We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, unspoiled, quiet beach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Saint Joe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Joseph Peninsula State Park
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We drove to Cape San Blas from Scenic 30A area. It was a nice drive once we got outside of the Panama City area. We passed Tyndall AFB, Mexico Beach(beautiful and no June Grass!). We stopped at WindMark-a St. Joe Company Vacation Home development. It was like a ghost town there. Very nice looking development, though. We continued on to St. Joe Peninsula State Park. We started out on the Bay side. It's very shallow-you can walk out very far. Bring water shoes so as not to step on a spiky Sea Urchin. Lots of wildlife for everyone to see and touch: snails, fish, hermit crabs and star fish! We then went over to the beach side and the water was amazing. Hardly any seaweed, june grass or people on the beach. On our way to the park there was a convenience store. It's the last stop b/c the park. They had pizza, sandwiches and a market. There are bathroom facilities at the park and an outdoor shower.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
7  Thank stad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2011

We camped with our new 5th wheel camper at St. Joseph in early May and were very impressed with the facilities. . . the beach is close and beautiful, as most Gulf Coast beaches are. In an earlier review it mentioned that little bugs (sand fleas) were biting, so you just need to spray yourself and go on. Don't let that stop you from visiting this beautiful piece of our universe!! Bathhouse and area are kept clean and inviting! Perfect get-away!

Room Tip: Schedule early in the year for a great campsite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank macpeps76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We spent half a day in June on this beach. One of the best beaches we saw in Florida (traveled all the way around the peninsula). Warm water, white and silky sand, just a few people around. We all fell in love with the Forgotten Coast!

Room Tip: Vacaton rental office
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank travelmake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

tent camped here for only one night in April in the gulf breeze area. stayed in site 50 which was almost as close to the beach as you can get. could here the ocean waves while relaxing in the tent. site was right across from the boardwalk to go to the beach. sand was the whitest sand I have ever seen! sites were a little crowded but definitely worth it. we actuallu had reservations for a site in the shady pines area but was a little too sunny and were able to drive around and pick another site no problem. was a pretty windy night and had trouble getting a fire going at first so be prepared for those ocean breezes. did not even encounter to many mosquitos surprisingly! bathrooms were very clean and showers nice too (one of the cleanest campground bathrooms I've seen). took a walk on the beach for the sunrise and was the only one on the beach...my kind of place :) there isn't too much as far as restaurants, stores, etc on the road to the state park but tons of stuff in port st joe nearby. will be returning one day!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank blazintrails0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

we tent camped in mid April. The park is very nice. Campground had a fire and most of the foliage has been burnt. Does not make for a pretty view. Campsites are close together.
The worst problem is the "no see ums", little black bugs that bite. You had to spray down with bug spray or get eaten alive. We had a dog with us so could not go on the beach. Had fun by the bay side picnic area. Very pretty place to hang out.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wlbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Joe
10.8 km away
Hampton Inn Titusville / I-95 Kennedy Space Center
10.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Titusville Kennedy Space Center
21.3 km away
Best Western Cocoa Beach Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Quality Inn Kennedy Space Center
18.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Canaveral
18.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cape Canaveral - Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Joseph Peninsula State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Joseph Peninsula State Park

Address: Star Rte. 1, Box 200, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Port Saint Joe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Port Saint Joe
Price Range: €68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 119
Also Known As:
St. Joseph Peninsula State Park Hotel Port Saint Joe
Peninsula Port Saint Joe
Port Saint Joe Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing