We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice rooms but the hotel layout is a big puzzle” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice rooms but the hotel layout is a big puzzle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

The hotel room is nice but there was no balcony just a window view of the ocean. The hotel has many separate buildings making it hard to find your way around. Drinks are expensive. Staff is friendly and helpful. They have 5 pools but very small. Beach cabanas are great

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Exquisitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,675
    1,214
    596
    352
    213
See reviews for
2,114
974
74
786
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We brought the whole family to the resort for Spring Break. The Hotel I must say had the same feel as a resort in Mexico or the Bahamas with just as many amenities. The beach was awesome and was very flat and it was very even when walking out into the ocean. There were plenty of things to do and many very good restraunts that were very convienient. The elevators were very slow and we utilized the stairs when we could. Housekeeping was a little slow in tidying the rooms because they would concentrate on getting the rooms of checked out guests cleaned first. We loved the barcrawl tshirts which is something you obtain by drinking an adult beverage at one of the five bars located on the resort property. The drinks were reaonably priced and not watered down and I must say the exotic drinks were some of the best I have ever had. We had a two room suite which we wished would have been a little bigger but it was acceptable. The balcony was very narrow and the deck chairs could only sit sideways so that was a disappointment. We did not spend a lot of time in the room because of all of the activities and things we were doing so it really wasn't that big of a deal. The resort was really crowded but we never had difficulty finding loungers,cabanas, or even getting into the pools. When we did eat at the resort, there were not long waits to be seated and the food was good but a little pricy. The water activities and Kids Club were also a bit pricy. I must say I did a lot of research on the resorts in Florida and the reason we picked the Tradewinds was for the KONK club. We were not impressed and in fact it was our biggest disappointment. The staff were not familiar with the activities and they were in some cases very cheesy. We had a 5, 6 and 10 year old. We checked into the video game activity but the staff were unfamiliar with the gaming system they had, what games they could play, or even what an evening of video games looked like so we could get some type of picture of the activity before we paid $30.00 to attend. We participated in the tie dye tshirt activity which was not coordinated very well. There were two staff for 15 kids and there were no protectors for the kids and they had dye everywhere. My kids had to sit and wait for a long time because of the lack of staff assistance. We participated in a candy activity where the kids filled tubes of candy with colored sugar. It was over within 5 minutes and there was no interaction with the kids by the staff. We participated in an ice cream pop activity. Our children were the only kids who attended. The ice cream was melted and to soft to put on a stick so they plopped it on little plates and told the kids to put thier toppings on it and eat it but they didn't have spoons. They handed the kids tounge depressors and told the kids they would have to use them to eat the ice cream. The staff member looked all over the kids club for spoons but couldn;'t find any. Eventually the melting ice cream was disposed of in the trash because it could not be eaten without a spoon. We were going to attend the sea glass jewelry activity but when I stopped over to ask the staff what the beads looked like to see if it would even be worth it, the staff member did not know where the glass was and did not even know what the activity entailed. Our final and last go at the activities was feeding the fish. We thought it would include something fun and exciting but my kids were horribly disappointed when they found out it consisted of throwing some fish food in the fish tank in the KONK club and they couldn't even reach it so the staff had to do it. We just decided the activities cost to much for the quality of the program and decided not to attend any more. We will definitely return and recommend the resort to other family members!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephanie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We had an outstanding experience at the TradeWinds Resort. We had a great room with a balcony. The staff was very friendly, and helpful. We never left the resort, except to go for a walk on the beach. We really enjoyed all the restraurants, and bars. We really liked Beef O Brady's the food was excellent, and the service was outstanding. Trade Winds is the Perfect place to go and relax. It was a great beach vacation. We will be back every year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for your review! We like to think that we offer everything you could want or need on property to make it easier for our guests to "just let go". Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaladar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is an excellent resort. We had a great time and will be back again many times I am sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The staff is amazing and ever so friendly!! Bell hop (door man) Albert took care of my family as soon as we arrived at Tradewinds Island Grand. Checking in was a breeze, the front desk was so helpful. We stayed in the pool side suite which was amazing and our 2 1/2 year old daughter was in haven with the pool just out side the sliding glass door. Rooms were very clean and beautiful. Tropical music playing outside really puts you in vacation mode. The Rum Rumrunner drink (adult) @ salts beach bar is haven in cup. A must try is Bermudas Steak and Seafood! Upscale casual dining restaurant and very kid friendly. My husband had the chef cut Ribeye, I had the crab stuffed lobster, and my daughter had the kiddo cheese burger. The service was great! our server noticed my daughter was restless and hungry and he brought her meal asap!!! A step above and beyond. When served our meals my hobby and I were amazed! and tasted so much better then they look. Top quality food! I actually took a picture of my dinner...tee hee. Tradewinds Island Grand does it right, and has thought of everything to insure a perfect beach vacation. Thank you tradewinds Island Grand we will be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillpahoskiTungl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed not only your stay, but our service and restaurants as well. We love being able to offer a variety of dining venues to our guests and Bermudas is certainly a guest favorite. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
2.3 km away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,248 reviews
0.3 km away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,668 reviews
27.6 km away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#21 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
1.1 km away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
0.4 km away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing