We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
98
86
30
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
86
30
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmake a u turnnice hotelbreakfast and dinnercouple of nightsfront desk clerkone night stayair conditionerwould stay here againfree breakfastbed was comfortablelobbydavismicrowaveproscons
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

Location was terrible. Hard to get into and out of. Lots of homeless and riffraff around hotel. Our room had not been renovated so the headboard was torn and there was mildew in the shower. The worse part was that I booked through pet friendly hotel which said there was a SMALL pet non refundable deposit. Deposit was $50, hardly small. For the rate not worth it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank cgarcia927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Pensacola - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Hi cgarcia927,

I am sorry to learn that you didn't find the hotel's location ideal and that the pet deposit was not clearly stated. I encourage you to book with IHG directly via our website or call 1-800-4654329 to ensure that all fees associated with your stay are clearly shown and discussed. We certainly do not want to deceive any of our guests. Please know that we also do not have control over the content of third party sites and we cannot oversee the daily operations of other independently owned hotels.

Despite this, we appreciate you giving our hotel chain a try! We hope to serve you better in the future.

Best,

Anna B
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

It’s been long day and we decided to stopPensacola instead Tallahassee, this hotel is still new, it’s total different from other Holiday Inn, not free breakfast but is not too expensive, our room is clean, bathroom is clean and pillows are so soft. We definitely stop by again if we’re on the area.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elifeleti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Because of Hurricane Nate (& then a man dory evacuation), we decided it would be best to find a hotel to spend a couple of nights in, instead of our motorhomes. We called the Holiday Inn -University and made our reservations for Saturday & Sunday night. Because we didn’t know anything about this hotel, we drove to it on Friday & checked to see if it would be okay to park our motorhomes on the back of their lot - absolutely was their reply. Saturday morning, we awoke to the evacuation notification, loaded up & headed to the hotel. We arrived around 11ish. Keep in mind that normal check-in is 3:00 p.m., parked our motorhomes and went inside to see if we might be able to check in. Again, absolutely! The front desk clerk, Gelita (& please forgive me for misspelling it) was there by herself, checking perple out (there were a couple of tour busses there as well that we’re leaving), answering questions, answering the phone (which was ringing off the hook), and then apologized to us because we had to wait. This was one of the most efficient, cool headed, warm hearted,front desk clerks I have ever encountered. She was WONDERFUL! She found our reservation, got us checked in early, and even managed to put our rooms next door to each other, all while answering the phone, etc, etc. our rooms were very nice (the hotel is undergoing updating) with a king bed, nice easy chair with footstool, and desk and chair. The bathroom was a nice size with an abundance of shampoo, conditioner, mouthwash, body lotion, etc. our room also came with a small refrigerator and Keurig coffee maker. As it was pouring during rain during dinner time, we elected to eat at the hotel, which was definitely a great choice. The dinner(s) were delicious. Our rooms also came with breakfast for both mornings and there were several selections to choose from. Again - delicious. As we didn’t seem to get as much wind from the hurricane (but we were 25 miles from the coast) we decided to drive back to see what damage had been done. As we were staying in Perdido Key & there is a very tall, long bridge to cross into the Key, the wind was gusting up to 50 mph, we decided not to move our motorhomes until Monday. When we returned, Gelita called us by name & welcomed us back! Who does that nowadays? The hotel was fantastic, the restaurant was outstanding and EVERYONE was fantastic; especially Gelita. If you ever want to feel very special and shown your business is appreciated, be sure to stay at this hotel. You absolutely WILL NOT be disappointed!

Room Tip: First time we were there but we were very 0leased with our room (522)
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sloopie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Not great but not bad. Had ants in our bathroom on the 5th floor. Also the room includes free breakfast which is a buffet on weekends and a regular restaurant on weekdays. Buffet wasn't very good- they were out on bacon and a couple other things and were not refilled often enough. Also a very limited selection of breakfast items compared to other hotels. Also, your breakfast voucher doesn't cover gratuity so it's not completely free. Wish the fitness room had some dumbbells too. Other than that, everything was fine. Rooms were clean. Location was good although a bit noisy sometimes because there is construction on both sides of the hotel. Just kinda expected it to be better based on how much I paid for the room.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AmandaPanda95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Pensacola - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hi AmandaPanda95,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. While we are pleased with your kind regards toward the overall cleanliness of our property including our location serving its purpose for your travel needs, it is regrettable that your dining experience has fallen below your expectations. Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Rest assured, we take our guest's comments very seriously and always strive to provide a wonderful stay. I have faith in our hotel that they will continue to do their best to improve our amenities and services.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback. I truly hope that we will have a chance to make it up to you and provide you with a better stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Alvin M.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Visited for the first time. Very spacious luxury hotel. Nice bar and Dining room. Food was very tasteful and prepared by a Chef. The booths in the dining room had a tv at each table. Very nice touch.The rooms are large in size. Clean and a lovely scent. There are two elevators so no waiting to get to your room. Large banquet room for any type of gathering. Exercis room Very large with big screen tv. Large pool with a seperate spa. The staff was very cheerful and couldnt been more helpful. The color schemes were beautiful and to my surprise starting next month their starting renovations. Over the top hotel for the price. If in Pennsicola I recommend this hotel hands down. A very satisfied Guest.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MaryM9974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews