We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Ranked #32 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Totally not worth the price”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We booked thru price line, paid a leg and an arm due to late booking. It's only 9 bucks cheaper than the awesome 2br resort we stayed at Orlando. We thought it should be okay just for the brand.

1. Staff was nice when check in
2. They put us in a very poor 1st floor two queen bed room, where people can see what's in the room thru the thin curtain. They claimed they sold out, but maybe because we booked thru Priceline
3. We asked for a 9:30 morning call - it never came! Thank god I woke up. While we were still sleeping, the room service knocked the door and before we can answer, they are trying to get in without permission.

Anyway, st Augustine is a fun place, but this hotel doesn't worh the price. For this level of room and service, I'd recommend the days inn sitting next door...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rezhangchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Rezhangchen,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. I would like to offer a sincere apology. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    293
    116
    61
    36
See reviews for
256
294
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Proctorville, Ohio
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were here for 2 nights while in town and all in all it was a good stay. The location was good as it was just a few blocks from most of the old district. There were several restaurants nearby to choose from and you were only about 10 minutes from the Interstate and the outlet malls. Our room was spacious and clean with no problems. The staff were the only people we really ever seen and they were always very nice and able to answer any questions we had.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caseynicole79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn32084, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, 1 August 2015
Thank you for writing your review.

We noticed this review is quite old but had never been responded too. We have a new management team and want to make sure we respond to all reviews, positive and negative. This will allow us to improve our hotel.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This feels more like a 2 or 2 1/2 star hotel so over-priced. It's a little "shop worn." The rooms are average-sized (but the microwave and mini-frig are a nice touch.)

Bedding was OK (although the identification of the pillows as hard and soft was also appreciated.)

Room not ready at 4 pm (LATE!) check in but front desk accommodating and "made it happen." Convenient to Historic Area (but not really walking distance for most - probably a mile and change the way the crow flies.)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emcfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Emcfish,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This place is nothing to write home about. On the surface, it seems like a nice enough hotel. The rooms "look" okay, but that is about as far as it goes. The drapes are dirty -- complete with disgusting brown fingerprints all over them. The walls also have huge stains. The entire 4th floor hallway had a horrible cigarette smell, in spite of the fact that it is supposed to be a smoke-free facility. The place is also very noisy. The housekeeping staff did a rudimentary job of cleaning, so the features throughout the entire place were dingy, dusty and generally unclean. They were even out of regular coffee for rooms--how does THAT happen at any decent hotel? If you are going to stay at a barely-average hotel, stay closer to town at a place half the cost--it can't be any lower quality in the grand scheme of things. One plus to the hotel is the lady who worked the breakfast bar--she was friendly, helpful and genuinely nice!

Room Tip: Pick a hotel closer to the downtown sights -- and one that costs much less for the value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear willsr,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We appreciate your recognition of the pleasant staff service at the breakfast bar. It is regrettable to hear that you did not receive the regular coffee refill in the room that you were expecting and should have received. Please accept our sincere apology. We thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and hope to welcome you back soon to see the improvement we have made.

Sincerely,
Lin S.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I selected this hotel for the good rate, past brand experience, and expectation it would be walking distance to historic St. Augustine. It is not within normal walking distance; it was at least a mile. Parking in the historic district was almost non-existent so this was a real letdown. The staff was friendly and accommodting. The room was typical Holiday Inn with the exception of the linen. The sheets were the thinnest and nubbiest I have ever slept on in my life. I expected them to split apart at any moment. One day a towel with strings hanging from it was left (see photo). The included buffet breakfast was so bad we passed on the second and third mornings and paid for it elsewhere. This particular hotel is definitely the exception as we have always enjoyed Holiday Inns.

Room Tip: Check the sheets before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
kathyatthebeach,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We’re sorry that you received service that was less-than-satisfactory. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
0.7 km away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
1.5 km away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.6 km away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#50 of 78 in St. Augustine
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Address: 1302 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#27 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...to the nation's oldest city, historic St. Augustine. You are invited to stay and relax in our full service hotel with restaurant on site; conveniently located near St. Augustine's rich history, attractions and shopping. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic is the perfect setting for a family vacation or the weary corporate traveler. Just minutes from the Castillo de San Marco, Flagler College and the Cathedral Bascillica. Other nearby favorites are the Lighthouse, Alligator Farm and the Lightner Museum, plus we are only a short drive to golf courses and the beaches.The Cafe St. Augustine Restaurant serves a Country Breakfast Buffet daily, and also offers room service and dinner. The Flagler Room offers the perfect setting for meetings and receptions. Sightseeing trains provide shuttle service from the hotel. Nearest major airports are Jacksonville, Daytona & Orlando.Favorite Special Events and Holidays are the Gamble Rogers Folk Festival, Nature & Birding Festival, Memorial Day Weekend, July 4th Fireworks Celebration, San Sebastian Wine Festival, Daytona 500 and TPC at Sawgrass.Let our friendly staff make a reservation for you today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing