We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love them!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alden Suites
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville,FL
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Love them!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We were so happy with the Alden! We knew that this place was a bit older and wouldn't be as "shiny" as some of the newer resorts, but we were OK with that, we prefer quiet, little old-school places.
We decided to upgrade from a Bermuda bldg. room to an Antigua after arriving and seeing how beautiful the view was from Antigua. Bermuda faces the pools and the back of neighboring Tradewinds resort.
The rooms in Bermuda have a couple of chairs and a table in front of your room, on a shared balcony with each room being seperated by a see-through wall concrete wall. We wanted to be able to have our coffee in our pj's and enjoy drinks on the balcony at night with privacy.
The upgrade to the Antigua gave us a GORGEOUS view of the beach and the privacy we desired. Plus, it's nice to be able to have the sliding door to the balcony open and let the gulf breeze in all day!
The staff at the Alden are so friendly and helpful. The landscaping is award-worthy! Lush grounds made for a really comfortable and cozy atmosphere. The pools are not fancy with waterfalls and grottos and all the silly stuff people seem to be so eager for, but they are clean, spacious and have plenty of lounges/tables.
They have a nice tiki bar right on the sand with fire pits lit at night, which are nice.
There is a coin laundry on site, and a "Grab & Go" with essentials like bread, milk, butter, and also wine/beer. The woman working there helped us with finding local attractions and with recommendations of restaurants. She was very accomadating and super nice.
Beau at the front desk was a really great guy and very helpful as well.
A lot of the rooms have been recently updated, and we found the furnishings to be only slightly worn, but very clean. The bed was super comfortable and we had plenty of towels/washclothes provided in the bathroom cabinet.
This place is a gem, and right on the sand! Gorgeous sunsets, clean rooms, safe (free!)parking....it's a great place. We will be back again and again!
On a side note: FORGET Crabby Bill's...if anyone tells you to eat there, DO NOT DO IT!!!

Room Tip: Antigua bldg. has greatest views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACR37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
The poolside Bermuda Suites are our lowest priced suites and were fully renovated in late 2010...but what often happens at Alden Suites is that once guests check in and are offered a chance to view our 62 Gulf front suites, the majority upgrade to take advantage of what this guest described to a tee: Unbelievable views of our very wide, white powdery sand beach and large private balconies overlooking the beautiful Gulf of Mexico.

Thanks also for the nice comments about our staff...a nice product is nothing without excellent customer service, and we pride ourselves on the level of guest services at Alden Suites!

Thanks again for the kind review,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    560
    177
    78
    63
See reviews for
616
431
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St.Petes Beach,FL.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Our first time at the Alden. We stayed in the Nassau suite and were very comfortable The room was very spacious and clean. Close to the pool and hot tub. The staff was very nice and attentive. The grounds were pretty and well maintained. They even let us have a late checkout on our last day. We enjoyed our 2 week stay there and would go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thanks very much for the kind review!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We spent a week at the Alden in the Nassau suite - chosen because it is the largest, with a separate living area (that can be closed off from the bedroom with a door) We found the suite well appointed, the kitchen has full sized fridge and dishwasher, apartment size stove and dishes, cookware and utensil essentials (supplemented with purchases from the Dollar Tree less than a mile away next to a Publix). The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and maintained, as are the pools, hottub and other common areas. The direct access to gorgeous sugar-sanded St Pete Beach is the best. All of the staff at the Alden are friendly, helpful, courteous and professional - all geniunly so! My complaints are few - the stove heated unevenly, and the mattresses are worn, and one thing I am sure the Alden management itself would like to change is the very loud live band playing nearby - Fri, Sat and (Super Bowl) Sunday night lousy loud music well past 11 pm. The pullout sofa bed and bedroom door provided some relief) We would definitely stay at the Alden again!

Room Tip: The Nassau suites are the largest, but choose a room away from the elevators (noisy); the clam shell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bielbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thanks for the review and the nice comments about the Nassau Suite and our staff. Further renovations this year, to the Nassau Suites, will include two new thin screen TV's per suite, new sofa sleepers, and we just installed new carpeting a few months ago.

Thanks again for taking the time to send you comments,

Gary Renfrow, President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I haven't stayed at the Alden yet to give a review... but after reading these, we (myself, hubby and three kiddies) are very excited for our stay in March!!! I will be sure to follow up with a review following our vacation!

The McGowan Family :D

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Glad you are coming in March, the best month of the year!

The key to any good stay at a hotel, is that if, by chance anything does not satisfy you and your family, PLEASE let the staff know ASAP so we can make things right

Looking forward to seeing you in March,

Gary Renfrow
President & Part Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Our family has been coming here for years. The newly updated rooms are quite refreshing. This is an old school family resort. If you're looking for five star amenities and room service this is not your place. However if your looking for super clean family friendly beach accommodations then look no further. We always get a ocean view room and the views are great. The new tv's shower heads, beds and appliances are great. The staff is alway friendly. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sndedit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
What a nice way of describing Alden Suites: "Old School Charm"

We take great pride in our history of superior guest service, family friendly facilities, and the nicest suites on St. Pete Beach!

Thanks for the "suite" review,

R. Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.1 km away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
2.7 km away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,404 reviews
0.3 km away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,810 reviews
0.3 km away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.3 km away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Property: Alden Suites
Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Resort
Alden Suites St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing