We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Some folks seem to think when getting a room through Priceline, one is given the bottom of the barrel accommodation for that hotel. When the clerk said we would have a room with a 'view' of the bar we were dismayed, to say the least. However, upon inspection of the second floor room we actually scored a corner room looking out onto the beautiful, large swimming pool, view of the ocean on either side of the beach bar and, of course, the beach bar/patio itself within a few yards of us. You have to like music, however. The band played until 12:30 and we were told it goes on until 1:30 a.m. on the weekend. That might be a little tough to take. The hotel was very well maintained, the landscaping was lush, tropical and very soothing. Food and service at the beach bar was very good. NO SURPRISE RESORT FEES!! We came away happy 'campers'.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gergiebru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    458
    226
    100
    76
See reviews for
476
653
75
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My fiance and I just returned home after a 7 night stay. Sure, the grounds were beautiful but the rooms were pretty old, small, and funky looking. The closet door was broken, the bathroom was TINY, paint peeling and cracking everywhere, the carpet was a horrible shade of pea green/brown and was very old and faded. The window sills were filthy, the housekeeping service wouldnt give us more toilet paper or coffee and we had to ask for it, The bars really werent that special....Players was pretty cool and Jimmy B's had a good atmosphere and was a pretty fun little beach bar but definitely cant understand why it would be voted the #1 bar in all of Florida. Seriously?? Because they had live music twice a day, everyday? The musicians werent all that great....everyone was SO hyped over this band Stormbringer and we love 80's music and 80s hair bands and we were pumped to see them play but these guys werent not that good at all. The live music back home blew those guys out of the water. And the drink prices are outrageous!!! $10 for 2 cans of beer and $7-8 per mixed drink. Thats crazy. Sure, we kinda knew what we were getting ourselves into with it not being a real classy hotel but we werent expecting the rooms to be that old and unkempt. The staff was all nice, the grounds are gorgeous, and noise was never a problem. Also, location was perfect! For 2 20 somethings like us it was an ok place,

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vaca25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salt lake city
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We travel to beach resorts 2-3 times a year, and this is the most fun we have had ever. Although I used tripadvisor when shopping for hotels ... I joined tripadvisor just to give Beachcombers my priase.

*The location is perfect.
*The food is great.
*The beach bar is so much fun – it has a great mix of locals and vacationers.
*The daily bands really make the atmosphere.
*The courtyard is really lovely and immaculate.
*The beach is gorgeous … and the sunsets are awesome.
*They have done a great job with making an affordable, relaxing & fun resort.

Staff: This has to be the best service we have received stateside! Every single staff we encountered was warm, friendly and helpful. Thank you to everyone … Donna, Carol, John, Amy, Brandon, Jason, Eddy, Shane, Brad, Angelic, Dee - And that is just to name a few. Seriously if you asked, they delivered with out complaint. It is rare to find this type of customer service! They seem to love their job and want you to have a really great vacation. THANKS EVERYONE!

There are so many great things about this resort that I could go on & on ...

Rooms: A bit dated- BUT the beds are really comfortable and the rooms are super clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

And we mean that in a good way; We purposely picked a hotel that was NOT a resort, to avoid those fees and we didn't need free towels and staff bringing drinks to us on the beach. No, for considerably less money for this THREE star hotel, and to be honest it was the pics of the grounds that sold us; the fountain is the centerpiece and a great sun trap where you can have your coffee; no amenities like a four-star hotel (ie no hot tub) so you're going to have to find activities elsewhere; the hotel coffee is free, but as we're NY coffee snobs we had to go a 'step up' and get ours from the 7-11 across the street, parts of which can resemble a strip mall; We played pool in the hotel's bar and everyone is friendly. Then there's the hotel's 'famous' bar, Jimmy B's: as a musician myself, I was delighted to see live entertainment and of a very high quality, all day, all night; I mean, it was like a factory and despite our reservations, not as loud as some reviewers claimed. It's almost comforting to hear the sound of a song you know, guiding you in if you're walking the beach at night! The beach of course, is beautiful and right there behind the bar (beware: beach's loungers it will cost you $20 a DAY).
We sampled some of the neighboring hotels' restaurants and can heartily recommend the cafe at Tradewinds hotel, especially the Key Lime pie. Otherwise, if you're prepared to wait, you can grab lunch at the Paradise cafe further up the beach, or even the Sloppy Pelican. Speaking of which, with a young fisherman in our party, we were able to sit upstairs at the Pelican while our son caught Sea Trout right off the shore. For dinner we recommend the excellent sushi at Basil Leaf or if you wanna put some pants on, try the Luna Cafe but reserve first. If you plan on visiting St John's Pass (a nice day out with dolphins right off the shore) or Pass-A-Grille, then consider a day pass on the 'Trolley' bus. Otherwise, if you're willing to risk it, try the FreeRides vehicles, who won't charge you but will gladly accept tips and will even come get you if you call em up.
In summary: Beachcombers is clean, friendly, good value and their bar is the best on the beach.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear constant music choose a room close to the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattyboy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stay at the Beachcomber Beach Resort and Hotel every time we visit the St. Pete Beach area, about once a year. The grounds are lovely and the two pools are nice. The beaches in St. Pete are also beautiful. The sand is white and the water is clear blue. The rooms and bathrooms are dated, but they are clean and comfortable.

For those looking to stay at a true resort, you may want to skip the Beachcomber and spring for the Don Cesar. I would consider this more of an "upgraded motel" than a resort. You will not find people at the pool providing drinks and towels, nor will you find marble in the bathrooms.

However, you will find a spacious clean room that is a good value and the one of the prettiest courtyard and pool areas on St. Pete Beach. You will also find a great beach bar (Jimmy B's) located right on the beach behind the hotel. It always has good live music and pretty good bar food.

Some reviewers will complain that the music from the bar is too loud and goes on all night, which is true. However, you can avoid the noise by simply asking for a room closer to the lobby area - away from the bar. Also ask for a room on the bottom floor as the stairs can get a little old when lugging your luggage up and down them.

Here's a tip: Book directly through the hotel and ask for the "manager's special." You can look at the hotel website in advance to find the rates, but you should call in your reservation. This will ensure that you get a room away from the bar at the best rate. If you book through a third party like Hotwire or Priceline, you may save $10 - $15 a night, but you will be put in one of the "loud" rooms. Trust me, it's worth it just to pay the extra money to be able to ask for what you want. It could make or break your vacation.

Like I said, It's definitely no Don Cesar, but at this price point, it is the best deal on the beach. It's withing walking distance to restaurants, bars, and shops, so you can park your car at the resort (for free) and walk to wherever you want to go. A car is good to have, however, in the event you'd like to drive into downtown St. Pete, Tampa, or Clearwater to check out some nightlife and good restaurants.

Room Tip: Here's a tip: Pick a room away from the bar on the first floor. Book directly through the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muller2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.3 km away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
939 reviews
0.1 km away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
401 reviews
2.8 km away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,806 reviews
0.3 km away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,431 reviews
0.9 km away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: 6200 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3716
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#14 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachcomber Beach Resort Hotel is located on 5 1/2 acres of beautifully tropical landscaped gardens. From the first glimpse of the beautiful, white sandy beach and the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to the welcoming smiles of all of our associates, you will feel relaxed and glad to be here. The Beachcomber offers rooms overlooking the Tropical Landscaped Gardens, the Swimming Pool, or the white sandy Beach. Each of our guest rooms has two double beds, a small refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, large closet, AM/FM clock radio, Flat Screen TV with free HBO, free local calls, and unlimited wireless internet access. In addition, guest rooms with full kitchens are available. The kitchen rooms have the same amenities as a standard plus: a microwave, toaster, stove with oven, dining table with chairs for 4, and all necessary kitchen ware. There are NO hidden resort fees and NO parking fees. There are two heated swimming pools with chaise loungers, an on-site fitness center, an on-site guest laundry facility, complimentary coffee served daily in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, LateRooms, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Beachcomber Beach Resort And Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing