We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveller rating
384
137
35
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
137
35
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge deckpete beachfree beer and wineboca ciega bayliving roommain resortbeach accessother guestswithin walking distancefull size refrigeratorbeach sidesmall pooldirectly across the streetsister resorthome away from homespring breaklounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 585 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Plaza Beach Resorts rents at three local properties so make sure you understand which one you are getting. We had a reservation at The Bay Palms Waterfront Resort which is a Boca Ciega Bay building with 7 or 8 units and just enough parking out front for that many cars. You have to drive a little ways down on the opposite side of the street to get to the office, staff and other amenities which are located with the actual Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort. The Palms units back up to fishing pier and dock for boats. This is probably ideal for those who love to fish or tie up their boat and have a room. There is a small swimming pool and laundry room for the building. Front facing rooms are very close to the street. All of the rooms on the second floor are non-smoking. There is no room service so wet or soiled linen is to be deposited on a table by the outside door each morning with replacements set out there. A broom and dust pan in the closet cares for the tile floors in the unit. Be aware that pets are allowed at this resort so barking can come from the room next to yours. The electronic lock on our room did not work so we had to return to the office down the street and they sent several people who tried to get it to work and finally left us with the old-fashioned key. The rooms are compact, including a small refrigerator, microwave, a hot plate, some dishes (no skillet), a closet safe, and plenty of dressers. Water pressure in the shower is average to low, with great variability in temperature. Hand soap, shampoo and conditioner are all included in wall-mounted dispensors. Television has numerous channels. A small sagging couch and a coffee table also add to the furniture. Unfortunately, an outside mounted AC compressor shook the wall behind the bed with loud intermittent vibrations day or night. After one sleepless night, we asked for a room change and when none were available, we were granted the return of the rest of our room fees for the next two nights and found a quieter hotel room. I think this Resort really should pay people to rent this room. The ad description of "not your cookie cutter resort" adds definition to Resort.

Room Tip: Skip Room 215; beware of possible road noise on the front rooms
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingtummy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thank you for your detailed review. It sounds to me that you were disappointed from the beginning because you booked a room at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort, which is our resort on the marina side, and I believe you thought you were on the beachside at Plaza Beach Hotel-Beachfront Resort.

I want to first apologize for the confusion. We do have three award winning resorts: Plaza Beach Hotel- Beachfront Resort, Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort and Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. The Bayview Plaza and Bay Palms are both on the intercostal waterway, on the waterside, but not on the beachside. St Pete Beach is a real barrier island, with water all around us. Plaza Beach Hotel is our beachfront resort directly on the sand and Gulf of Mexico. All three resorts have their own unique amenities, and we encourage our guest to “Stay at one Resort, and Play at all Three Resorts”. You did mention that Bay Palms is probably ideal for those who love to fish and tie up their boat, this is very true. Boaters and people who enjoy fishing love the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort, because of our marina style docks and oversized fishing piers. However, we also do get many people that just love to watch the Dolphins and Manatees, that our very plentiful, off our docks.

I am sorry if you thought the AC was loud. We have already sent our maintenance team to service the unit. As part of our green initiatives on the properties we don’t provide daily housekeeping service unless a guest requests this through our front desk. This Green policy is highlighted on our website as well as online travel websites. Our check in location is also advertised on our website and on online travel website sites, I apologize that you did not see these policies and procedures before you arrived.

I am happy that the front office gave you a refund promptly for your last two nights. Our goal is to ensure that everyone leaves our area a happy guest, and since we were sold out on the beachside and could not help you, were happy that you did find other accommodations on the beachside that you enjoyed. We hope that you give us another chance in the future, now that you have a better understanding of our three resorts and where they are located. We would love to host you at our the beachside resort on your next visit.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager/Co-Owner
Family Owned and Operated since 1988

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

Really nice waterfront location on the bay. My husband loved fishing from the property's huge deck area with a tiki hut to spare him from the sun.
Had a dog friendly room, which was great...tile floors throughout the room, but no rugs anywhere. Pool was nice, but not very large. Laundry room was convenient ($2/wash, $2/dry) but not very clean. Beds were not the most comfortable, but okay. The property is one car length from the street, so it is somewhat noisy if your unit has a streetside bedroom. Parking is horrific as you back into the main street to leave the property. The sofas were very uncomfortable to sit on. While the property's recent renovations were mostly nice (crown molding, great A/C, granite countertops) they really skimped on furniture selections, drapes, and cabinetry. The "contact paper" finish on our kitchen cabinets was literally peeling off around the edges from heat or humidity. It made the cabinet doors hard to open at times. I really hope they were under warranty because they look awful and interfere with smooth door opening. Because it's a green hotel, there is weak, water-saving water pressure in the sink spigots and shower. Took forever to fill a small dog dish! Bring your own paper towels as these are not supplied in the otherwise decently equipped kitchen. There was a dish drainer, toaster and coffee maker. The staff were all extremely friendly and did whatever they could to make our stay enjoyable. Overall, nothing was horrible, except the parking.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank ediegretchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thanks for taking time to leave us a review of the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort – Hotel and Marina. I’m so excited to hear your husband loved fishing from the deck and enjoyed the Picnic Table/Tiki hut area as well. It’s nice to know you were able to bring your pet and enjoy your room. The parking at our bay properties is a little more challenging due to the original design of the parking lot areas. I’m happy to update you on the sleeper sofas in the rooms; we are currently placing an order and are replacing these with sleeper sofa’s that have a Queen size bed mattress. In addition to that we are planning on re-surfacing the kitchen cabinets. As part of our green initiatives here on the property we do use low pressure shower heads for water conservation. We will discuss your concerns in our next management meeting. I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. It’s nice to hear that our staff was able to make your stay more enjoyable. You are welcome back to the properties at anytime!
Robert Czyszczon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Had a 5 day stay in early April, while we weren't on the beach, we were on a nice bay with a big, quiet deck to relax. The beach was a 5 minute walk (basically across the street). The 2 bed 2 bath suite we had was very nice, clean, and quiet.

The only negatives were the sofa in the living room was not very comfortable and it could be difficult at times to back out from parking into the main drag through St Pete Beach.

It was a great place for a peaceful vacation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank instidude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thanks for leaving us a five star review of your stay at our Bay Palms Waterfront Resort – Hotel and Marina. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful view of Boca Ciega Bay as well as the deck and fishing pier. I was sorry the sofa sleeper wasn’t comfortable. We are currently working with a company to replace these with sleeper sofas that have an actual Queen sized bed mattress. Hopefully we will have them in the rooms by your next visit.
Sorry the parking is a little difficult as you are backing out of the property onto Gulf Boulevard. We continue to look at different options or possibilities to solve this problem. You are welcome back to the properties anytime, I look forward to seeing you soon!
Robert Czyszczon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

We stayed here for the week over spring break and had so much fun! We enjoyed fishing, playing at the beach, swimming in the pools, playing mini golf, chess and everything else the hotel has to offer. It was perfect for our family.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bjones14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thank you for your excellent five star review of our Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina! I am happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed many of our wonderful amenities. I am thrilled that you all got to make pleasant family memories with us. We hope to see you and your family back again sometime very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

This is a small property that has a great location with its own waterfront patio and pool, and access to the Gulf across the street. Our "standard hotel room" was updated and super clean. We had everything we needed and felt lucky to not have street noise. There's a free happy hour at their main location a short walk away and the front desk team (Luis and others) was always helpful and friendly. It's a small, cozy property that I recommend and look forward to returning some day!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank mshookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thank you for your recent review of Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina. It's nice to hear you enjoyed your stay and room here at the property. I am thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. Thank you very much for recommending us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews