We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
32
48
14
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
48
14
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mexico beach coffee maker port st blast from the past power strip simple place place to stay comfortable beds panama city old florida fishing retro joe folks toilet pet apalachicola
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018

This is a great little, simple place with clean beds and hot showers. Perfect for a beach getaway where you aren't requiring a fancy room and room service:) The owners are very nice and the beds are super comfy. Coffee pot and fridge are in the room as well as basic toiletries. It's 3 minutes away from the closest beach and 10 minute away from Mexico beach! My sister lives in Barefoot cottages right across the road so it was super convenient.

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank maleighac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marla K, Owner at Dixie Belle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for the kind words. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Small rooms, showing their age and somewhat clanky with the shower fixtures and toilet. Has seen its best days. No new or modern updates other than the small flat screen TV. Does have a small refrigerator and coffee pot in each room for the guests.
Stayed here because it was the only motel that would allow for pets to stay in the room, albeit at an extra charge of $10.00 per night per pet. There were no vacancies for the three days we were there. Evidently the hotel is very popular with the pet owner's and the fishing crowd.

Room Tip: small strip motel with outside entrance and parking in front of the room on a gravel driveway.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Read the reviews before booking 2 Rooms there as we were on the way to St George Island a day early. Our room did not resemble any of the ones in the picture. Yes, there was a dorm room style frig with a micro on top of it. A coffee maker and a wall air conditioner. No biggie. It was just a place to sleep. I went searching for an outlet and notice none...in the sleeping area or the bathroom. So went to see where the appliances were plugged in. They were ALL plugged into a power strip...the frig..the micro....the AC...the coffee maker. No room for a charger or a hair dryer (not that I can't go a day without one...but what a hazard!!!).
For a bunch of folks crashing after a day of fishing...I get it. But for a place to be able to hang out and relax after a long drive. Nope...not my cup of tea!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maupfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marla K, Owner at Dixie Belle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Our vintage motel was built in the 1950s. There are fewer outlets in buildings of that era. All bathrooms have outlets either in the wall or the light fixture. No air conditioners are plugged into power strips. There is also an outlet near the beds for the bedside lamp. Many of these outlets also have a power strip for customer needs. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

We just spent a week at the Dixie Belle and we loved it! It was very clean with some of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. The Dixie Belle definitely has the charm and character of Old Florida, which is what we were looking for in a place to stay. It was close and very convenient to the shops and restaurants in Port St. Joe, only a 20 minute or so drive to Apalachicola and 45 minutes to Panama City. The location was great for anyone wanting to explore the northern Florida Gulf Coast! The owners and manager were very attentive and helpful to anything we needed during our stay. The wifi worked great, it was very quiet every night we were there and it was a very low-cost alternative to the other local motels. If you're looking for an inexpensive, clean, quiet place to stay with lots of Old Florida charm on the Gulf Coast, we would definitely recommend The Dixie Belle. We weren't ready to leave and are looking forward to staying at The Dixie Belle again! Richard and Sherry Willis

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marla K, Owner at Dixie Belle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for a great review with specific information that travelers can use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

From the roadway, just outside of Port Saint Joe, Florida the Dixie Belle Motel looks like a move set for a retro 1960's movie about a "no tell motel" just outside of town. However, you are more likely to bump into fishermen than the boss's mistress. As others posted, we found the motel to be clean, staff friendly, (no Confederate Battle Flags despite the motel name), and reasonably priced.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Port-A-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marla K, Owner at Dixie Belle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews