We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando Near Universal Orlando Resort
Ranked #87 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
charleston, sc
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worn, Crowded & Dirty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

First the good. It's right across from the entry to Universal Studios. So if that's your goal it's a great location. It has free Internet access. It is cheaper than most.

Now the rest. While the hotel seems to have been renovated recently it's all just gloss. The rooms are already beginning to look worn. The bedding is getting frayed and the sheets are a crinkled mess hard to tell if they are clean or used. The rooms and public space are dirty. The hotel is packed and the turnover impressive but the staff just can't keep up. Maid carts litter the hallway day and night and the maids do just a cursory cleaning to get the next guest in fast. I'm a Marriott Gold Member and our room was to be ready by 1pm. We checked in at 5pm and there were no ready rooms. When we did get the room 30-minutes later it looked like the maid rushed to get it cleaned from the last customer. Later that evening we came back from dinner to find that the air conditioning was broken making an amazing racket. The repair man was Russian and spoke only basic English, enough to say he couldn't fix it and it was old. The only room they could move us into was the handicapped room which is not a great room for three people to share. During this process it took six calls to the desk at 10pm to even get them to change the room. So not impressed with the customer service either. The breakfast is basic and overwhelmed with hungry kids and angry parents making a wonderful scene to watch, but not participate in. The lone attendant couldn't keep up with the amount of people grabbing food. The line for waffles was six deep and the oatmeal emptied in 15 minutes and was never resupplied. As if all this isn't enough the hotel is across the street from the Fire Station with sirens going off at all hours of the day and night.

Great place if you care more about getting to Universal than comfort and a good nights sleep than this is your place, otherwise stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanaBurke, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando Near Universal Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for your review and feedback. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Spring break is indeed a very busy time of the year for us as well as other Orlando hotels with lots of families and kids. During these times out team is working hard to make sure we maintain cleanliness and good upkeep of our facilities as well as insuring that all our guests are well taken care of. I am sorry you felt that this was not the case. Not having the room ready for you at 5pm and issues with A/C are certainly not what we are about and I apologize for your inconvenience. Thanks again for your feedback as we take it seriously from each and every guest to help us better our services. I can only hope that you will give us another chance and stay with us again in future. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    281
    75
    15
    11
See reviews for
366
173
21
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We won free tickets to Universal Studios & wanted to find a good hotel that was close & inexpensive for a quick weekend getaway. This was the perfect hotel. We couldn't have asked for a better location or a better price, especially considering it was last minute & during the peak of spring break.
The front desk staff was very friendly & helpful, clean room & free breakfast. They even have a free shuttle to Universal Studios. We didn't use the shuttle as our tickets included free parking & the shuttle times didn't work with our schedule. Oh and we could have even bought the tickets to the park if we needed to.
Aside from being literally minutes away from the park it is walking distance from several restaurants & a Walgreens.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitchedintahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanaBurke, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando Near Universal Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for your review and for sharing the information about our amenities and park transportation. I am glad you found our hotel affordable and meeting your needs. I also want to let you know that we now have a complimentary scheduled shuttle running to and from Orlando Premium Outlets you can take advantage of next time you stay with us. Thank you for choosing us out of many hotels in Orlando and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We made a last minute trip to Orlando and picked this hotel based on the 30 min research on Tripadvisor.com. I was impressed by the positive comments on the customer svc at this hotel and decided to make a reservation.
The comments were indeed true. The staff is professional and firendly. The holel itself is clean and so was our room. I have stayed at the more expensive Marriott brand but did not meet with such a high quality staff as in this Fairfield. Will definitely consider this hotel during our next trip to meet the mouse.
Universal Studio is not too far from this location either.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meldsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanaBurke, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando Near Universal Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you booked your stay with us based on positive feedback from other travelers and weren't disappointed. I appreciate you speaking highly of our staff and customer service they provide. Thank you for choosing us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed here for one night and the location was perfect for visiting Universal Studios. Clean, comfortable and very friendly staff. Hotel was quiet and the price was affordable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysajerseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanaBurke, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando Near Universal Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to Orlando and for your review. I am happy you found our location perfect for your needs. Hope to have you stay with us again next time you are in the area. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The South
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at this property for 4 nights, to visit Universal. Our stay was great, the staff is very friendly and accomodating. Our room was on the top floor, the 6th, and was wonderful. Very big, clean, quiet, comfortable bedding, bath was big enough. Breakfast was very good in the morning, many choices. We took a cab 2 mornings to Universal which ran us around $8. It was worth it to be taken to "the door" and not have to fool with parking (which is $15 regular, $20 priority parking) There are many fast food and sit-down restaurants in the parking lot and on the block of the Fairfield. We'll stay here again the next time we visit Universal!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OleMiss91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanaBurke, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando Near Universal Orlando Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you and your family enjoed the convenience of our location as well as our guest rooms and amenities. Next time instead of taking a cab you can take advantage of our complimentary scheduled shuttle. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to have stay with us again in the nearest future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area
Florida Center
Hampton Inn closest to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando Near Universal Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando Near Universal Orlando Resort

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando Near Universal Orlando Resort
Address: 5614 Vineland Road, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Studios)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Orlando
#40 Green Hotel in Orlando
#87 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#87 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando Near Universal Orlando Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests feel right at home at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando near Universal Orlando Resort. Our vibrant and welcoming hotel near Universal Orlando is perfect for creating memories on a trip to Florida, as it offers many multifunctional spaces and modern amenities. We are a 2016 TripAdvisor® Certificate of Excellence winner and we offer travelers plenty of space to relax as they explore Orlando. Our hotel sits moments from top Orlando attractions, including Universal Studios and Universal Citywalk. Guest rooms and guest suites at our hotel are spacious, and they include free Wi-Fi and plush bedding. Each morning, we provide a complimentary hot breakfast for our guests and our outdoor pool is always available for a refreshing swim. At Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando Near Universal Orlando Resort, we make guests needs and wants our #1 priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando Near Universal Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Fairfield Inn And Suites Orlando Universal Studios
Fairfield Inn Orlando
Fairfield Orlando
Orlando Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Orlando Near Universal Orlando Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing