We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Conch Fritters! Awesome Atmosphere!”

Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill
Ranked #28 of 170 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar & Grill, Punta Gorda's newest waterfront restaurant opened in January of 2014 in the PG Waterfront Hotel on Charlotte Harbor. The sister restaurant to Dean's South of the Border, Charley's offers a full bar on the scenic deck with the best sunsets in Charlotte Harbor. Our menu is eclectic ranging from fresh seafood including gumbo, crayfish, Ipswich clams, oysters and scallops to steaks, sandwiches, burgers, salads & delicious desserts. We offer inside dining or harborside with entertainment seven days a week. Hurricane Charley's is more than a restaurant, it is a historic picture of the 2004 hurricane which devastated Charlotte Harbor, our walls tell the story of a community effort to recover and triumph over the 2004 hurricane which leveled our city.
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

My favorite eating spot in Punta Gorda. Good food that is reasonably priced. Our Sunday night visit during off-season still saw a good crowd, excellent Buffett-style music, and wonderful views of Charlotte Harbor.

This is one of the post-hurricane successes of Punta Gorda- entering the restaurant, you will find artifacts and news clippings focusing on Hurricane Charley. Another reason to come here.

Conch fritters are the best outside of the Keys.

1  Thank Phildigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Director of Marketing at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Glad that you enjoyed the conch fritters and the ambiance :) Thank you for the review and for being our guest!

Kristine B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 520 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2016

Greeting by friendly staff. The view was beautiful of the harbor, plus we saw Dolphins and a great sunset. The music was very entertaining and the food was great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank billyclyde0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Director of Marketing at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Thank you for your review. Please come see us again soon!

Kristine B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Directly on charlotte harbor nice view from bar. Beautiful sunsets. Bar can get very crowded depending on bands playing. Food is fair.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FLBlonde44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Director of Marketing at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2016

Thank you for your review and for being our guest.

Kristine B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

An extended family (grandparents, parents, kids) went to Hurricane Charley's (connected to a hotel called PG Waterfront) in April and although it was fairly late in the spring break season the wait was suggested to be about an hour-an hour and a half to sit outside. There was a small area inside near the raw bar, and a bigger looking dining room that was closed, but on a nice night we wanted to be outside-an area called the Hunker Down Deck. We were given the vibrating pager and went to the bar to grab some drinks and sit on some picnic tables. The crowd was staying to enjoy the nice night and sunset and to listen to the guy playing music - your typical guy at an electric keyboard who sings Buffet songs and tunes along those lines. The wait staff was friendly and pretty attentive on a busy evening. None of us ordered anything fancy (calamari, fish and chips, fish tacos, chicken tenders for the kids, etc..) and would say the quality was pretty average-would not say the food justifies the wait. Maybe it is well known to others, but Florida really needs to get with the program that even outdoor dining should be smoke free-eating outside and watching the sunset loses its appeal when you are inhaling so much smoke...and certainly not great for kids. Would think it is more appropriate for the bar scene and younger crowd.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Director of Marketing at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Thank you for your review. Our entertainment changes nightly from keyboard or guitar soloists to 5-6 piece ensembles. The Punta Gorda season lasts until into May, so usually there will be a short wait.

Kristine B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

Came here while visiting a friend who lives here. Got a little of everything to share for lunch with the 3 of us. It was AMAZING! Best seafood I've had since new Orleans. On top of that, our waitress, Priscilla was the best! Super friendly, fast, funny, just plain awesome. Can't wait to visit again so I can come here!

1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Director of Marketing at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2016

Glad you had such a great time! Thank you for your review!

Kristine B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing