We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food left a lot to be desired”
Review of Anh Hong

Anh Hong
Ranked #1,118 of 4,077 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Deli, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Anh Hong Restaurant offers the finest, authentic selection of Vietnamese cuisine in the Orlando area. We specializes in an assortment of dishes such as Pho Noodle Soup, Vietnamese Sandwiches, Rice Noodle Soup, and more. Our menu is extensive and includes over 200 dishes. And in all of these plates, we use only top-quality ingredients including organic items from local farms to support the local economy. With many awards of excellence from the Orlando Foodie Awards for the last 7 years in row as the best, freshest Vietnamese Restaurant in Central Florida, it's no surprise that our loyal customers enjoy coming to dine with us time and time again. Your complete satisfaction is our top priority here at Anh Hong Restaurant. We welcome you into our cozy and relaxed restaurant to enjoy a delicious meal with friends and family. Join us for great food, good times, and memories.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We started with 2 appetizers. The shrimp roll was totally bland and the only thing that gave the order flavor was the accompanying peanut sauce. The spring rolls were over cooked and tasted like they had been refried. Both were disappointing.

Next we decided to split a “roll your own” meal of shrimp and chicken. This is the Vietnamese version of a soft taco buy you use rice paper instead of a tortilla. The greenery such as lettuce and mint were fresh and crisp but the main ingredients, the shrimp (3 small ones) and the chicken (very little) were both over cooked. Like the spring roll, we felt like these were yesterday’s leftovers recooked.

When we were in Vietnam, we loved the food. This certainly was not the case here.

Thank solara13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy N, Owner at Anh Hong, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

We're so sorry to hear that our authenticity and quality weren't felt during your visit. I can assure you we're known for better, and if something is ever amiss, we're more than happy to make it right. All in all, we hope this won't be the last time we see you. It'd be wonderful to turn things around and show you even better.

Sincerely,
Cindy, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2018

We were immediately greeted when we walked in by a point from across the restaurant, directing us to an empty table. Admittedly, this was our first visit and the extensive menu is a little overwhelming. There are 200-plus items on their menu...

We ordered two appetizers and three different meals. Between the three of us, none left overly pleased with our meals.

The first duck entree (basically a duck noodle bowl) in a light sauce, had several pieces of fat and duck skin. The broth wasn't very exciting, and there really weren't enough noodles or vegetables.

The second entree was the Anh Hong Spicy Beef Noodle Soup (my order). The soup part was excellent. There were less noodles than I am used to, there was a lack of vegetables and the meat was the worst quality ever. I felt as though the meat may have even been offal. By the time I left, I felt like I had just received an overdose of collagen. My whole face felt sticky...

The third entree was another duck bowl, but in a dark sauce. This one had large pieces of bone-in duck that looked like a Peking-style, with the dark skin. This one looked, by far the best; however, the duck was very cartilaginous and difficult to eat. The rest of the bowl was excellent, with baby bok choy and a delicious broth.

We were ok with the food, even though it didn't meet out expectations. It was the service that would make it impossible for me to convince my family to go back.

The servers were all 18-20 year olds, who appeared to be in a hurry to get to the next table. Once your food was served, that was the last time you saw them. We had to motion for service three times after our food arrived, and we observed two other tables complaining about the lack of service as well.

Bottom line - food was ok. We chalked it up to being "authentic" and not Americanized. Service was terrible. When the server was at your table, they were all very nice and accomodating, but getting them to the table was the challenge.

Unfortunately, I don't think we will go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dm2cmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy N, Owner at Anh Hong, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

We really do want to be more than just ok, so I’m disappointed to see you were underwhelmed. We usually hear great things about our dishes, and I’m confident there’s an entree on the menu you’ll really love. As for service, our team is committed to friendliness and working quickly, but it's never their intention to make you feel forgotten. If there's a chance you'll reconsider returning, we'd love another shot to show you why we come so highly recommended.

Sincerely,
Cindy, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Really good food and fantastic service. Very affordable too. We left fat and happy. You know it’s good food when filled with locals. The block has many other restaurants to choose from so they have to bring their “A” game

Thank mnguru1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy N, Owner at Anh Hong, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for your support. We're glad our meals left you full and happy. We can't wait to see you again.

Sincerely,
Cindy, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

We were standing outside when a regular was collecting his take away. He said it was the best Vietnamese restaurant in Orlando. We were persuaded.
Our spring rolls were delicious and well filled. Two of our party had stir fries which they deemed delicious but the other two had rice dishes which were not so good, the rather odd egg pate did not go well with the cold shredded pork!
Reasonable bill.

Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy N, Owner at Anh Hong, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Ronald, we wish we had exceeded your expectations. It sounds like your orders weren't to your liking, and if you're ever in Orlando again, we'd love to help you find something to really love about our Vietnamese dishes. We know we can do better.

Sincerely,
Cindy, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

This is a nice, but crowded, little restaurant in a very convenient location (intersection of Colonial and Mills). I usually have the pho (Vietnamese soup), so I cannot speak for the other dishes, though my wife likes the dishes with the soup on the side. Good food, good value, nice staff. Recommended for a casual lunch or dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank O-town-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy N, Owner at Anh Hong, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thanks! I'm delighted to hear that you and your wife have enjoyed your visits. Our hope is to continue serving you quality Vietnamese food, and we can't wait to welcome you in to do that again.

Sincerely,
Cindy, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anh Hong also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Anh Hong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing