We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay - great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Regina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay - great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently for two nights in November. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. The hotel staff were excellent and went out of their way to assist us with things. Their restaurant had some excellent food and the roof top bar was a great place for a drink and get a snack. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks for the great visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    111
    38
    23
    18
See reviews for
116
251
23
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Haven't stayed here but have eaten there but have seen the rooms which look lovely. The place has a great roof top bar where you can eat and drink, service is good, you can watch the sun go down from a viewing area toward the rear. It's a little noisy with all the passing traffic but certainly one of the best places for a drink in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vistaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Our second-floor room was extremely clean with a beautiful tub and a large, separate glassed-in shower, with plenty of space in between. Our water pressure was good, despite an earlier reviewer's comment.
I liked the wave-your-room-key technology instead of sticking it in a certain way. And needing your room key to get to the right floor on the elevator is a nice safety feature.
The linens were very comfortable, with a just-firm-enough mattress.
Finish carpentry and tilework was immaculate, with trey ceilings and good lighting control, especially for reading in bed.
The roooftop pool/bar looked fun, offering a great view of the bridge and downtown...would have been tempting on a warmer, less windy night.
The young woman at the front desk was engaging and welcoming.
I can't imagine that there's a better place to stay in Punta Gorda, and hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

What fun we had on the roof. The sparkling clean, heated (79 degree) pool was up there. Also a small bar where we ordered a burger and fries for lunch. The views are great. At night, a live band played, the seating area warmed by glass gas burners. The comfy king sized bed complimented the clean, bright room. The great service started with a very friendly doorman, efficient check in, prompt room service. My daughters wedding reception was catered in the event room. The staff was very attentive to the setup, food was great, no glitches at all. There were times when there were noises that could be heard from other rooms amplified by the spaciousness of the room.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the Harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lobstah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

I'm still at the hotel as I write, leaving tomorrow. My impressions:
PROS:
Very nice rooms, well decorated. Spacious, well lit bathroom with really nice shower and a jacuzzzi tub too. All around clean and well maintained rooms. WONDERFUL bed and pillows, good tv. Good wireless internet access. Good restaurant with excellent (fast) room service. Very nice staff too, good location in Punta Gorda.

CONS:
No sundries shop, only a mini bar for cold drinks/snacks with exorbitant pricing.
Limited bell service; they'll help you on request but don't expect someone to be waiting to help you.
Here comes the deal breaker: On Fri-Sat nights from 7-11 they have a band playing on the rooftop and it's impossible to sleep. I am 2 floors below the roof and that band and it's bass sounds are just ridiculous here. I completely understand the desire to make money at their rooftop bar but if this is a hotel first and foremost then there should be NO compromising the reasonable comfort of it's guests. You can't watch TV, read, surf the net, sleep or enjoy ANYTHING peacefully with that noise reverberating in your room. I had to get up today at 5:30am to go fishing... couldn't get to sleep until after 11 last night because of the noise.

If you don't mind the band or if you arent going to be in the room until after 11 on Fri/Sat, the place is really nice. Otherwise, avoid at all costs. Stay during the week or anytime a band isn't playing. Staff is well aware of the issue but powerless to do anything about it

Room Tip: Stay away far as possible from rooftop Fri/Sat!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dive4Blood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
0.3 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.4 km away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#4 of 7 in Punta Gorda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
5.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
9.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
9.3 km away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Property: The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Address: 101 E Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-3637
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the Punta Gorda area is simply breathtaking — The Wyvern Hotel is proud to welcome guests who appreciate luxury without pretense. Our 63 room boutique hotel is impeccably appointed with every comfort you could desire for an ideal getaway to this remarkable location on Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast. Our meeting and event space is ideal for everything from romantic wedding receptions to corporate gatherings of all types, uniquely paired with our in-house LuLu Restaurant & Sky Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing