We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Nearby Hotels
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
American Inn(Punta Gorda)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Punta Gorda)
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
HIExpress.com
View Deal
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (681)
Filter reviews
681 results
Traveller rating
454
125
49
29
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
454
125
49
29
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barmini barboutique hotelhuge bathroomseparate showerbeautiful hotelroom keyrooms are spaciousparking lotwalk in showerlive musicgreat view of the harborhotel guestspeace riverwonderful staycharlotte harborthird floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
607 - 612 of 681 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Haven't stayed here but have eaten there but have seen the rooms which look lovely. The place has a great roof top bar where you can eat and drink, service is good, you can watch the sun go down from a viewing area toward the rear. It's a little noisy with all the passing traffic but certainly one of the best places for a drink in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vistaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Our second-floor room was extremely clean with a beautiful tub and a large, separate glassed-in shower, with plenty of space in between. Our water pressure was good, despite an earlier reviewer's comment.
I liked the wave-your-room-key technology instead of sticking it in a certain way. And needing your room key to get to the right floor on the elevator is a nice safety feature.
The linens were very comfortable, with a just-firm-enough mattress.
Finish carpentry and tilework was immaculate, with trey ceilings and good lighting control, especially for reading in bed.
The roooftop pool/bar looked fun, offering a great view of the bridge and downtown...would have been tempting on a warmer, less windy night.
The young woman at the front desk was engaging and welcoming.
I can't imagine that there's a better place to stay in Punta Gorda, and hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

What fun we had on the roof. The sparkling clean, heated (79 degree) pool was up there. Also a small bar where we ordered a burger and fries for lunch. The views are great. At night, a live band played, the seating area warmed by glass gas burners. The comfy king sized bed complimented the clean, bright room. The great service started with a very friendly doorman, efficient check in, prompt room service. My daughters wedding reception was catered in the event room. The staff was very attentive to the setup, food was great, no glitches at all. There were times when there were noises that could be heard from other rooms amplified by the spaciousness of the room.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the Harbor.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lobstah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I'm still at the hotel as I write, leaving tomorrow. My impressions:
PROS:
Very nice rooms, well decorated. Spacious, well lit bathroom with really nice shower and a jacuzzzi tub too. All around clean and well maintained rooms. WONDERFUL bed and pillows, good tv. Good wireless internet access. Good restaurant with excellent (fast) room service. Very nice staff too, good location in Punta Gorda.

CONS:
No sundries shop, only a mini bar for cold drinks/snacks with exorbitant pricing.
Limited bell service; they'll help you on request but don't expect someone to be waiting to help you.
Here comes the deal breaker: On Fri-Sat nights from 7-11 they have a band playing on the rooftop and it's impossible to sleep. I am 2 floors below the roof and that band and it's bass sounds are just ridiculous here. I completely understand the desire to make money at their rooftop bar but if this is a hotel first and foremost then there should be NO compromising the reasonable comfort of it's guests. You can't watch TV, read, surf the net, sleep or enjoy ANYTHING peacefully with that noise reverberating in your room. I had to get up today at 5:30am to go fishing... couldn't get to sleep until after 11 last night because of the noise.

If you don't mind the band or if you arent going to be in the room until after 11 on Fri/Sat, the place is really nice. Otherwise, avoid at all costs. Stay during the week or anytime a band isn't playing. Staff is well aware of the issue but powerless to do anything about it

Room Tip: Stay away far as possible from rooftop Fri/Sat!!!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Dive4Blood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

What a beautiful hotel, mom and I stayed there for 4 days and loved every minute. The staff is wonderful, LuLu's was fabulous, "thanks Steven" and the hotel staff was great. Only 2 things I would add is no coffee in the room, and the mini bar fridge, although it was a nice touch, there wasn't any place to even put a bottle of water...we had a great stay and would stay there again. As for the music, we were on the 5th floor and never heard a sound from the roof bar, what a classy touch.

Room Tip: it was a little more expensive to stay on the bay side of the hotel and I had already booked, so we stayed on the city side, the suite is an excellent choice, very roomie
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews