We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Every Penny!”
Review of Bob's Balloons

Bob's Balloons
Ranked #14 of 118 Outdoor Activities in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Islamorada, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny!”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We found Bob's Balloons here on Trip Advisor. Even though we had to wake up and meet the crew by 0545 the trip was worth every penny. Bob and his staff were professional, kind, and caring. My 11 year old son was nervous and they put him right at ease. The trip was smooth and beautiful. Bob was very informative and the 360 views were fantastic. We helped get the balloon in the air and pack it up. At the end we had some snacks and champagne! Then to top it off we were given a zip drive in the shape of a balloon with videos of our experience! Bob has thought of everything to make the trip fun and memorable. Wear close toe shoes. You must be able to climb into the basket. There were 5 of us in our basket including Bob....the other balloon had 3 including their pilot. We will do this again! There is about an hour travel and set up time, an hour of air time, and an hour of picnic/ wrap up time including packing the balloon and travel back.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank L_M_142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    6
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wayne,nj
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A smooooth ride.. Fun and peaceful!”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Bob and Bobs Balloon is a fine business. We had a great time and a smooth flight. Views of Disney, Celebration, Golf courses, houses trees.. etc. Unlike some of the other balloons we saw Bob stays close enough to the ground to enjoy the view not making everything look like ants. The basket is big enough for 6 plus Bob to stand without moving much. After landing they prepare a champagne toast (x-large bottle in our case ;) ) with cheese crackers and fruit. For those of you who like to interact with the setup of the balloon, Bob will ask if anyone wants to assist. A video is given to you on a flash drive when you leave (which I cannot comment on yet as I haven’t had time to look at it yet). (1 note, the “fire” is above your head and can feel hot especially for taller people)
Overall Bobs Balloon was a great part of our trip… definitely recommended.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank rishir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New way to see the world,”
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Wow! From our gentle ascent to touchdown it was a smooth flight. We saw wildlife and other sights. The sun rising as we ascended was well worth getting up early for!
A free memory stick with video of our flight made it a superb value and preserved our memories. Can't wait to do it again next year!

Helpful?
1 Thank Silveradodutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven,FL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bob's Hot Air Balloons”
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Last year I took my wife on this hot air balloon ride, for our anniversary. Great time! Shared pictures and stories with my father-in-law, who worked in areo space programs at Pratt Whitney. He found our story so interesting, that we took him up last week. He will be 90 this year, and he hasn't stopped talking of this fantastic experience. Dress comfortable, wear tie shoes and enjoy nature as you drift over the tress and swamps.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank dogtown60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Early start...view is worth every cent!”
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Despite the early start and Bob's incapacitation (through injury sustained elsewhere) nothing could dampen his obvious enthusiasm and passion for hot air ballooning. We were joined by 2 other couple for our experience and there was plenty of room in the basket for all.

Bob and his team were brilliant on the trip towards the lauch site, explaining everything we needed to know about safety and also giving a brief history of hot air ballooning. Little did we know at the champagne breakfast at the end of the tour there was a sneaky quiz on what they covered at 5am!

The flight itself was a perfect escape from the hustle bustle of Orlando theme parks. A tranquil and surreal experience that will never be forgotten. Awesome only begins to describe the experience.

Landing next to other hot air balloons after spending an hour seeing the sights of Florida from 2000ft was a perfect beginning to the day. Bob and his team provided champagne and nibbles at an Orange Grove before heading back to where we met earlier in the morning.

For those wanting to get involved Bob gave the opportunity to help unpack and repack the balloon. Camera's are a must and be aware of the bugs as the sun is coming up before takeoff.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank StephWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bob's Balloons also viewed

 
Kissimmee, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Bob's Balloons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing