theatre.Had never visited downtown St.Petersburg before.The hotel reeks of mold and looks nothing like the pictures online.Staff was rude and most of the time outside the door smoking cigarettes.DIRTY ROOMS,filthy carpets.We decide to stay as we planned on spending most of our time outside the room.Getting ready to go out and mom couldn't get any hot water the pressure was a slight drizzle,bed had springs sticking out.We had a great time in downtown St.Pete but did not want to return to our room totally gross the smell of mold also permeates the Ceviche restaurant I will never eat there ewwww...love the Clearwater and Tampa Ceviches though.We are going to book all our stays at the Hampton Inn AND SUITES BEHIND THIS HOTEL........it is only 20 more dollars a night but well worth it clean bright friendly......no way never again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurag327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This old gem of a property is located very close to the water in beautiful downtown St. Petersburg, FL. Everything else about it is terrible.

The tiles in the bathroom were cracked and covered with mildew (the pink stuff that comes off when you clean your shower). In addition, the bottom of my feet were black from walking barefoot in the room.

When I checked out, I had a question about the amount I was charged for the room. The clerk behind the front desk responded by shaking the paper in my face that had the amount of the room on it. He then said something to the effect of "you signed it D-head". This was completely unprovoked and out of nowhere. I think the guy may have been having a bad day or something. My wife called the manager to let them know who responded that the owner would call her back so she could relay this story to him and he could take action. The owner has yet to respond. I will update this review if he does.

As an aside (since this does not apply to me), I do not remember there being handicapped rails in the bath. The bottom of the bath tub had neither a bath mat or texture to keep me from slipping. While I would strongly advise anyone to not stay this hotel, this advice especially applies to handicapped people, who may need the rails, a little more space and a less slippery tub.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jville_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
169 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

If you want something out of the ordinary, something with a european flare and convience at a very fair price you will love the Ponce De Leon in St. Pete. My room was right across from the elevator and I had no noise issues as some reviews mentioned. I had a glimpse of the ocean. Parking is available only a block a away at a garage or lot. Yes it costs a few bucks but you are downtown! The hotel is art deco and reminds me of the hotels in South beach, Miami. The rooms are small but adequate for one or two people.Two resturants are on either side of the hotel both are great and I did not notice any odor from them as mentioned by some reviewers. The staff was fantastic! I will be back!

Room Tip: 510 has a glimpse of the ocean/bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.8 km away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.4 km away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#22 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.8 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#6 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.6 km away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#2 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponce De Leon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce De Leon Hotel

Property: Ponce De Leon Hotel
Address: 95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3930
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponce De Leon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Ponce de León Hotel is a Spanish Mission Revival building of great historic interest. Located at 95 Central Avenue and Beach Drive, one might notice that this hotel is only one block away from Saint Petersburg’s beautiful and vibrant waterfront and in the heart of downtown. The Ponce de León Hotel is at doorstep to the most popular restaurants, museums and music venues in the city. Some of which include; the Salvador Dali Museum, Janus Live, the Mahaffey Theater, Tropicana Field, Vinoy Park, and much, much more!Boasting 74 modern rooms, and home of one of the city’s most popular and award winning restaurants, Ceviche Tapas Bar & Restaurant. You can unwind with a drink or dine at the hotel bar & restaurant while you enjoy nightly live entertainment. They make their dishes with locally sourced ingredients for the freshest and finest taste. From the moment you walk into the hotel you will be impressed by the style, décor and air of calm professionalism. Ponce de León Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of St. Petersburg’s most popular recreational and business districts, offering convenience, effortless style, and affordability to leisure and corporate travelers. The Ponce de León Hotel combines impeccable service and comfortable accommodation with spectacular views of the waterfront and downtown St. Petersburg. Be delighted by incomparable value harmonized with everyday amenities, service, plus all the attention you expect from a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ponce De Leon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponce De Leon Hotel St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing