We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit to Europe”
Review of By-The-Bay BISTRO

By-The-Bay BISTRO
Ranked #7 of 23 Restaurants in Osprey
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Description: A family-owned European-style bistro offering a variety of freshly baked pastries, homemade sandwiches and most importantly a wide selection of coffee and espresso beverages. For in house and take out.
Restaurant details
Description: A family-owned European-style bistro offering a variety of freshly baked pastries, homemade sandwiches and most importantly a wide selection of coffee and espresso beverages. For in house and take out.
Reviewed 29 June 2017

This is a very nice and cozy bistro with European flair. It's definitely worth to visit! :) They have a lot of European pastries like German Bretzels, Danish pastries and French croissants but also very delicious New York style bagels. A German American couple (Joerg and Susan) is running this bistro so they know very well what they're doing. What I liked most is their idea of making ice cubes out of coffee for their iced coffee so you don't have to worry that your iced coffee will be diluted. :) They also sell different kinds of sandwiches that sound really good. When I was there I tried the German "Currywurst" and believe me or not it is the best Currywurst I've ever had in Florida. Their concept of "little Europe" is completed by an inviting retail table with unique gifts and delicious German chocolate as well as Italian specialties. I really liked it there so I'm pretty sure that I will come back for an iced Coffee next time I'm visiting Osprey. :)

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anniwie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

We visited this restaurant after reading TA reviews. Sparkling clean and nicely decorated, the Bistro serves coffees, pastries, breakfast sandwiches, salads, soups, cold drinks and 10 lunch sandwiches, each named for a European city. We had soups, a salad and a roast beef sandwich (the London). Everything was very good, and the owners are very pleasant.
The Bistro is located in a small development and is not visible from the highway. It is across from the Bologna restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Adventure615920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
619bistro, Owner at By-The-Bay BISTRO, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind feedback. Which sandwich will you try next?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Clean, cute little place. Great coffee, great service, food very good as well. Owner was very welcoming. Really enjoyed it! Definitely a European vibe from the decor to the menu.
It is hidden away, but worth it to seek it out.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sunnygirl3320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 June 2017

Thank you for the positive feedback. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

The food was excellent and the service was good. Sort of lost in the small location set back from the highway. Very limited menu.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Deacontomgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Being on a short family vacation in Nokomis, we stopped here for a little Lunch. We had the Monaco and London sandwich, Curry Wurst German style, iced mocca Latte and other Coffee specialties. If you are looking for a real fresh brewed european style Coffee, the By the Bay is a must go. Nice location, very friendly owners and staff and we look forward to our next visit.

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank Anja E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to By-The-Bay BISTRO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing