We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great view of our troops' efforts - historical and today”

National Naval Aviation Museum
Ranked #1 of 107 things to do in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Experience the magic of flight at the National Naval Aviation Museum! See over 4,000 artifacts and 150 aircraft representing Navy, Marine Corps and Coast Guard Aviation. Ride the flight simulators or catch all the drama and power of amazing IMAX films. Dine in the authentic Cubi Bar Cafe and take home the spirit of Naval Aviation with a unique memento from the Flight Deck Store. Spend a cool day inside the Museum and experience Hands-on-History! New Naval Air Station Entrance: All visitors to the National Naval Aviation Museum, Fort Barrancas and Pensacola Lighthouse who do not possess a Department of Defense identification card or are unescorted by the holder of a Department of Defense identification card, will be required to enter the installation via the West Gate located off Blue Angel Parkway.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift
CRYSTAL LAKE
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great view of our troops' efforts - historical and today”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We started our day at the Navy Aviation Museum with the Blue Angels practice. Spectacular! Then we spent a couple of hours at the museum and could have stayed even longer. It is such a tribute to the impact of the Navy/armed forces throughout out our history. Beautiful displays, artifacts, and planes, of course. My favorites? The Lake Michigan exhibit about WWII flight training on Lake Michigan and the recreated "Main Street" of atypical American town during WWII. Cars, grocery store, etc Very moving. And all free!
Don't pass up Fort Barrancas while you are still on base. Talk about living history! It is amazing!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank GG1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,296
    333
    27
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lindsborg, Kansas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Not much else I can add to all of the other positive reviews. This is a huge place and we were there all day. So much to see. Very well presented. Enthusiastic people working and volunteering at this wonderful place. We ate lunch in their restaurant. Friendly employees there as well. Average food. Lunch for our family of four was around $30. If you are on a budget, I would suggest bringing a cooler and eating outside, because if you really do this museum right, you will spend more than an hour or two and somebody in your group is bound to get hungry. I did not notice any picnic facilities, though. Upstairs had flight simulators and such for a fee. My son did not want to ride these, so I can't comment on those. The Pensacola Light House is almost right across the street, so try to see that if you can, as well.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pixiekansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spery, Iowa
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Almost too much to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We made several trips during our stay. Highly recommend it, and spending as much time as you can here, there is so much! We took the free trolley tour- great guide and you get taken around the airfield and see the planes there. Worth the 45 minutes. Also did the IMax- Hubble. Was worth the time and money, but if I didn't have time, I would skip that for the rest of the museum. Blue Angels are amazing. If they are there for practice when you are, don't miss it. But get there very early. Bleachers for 1000, or take your lawn chairs. Cars were lined up and many had to watch from the road, so just go early and enjoy the morning. We took our breakfast and had an excellent person in our area explaining things and made it a great time. Museum staff was helpful and friendly every encounter we had with them. Museum is free, but no government money, so please donate when you go. And I loved making multiple trips- got to see it all at our own pace.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank thbergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stapleton, Alabama
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Most interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

So much to see and so much to learn. I;m going back next month and really looking forward to going again.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank kanukgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“You can't knock the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This Museum will knock you socks off. There is lots of history and some great old planes to explore. There is no charge so you must stop. Nothing to lose except a couple hours of your time.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jpb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Naval Aviation Museum also viewed

 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to National Naval Aviation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing