We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Good, The Bad, And The Ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Ranked #25 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“The Good, The Bad, And The Ugly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

The Good;
Great activities range of on site for children. We particularly enjoyed the bike trail around the extensive grounds, and the "big slide" whilst not all that big (its certainly no "Plummet Summit !) did give a better thrill ride than your average pool slide, due to its better than average acceleration rate towards the end.The heated pool is warm and open 24 hours.
The only really decent capable member of staff we found at this hotel was Ben from Austraila - very on top of his job; so very kind, friendly and helpful - I hope that The Hyatt will recognise what a superb member of staff they have in this guy.
Bad;
We did not have a great "first impressions" experience at this hotel - We were suposed to have a 'Lake View' room. First off, without warning they put us in a room at the back of the hotel (an entrance/drive view). When we found this out, on entering the room, we went down to complain and they said they would put us in a 'lake view' room but there would be no access to the balcony. We said fine, we weren't bothered about a balcony, but on entering our 'lake view' room they failed to mention that this section was under major rennovation, complete with builders' gantrys everwhere on this section, their ropes dangling past the windows, and a large "DO NOT ENTER" sticker posted across our window ! So this is why there was no entry to the balcony - nice of them to mention it. Another trip to reception ensued - not what you want when you first arrive at a hotel all tired with kids and waiting to unpack. We complained again as we didn't think we should expect a "building site view" - not for the money the Hyatt is charging. By this time I was dreading speaking to the receptionists - they just have that way of making you feel YOU are the problem, not the hotel ! I spoke to another receptionist - he did a half hearted look through inventory and (rather) quickly concluded there were no other rooms on the "pool view" side. So we were stuck - with nothing more than an apology offered. As we were only staying 2 days we put up with it - if it had been more I'd have booked out there and then, and although we had to contend with workmen going past our window and looking in on us each day (yes really - we are talking about The Hyatt here) we could at least console ourselves with a view of the Disney fireworks each night.
Pool side food was stone cold, and the kids breakfast (we had free adult breakfast) was expensive...especially by the time you add the tips. On reflection we should have gone 2 minutes down the road to Sizzlers $4.99 all you can eat breakfast, and still would have been better off paying for 4 breakfasts there !
The Ugly;
The $33 daily compulsory resort & self parking fee and 18% automatic gratuity on your food & drinks ! Please don't tell me this is competative Hyatt - we stayed at the Orlando Hilton and your charges are way above those, and the staff & service were way better !
Whilst the lobby area is beautiful, if I had a child under 10 years I would not be staying here - it is a health & safety ticking timebomb. I would love to know what Safety Inspector approved this building's design - it is so easy for an inquisitive/unattended child to climb up & fall over the railings of open plan walkways, which look down from great height into the open lobby below. Right up to the 15th floor, there is one heck of an open drop - it gave me the shudders everytime we walked past this section, even though my kids are 11 and 14 years old ! What madness for a hotel design within such a prime family holiday area ?

In conclusion we spent 2 days at the Orlando Hilton at the start of our trip and I was so upset with our treatment and being nickeled & dimed that I wished that I had rebooked to go there instead.We won't be returning.

Room Tip: Be aware that all the "Lake View" section has major renovation work being done at the mome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jdybnsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerHRGC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for your review from your recent stay. I am sorry that your experience was not up to our normal standards. The renovation that you referred to is simply a re-painting of the exterior of the hotel. It was unfortunate that your room was in the particular area where painting was in process. If you would care to further discuss your stay, please contact the Hotel Manager at Grand Cypress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,213
    1,210
    369
    166
    116
See reviews for
2,199
1,018
90
1,130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (951)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt Grand Cypress for a conference. The lobby is beautiful and check in was quick. My room was ready when I arrived. The room was of a high standard. Bed was very comfortable. Everything that I needed was there. The pool are is beautiful. Transportation is provided to the theme parks if you don't have a car. There are several restaurants at the hotel and they are all expensive. In the morning the lobby bar serves breakfast, also outrageously expensive - $13 for a yogurt parfait and tea. A rental car would pay for itself when you left the facility to eat! The conference center is very well taken care of.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank livetotravelNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We have stayed in this hotel many times. It was recenly upgraded and the rooms look very good and more modern that the previous florida/key west decoration.

It has a great restaurant, Hemingways, where you get gourmet food and magnificent service. The property is very nice, it has 3 pools, one heated; it also offers bikes, ping pong table, rock climbing and boats.

Breakfast buffet at Cascades is very good, with a wide variety of offerings.

The only compaints are that I was not able to sail in the lake, since they did not have a power boat to assist guests. I have been able to sail every time we visited in the past so this was dissappointing.

The gym is small and there was a line to use the treadmills, and some family had a child using the exercise equipment, and last but most important, they have a very unpleasant doorman by the name of Dave, who is very rude to guests if you do not let him take care of your suitcases, since he only cares about his tip.

Other than these 3 areas, it is the best hotel in Orlando. is right next to Disneyworld and centrally located regarding restaurants, highways and even the premium outlets.

I must clarify that I brought up most of my complaints to one of the managers who was extremely nice and professional, and took out the resort charges without us asking.

It is unfortunate that I had to deal with the rude doorman after I spoke with the manager, and not before, so I could have mentioned to him. Even worst, I had had the same negative experience with the same doorman a couple of times before during previous stays.

Just remember to self-park so you do not have to deal with any staff who is not prepared and willing to be respectful and polite with guests

Room Tip: Rooms with Lake view are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank marplalatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My wife and son (22 months) just stayed at the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress for our fourth time this past holiday weekend. As always, we are amazed at the value you get for staying at this hotel compared to some of the comparable Disney hotels (Contemporary, Polynesian, Grand Floridian). The room was really big, clean and they have all been recently updated.

The staff always makes you feel welcome (don't forget to have your champagne when you check in) and the grounds are beautiful. They seem to have a lot more property than many of the other resorts, and with multiple pools, bicycles, pitch and putt golf, and many other activities, we ended up staying at the resort for two of the days.

The only negatives I can think of - and they aren't so horrible - is the self-parking lot is a hike from the hotel and you need to be careful about when the servers add gratuity to your bill.

Even saying that, I will continue to stay here as I find it one of the best deals in Orlando.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the Disney Parks. You will be able to see the fireworks over EPCOT and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank born2travel1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. A welcoming staff sets the tone for what will become a great stay ! We strive to provide attentive service so our guests feel comfortable and relaxed. When it comes to value, the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress is hard to beat. We offer 1500 acres with world class golf and tennis facilities along with plenty of outdoor activities for the entire family. Our rates are very competitive with much more to choose from here at the resort. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you return soon.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
147 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I loved this hotel!!!I wish I could have stayed longer to enjoy everything this resort offers!!!!The hotel is beautifully landscaped,the pool area is amazing,the staff is one of the nicest I`ve ever met.
We had breakfast included in our package,and it was marvelous.The plain yogurt itself was worth coming.
My only complaint is the dry wall in the bathroom ,it was so thin that I could heard my next door neighboor sneezing,talking,laughing and so on!!!

Room Tip: Atay at least 4 nights ,in order to enjoy this fantastic resort!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Liylly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.9 km away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 335 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
4.0 km away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#27 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,064 reviews
3.8 km away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#29 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,251 reviews
8.3 km away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
8.2 km away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Property: Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Address: One Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836-6799
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Business Hotel in Orlando
#6 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#7 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#19 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotelopia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing