We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,880)
Filter reviews
4,881 results
Traveller rating
2,428
1,457
532
257
207
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,428
1,457
532
257
207
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini club kids club adult pool all inclusive resort tennis lessons circus team first club slice bar evening shows calm pool all inclusives child care deluxe family room family vacation crazy signs punta cana chocolate cream
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 4,881 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Staff and grounds are very good; room décor is worn and outdated; food very good; alcohol is cheap quality. Kid programs are very good. Evening shows are only fair. Sailing and kayaking very good. Plenty of activities for kids.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Club Med
Thank juliemason314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you for the review! We are excited to hear that you had such a great first stay at Club Med Sandpiper Bay. It's wonderful that you were able to enjoy the sailing and kayaking - how fun! We hope to see you again soon! The Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Returning to sandpiper for the second time, we are in the middle of our stay here. First time around was a good experience, thus our return.
There are some wonderful aspects to the club. The grounds are beautifully kept. Would like to acknowledge some wonderful GOs who have enhanced our stay: Golf pro Marie Claire, Antione and William in reception/guest service, fitness trainer Ryan, sailing-SUP gang at the beach all get 5 plus stars! Many thanks to you all!

After reading negative reviews, we were so surprised that everyone seems to be so friendly here. Have been to many club meds, and this is the first time GOs sit and chat with GMs instead of just mingling with themselves. Noticed this from our first evening here. This is the beginning of a new season and all the GOs are very enthusiastic and extremely friendly. All good things in moderation though-- at this pace they run the risk of burning out quickly, and later might not be so fun for them, which the guests will pick up on. Almost feels like they've been given guidelines to follow at the bar, all conversations go pretty much the same. Feel quite sorry for them, and wonder if they must fill their quota of talking to GMs before they can go to dinner. There are quite a few who we assume have been working with the kids all day, and are really not making that transition over to adult conversation at the bar. Would be helpful if they recognize when it is time to say "have a nice evening " and move on, instead of having the conversation die out and hang around, making it awkward for all. It is really a lot of fun chatting with everyone, but it is also nice with a little me-time.

There are a few things we are very disappointed with here. The rooms are terribly outdated, which we knew from our previous stay. Made worse by the very poor housekeeping. Our room never feels like it has been adequately cleaned, have had to chace housekeeping for towels and supplies. Floor isn't cleaned well, and they skipped the bathroom a few times.

One of the reasons we have been going to Club Med so many times is the wonderful food. But this time, the food has ranged from ok to adequate, but certainly not anywhere near the quality we equate Club Med cuisine. Very disappointing. Seems like the food and beverage budget has been butchered. We wonder if this is the case for all club meds or only Sandpiper. Sanitary conditions questionable, as unused glasses and utensils from previous guests are left on the table for the next people to use. Kind of gross. This might be common practice in the industry but it's still disturbing to see.
All in all, 2.5 for sandpiper. Such a shame, since most of the GOs work so hard to make the stay a pleasant one.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank matwenrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, Customer Relations at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Dear matwenrob,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We would like to acknowledge your disappointment regarding your recent visit. Our goal is to provide a wonderful vacation experience and we regret that we didn't meet this goal. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the quality of the dining selection and housekeeping staff. We will forward this important feedback to the resort management for their review.
We will pass on the compliments to the GO's that you mentioned above. Marie Claire and the rest of the team will be thrilled to know that they helped to make your stay more enjoyable. Thank you for noticing their efforts. We appreciate your honest feedback and will use it to improve our product. We hope to see you again, as we would love to renew your excitement for Club Med Sandpiper Bay.

Best Regards,
Your Club Med team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

We stayed the week at Club Med with our Son, Daughter in law 1 1/2 yr old and 3 1/2 old And with our Daughter, husband and 1 yr old, 2 1/2 yr old and 4 yr old. We've been going to Club Med for 35 years so we knew what to expect and what not to expect. Even though it rained every day but one and I mean torrential rain we still had a great time with the family. Being at the Club is a no brainer. Food always good, access to food is good, very spacious rooms...deluxe family for the kids and Club Bay room for us. The kids went to the kids clubs and the staff couldn't have been nicer and would always talk with the kids when they saw them around the club and would dance with them at the nightclub after the show. Our 4 yr old grand daughter even went on the trapeze with Ben's calming help. We couldn't believe it.There is great need for chairs and shade around the kids club pools. We were very happy that they had strollers in the rooms for the kids also.

The bedding was very nice although the pillows were huge. The Club professes to be an Eco friendly club. If this is so then why aren't there recyclable bins all around for all the plastic that is used for water and food. Options for changing sheets and towels daily or not would be great as in most hotels in the US have.

The maids did a good job keeping the sand at a minimum in the rooms. Everyone except for the guards at the front gate we found very friendly. Maybe they were meant to scare off those who weren't staying there. Would be great for them to have some guidance to greet the guests in a more friendly and welcoming manner and learn to be more efficient and speedy at gate check ins and outs

As everyone else has commented, the place needs some repairs badly. Would also be very convienent to have a change machine and a soap dispenser in the laundry rooms instead of having to go to reception for change and boutique for soap.

Large trashcans in the rooms would be very helpful as a family of 4-5 have lots of trash!
We flew into the Ft Lauderdale airport and rented a car which came in very handy for our numerous trips to Walmart that was 3.2 miles away and a rainy day adventure to get umbrellas. All in all everyone had a great trip and we hope to make it a yearly event.

Room Tip: A and B buildings are great for kids. The deluxe family rooms were huge with a separate room with twin beds and 1 and 1/2 baths.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alohawirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review! We are happy to hear that you had another great stay at Club Med Sandpiper Bay with your family. It's wonderful that your granddaughter had the opportunity to go on the trapeze- how fun! We appreciate your feedback tremendously and will take it into consideration moving forward. We hope to see you again soon! The Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Parker is a good person and I think of him as a friend after my stay at sandpiper. He's great at chess too. Thanks to him I love sailing and I'm better at chess. We ate every meal together and played ping pong when it rained.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank emilele1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you for the review! We are excited to hear that you had such a great stay at Club Med Sandpiper Bay and that you were able to bond with Parker. We hope to see you again soon! The Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

My girls (12, 11, 7) and I returned to Club Med Sandpiper for the second time, this time bringing my parents and another family. The draw was the trapeze and circus instruction, which were great again. Overall, staff is friendly, food options are tasty and plentiful (sometimes though it seems there aren’t enough wait staff for the busy times for set up and clearing), room was clean enough, and there was plenty to do, despite a few days of rain. We love the trapeze activities. The trapeze staff is helpful, welcoming and friendly, and they encouraged us within our ability and strengths. Fun for everyone in our family, 7-75yo! We would definitely return again and be excited for our next trapeze lessons. Huge shout out to Hannah for everything!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Mara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

We appreciate your review! It's wonderful to hear that you had another great stay at Club Med Sandpiper Bay. We are thrilled that you family enjoyed the trapeze lessons - how fun! We hope to see you all again soon! The Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews