We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Rude Staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

My fiance and I decided to take an impromptu trip to the beach, so we called in and booked an ocean view room. We arrived a few hours later to check in, there was not a wait, so we gave our last name. The front desk agent started our check in seemingly annoyed. I asked if they gave military discounts, which she said they did, so as she is looking for the reservation she had his ID plus military ID in her hand. They had misspelled our last name, but it is not hard to do, so when she finally found us, she asked for a credit card for the room and explained the rate (still seemingly rushed and irritated) and mentioned another credit card for the $500 deposit. We were a little confused at this point, so he inquired as to what this was for. At this point, even more frustrated she stated that when we booked the room we had been explained to that because we were 18, we would need to give a credit card deposit for damages. My fiance, said no... we weren't and had we been given a chance to speak we would have explained that we were indeed, not 18. (27 to be exact, and like I stated above, she had two forms of ID in her hand) She cut him off and very rudely said "Sir, you do not need to get an attitude with me, it says it right here in the notes". I have to explain that my fiance is not the rude type, and I can assure you, there was absolutely no tone in his voice. I spoke up and told her either way, no matter the notes, he wasn't 18, therefore we wouldn't be needing the damage deposit. She continued the rest of the check in with out much conversation. She gave us no information on the hotel. The next morning we woke up and realized we weren't sure if they offered breakfast, or if there was room service, and we had already gone through the one packet of coffee and were in need of more. So, he called down to the front desk. We wanted to ask if they offered free breakfast and if not what our options were, and also to ask for more coffee if possible. The lady answered the at the front desk, he said "Do you offer breakfast here?" She said "no we do not offer breakfast, goodbye". After this odd phone conversation, he mentioned it to me, thinking maybe he misunderstood her. He called back. He asked her if they offered room service. She said she would need to transfer him to the restaurant, and again said goodbye and transferred before he could ask for the coffee. For the third time in 5 min he called back and asked for the coffee. She said she would try to ask housekeeping, again said goodbye, and hung up. At this point, I was really shocked at how incredibly rude the front desk had been and decided to write in the comment card. I wanted to delivery it directly to a manger but after housekeeping came in, it was gone. I assumed they took it to the front desk, but I suppose it could have been thrown out before it got there. Either way, there are plenty of options on St Pete Beach and I wouldn't waste your time. The only reason I gave this property 2 out of 5 is because the bartender at the pool bar was incredibly nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SierraJ0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    338
    205
    98
    138
See reviews for
349
260
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinellas Park, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Attended a regional conference here today - conference content was great but the facility is mediocre at best. A/C ceiling vents rusted, ceiling tiles dirty (and/or moldy) and the place smells like mildew and old, old cigarette smoke. Decor is 70's vintage beach with a disco twist. They apparently have only a floor stand microphone and for some reason the screen was placed off to the side of the room. To be fair, maybe the conference organizers set this up buy I did notice that all the conference rooms were arranged this way. The management must focus on the beach and pool area as these parts of the complex were nice enough. The 'spa' was covered and apparently unavailable. The breakfast setup was still on display @ 1 pm so maybe they cater to late risers. The beach is beautiful but spend a little more $$ and find a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Pete Beach hotels

Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

I'm back at the Dolphin once again, for a 5-night stay. I've always gotten a beach front room, hoping for first floor so I can stick my toes right in the sand from my 'patio' stoop. This time I have opted for pool side with balcony, north side of the complex, 3rd floor.

It looks like maybe the Dolphin has undergone some minor remodeling. The paint and bedspreads seem fresher.

The Dolphin is not a fancy place, but it is comfortable, and it is right on the beach. As I mentioned, you can stick your toes right in the sand in a first-floor beachfront room. Try THAT at one of the typical hi-rises here.

I like shopping at the Publix Market across the street, where I pick up items for breakfast and snacks for late afternoon. The fridge has plenty of room for even a gallon of milk, plus sodas and water and etc. and a drawer for meats, cheese, salad items. There is also a microwave which works great, so I can nuke a snack if necessary.

The Dolphin now has complimentary wifi. I don't remember this in the past. Seems it was for a fee in the past?

The pool is not huge, but very inviting none the less. I think I'll be spending quite a bit of time on my balcony overlooking the pool. Because I'm on the north side of this u-shaped complex, I am getting full sun during the daytime. Rooms that are poolside on the south side of the complex don't appear to be getting much sun, now that autumn is here, and the sun is in a more southerly location for the USA.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony if you opt for poolside. Not all rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

it was very close to beach and walking distance to many restaurants. the room was clean and staff was polite and helpful. only complaint wanted later check out but all were taken.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamlvjwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

we had a room with a balcony on the second floor and a king bed.
Pros: good price, on the beach, close to good restaurants, nice patio for meals, pool closes at dusk so minimal pool noise
Cons: Air conditioning is loud if you are a light sleeper, no screen on window (so you cannot leave the window and listen to the ocean waves at night).

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are farther away from the outside bar so they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naturak819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.4 km away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.6 km away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.3 km away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.1 km away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
1.3 km away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Property: Dolphin Beach Resort
Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2480
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing