We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location with large clean rooms and cozy courtyard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. George Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. George Inn
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect location with large clean rooms and cozy courtyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

There has been so much said about this great Inn that I'll focus on some other info.

Checkin was smooth and the girl at the front desk helped my wife take the luggage up to the room while I parked at the nearby above ground parking garage that was large, well lite and secure. Just 2 block walk back to the Inn.

Had the Nina room which was plenty spacious for 2 adults 2 children with 2 queen beds and one large bathroom. Our room was on the third floor without an elevator so quite a hike up the small wooden stairs. View was great, overlooking the fort out one window and the courtyard out another. No balcony on our Nina, not sure if other Nina's have one.

The courtyard in the morning is very relaxing to sit and eat your breakfast. The Inn provides a solid continental breakfast of muffins, bread, begals, croissants, sweet breads, fruit, yogurt, jams, cheese, deli meat and juices and great coffee. Small crowded area to get your breakfast, but plenty of space outside to enjoy it in the courtyard.

Many have spoken of the noise from the nearby bar/pub at night and the school bell in the morning. We heard nothing like that and found it quite quiet, perhaps because of the third floor, our exposure and the lack of a balcony.

Finally, all I can say is the location is surperb. When you stay in a historic town like St. Augustine (similar to San Antonio, Key West, Charlotte, Old Montreal, Cape Cod, etc), you want to stay right in the middle of it. And in St. Augustine, this is your place.

If you'd rather another great location but full service hotel, the Hilton was excellent as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DowntownCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    176
    50
    13
    2
See reviews for
201
454
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

The St. George Inn is by far the best place to stay in St. Augustine. My husband and I were married in St. Augustine on 2/24/12. We stayed four nights at the St. George Inn along with many of our family members and friends. We booked almost every room for the weekend! Irving and his staff went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed everything about our stay. They helped unload our cars, carry stuff to our rooms, and were very flexible when things changed last minute. Also the breakfast was amazing every morning. Irving and his staff make you feel like family when you are there too. They were all checking to make sure we were enjoying everything and we never ran out of fresh towels and coffee. Each room was so great too and we love how each one was different. The porches were awesome as well and we were all able to hang out on the balconies and the courtyard. Everybody that stayed at the St. George Inn say they are all coming back and I know we will be coming back. I am so blessed we found this place to stay during the most memorable time of our lives. Irving and the St. George Inn hold special places in our hearts and we can’t wait for our anniversary. We already know where we will be staying!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keligirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of January. The customer service is *amazing*. They were so kind and helpful. A few things we had trouble with: to check in you kinda have to park in the road. You can park, briefly, in the sightseeing train lots, but it was just a little difficult to navigate. Also, there are no carts for your luggage, but they will gladly help you carry your bags! The rooms are located upstairs around a central courtyard with stores underneath. Our one complaint about this was that we were initially in a room over a cigar shop and you could smell the smoke, but they very kindly let us move. I guess people have complained about this feature, but we loved it! It was wonderful having St. Augustine literally beneath our feet! And you can walk to pretty much anywhere from the inn. It was wonderful!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Four of us recently stayed here for two nights. One of the rooms was excellent (a 2 bed room), and the other just OK (lumpy king bed, poor lighting in bathroom, only one mirror). The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful and the location is great. Parking is off site. There is lots to see in St. Augustine, though the place is touristy. We especially enjoyed the Fort, Flagler College tour, and the Pirate Treasure Museum. Also, beer at A1A and dinner at Columbia.

Room Tip: Room 19 excellent, room 28 (Santiago) not so great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelersSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

The proprietor of St. George Inn is so nice and helpful that I feel guilty about this review, but my husband and I were disappointed. The Inn is a series of second floor rooms with balconies overlooking boutiques and eateries on the first floor, surrounding a courtyard. Our room was roomy but gloomy. The saving grace was the shared balcony behind our room, where we enjoyed reading in the late afternoon. Housekeeping was slack - didn't clean our room until 3:30 pm the first day. Breakfast is rudimentary - flabby bagels (you can toast them but the slo mo toaster barely functions), yoghurt, granola bars, canned on and burnt tasting coffee. If you love to shop, it's a good location at the top of the pedestrian-only St. George St., but we found the street also disappointing. It is lined with very old buildings but they are almost all occupied by touristy boutiques and eateries. Commerce trumps history here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bornin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.9 km away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.4 km away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Ba...
#13 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autogr...
#14 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
2.3 km away
Jaybird's Inn
Jaybird's Inn
#9 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
7.8 km away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Inn

Property: St. George Inn
Address: 4 Saint George St Unit 101, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-3690
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. George Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your St. George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Saint Augustine
St George Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing