We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Orlando, Improved hotel, but needs a nicer door person”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Ranked #32 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We have stayed in this hotel many times. It was recenly upgraded and the rooms look very good and more modern that the previous florida/key west decoration.

It has a great restaurant, Hemingways, where you get gourmet food and magnificent service. The property is very nice, it has 3 pools, one heated; it also offers bikes, ping pong table, rock climbing and boats.

Breakfast buffet at Cascades is very good, with a wide variety of offerings.

The only compaints are that I was not able to sail in the lake, since they did not have a power boat to assist guests. I have been able to sail every time we visited in the past so this was dissappointing.

The gym is small and there was a line to use the treadmills, and some family had a child using the exercise equipment, and last but most important, they have a very unpleasant doorman by the name of Dave, who is very rude to guests if you do not let him take care of your suitcases, since he only cares about his tip.

Other than these 3 areas, it is the best hotel in Orlando. is right next to Disneyworld and centrally located regarding restaurants, highways and even the premium outlets.

I must clarify that I brought up most of my complaints to one of the managers who was extremely nice and professional, and took out the resort charges without us asking.

It is unfortunate that I had to deal with the rude doorman after I spoke with the manager, and not before, so I could have mentioned to him. Even worst, I had had the same negative experience with the same doorman a couple of times before during previous stays.

Just remember to self-park so you do not have to deal with any staff who is not prepared and willing to be respectful and polite with guests

Room Tip: Rooms with Lake view are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank marplalatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,254 - 4,258 of 5,626 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

My wife and son (22 months) just stayed at the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress for our fourth time this past holiday weekend. As always, we are amazed at the value you get for staying at this hotel compared to some of the comparable Disney hotels (Contemporary, Polynesian, Grand Floridian). The room was really big, clean and they have all been recently updated.

The staff always makes you feel welcome (don't forget to have your champagne when you check in) and the grounds are beautiful. They seem to have a lot more property than many of the other resorts, and with multiple pools, bicycles, pitch and putt golf, and many other activities, we ended up staying at the resort for two of the days.

The only negatives I can think of - and they aren't so horrible - is the self-parking lot is a hike from the hotel and you need to be careful about when the servers add gratuity to your bill.

Even saying that, I will continue to stay here as I find it one of the best deals in Orlando.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the Disney Parks. You will be able to see the fireworks over EPCOT and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank born2travel1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. A welcoming staff sets the tone for what will become a great stay ! We strive to provide attentive service so our guests feel comfortable and relaxed. When it comes to value, the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress is hard to beat. We offer 1500 acres with world class golf and tennis facilities along with plenty of outdoor activities for the entire family. Our rates are very competitive with much more to choose from here at the resort. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you return soon.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I loved this hotel!!!I wish I could have stayed longer to enjoy everything this resort offers!!!!The hotel is beautifully landscaped,the pool area is amazing,the staff is one of the nicest I`ve ever met.
We had breakfast included in our package,and it was marvelous.The plain yogurt itself was worth coming.
My only complaint is the dry wall in the bathroom ,it was so thin that I could heard my next door neighboor sneezing,talking,laughing and so on!!!

Room Tip: Atay at least 4 nights ,in order to enjoy this fantastic resort!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Liylly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I viewed several great reviews of this hotel before staying and was looking forward to the visit. The actual visit exceeded my expectations on every level. As we drove into the resort, we were greeted by attractive and immaculately groomed grounds. Then at check-in the we were met warmly with champagne and lots of information to help us get up to speed quickly at such a large complex. The room was very nice with a couch and desk so you didn't just have a bed or two in the room. The "odd" closet/bathroom door didn't bother me at all. We went to the parks on the free shuttle, which was on time every day, but I would have liked to stay at the hotel to enjoy the lake, pool, golf, hot tubes, boats and more. This facility has it all. It's great for families with multiple activities and pools as well as couples for a special getaway. I can't imagine a nicer facility in Orlando anywhere.

Room Tip: Get one that overlooks the pool and the Disney fireworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PJGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for choosing our resort and letting the Trip Advisor readers know that you had a wonderful time. Our groomed grounds and all public areas are maintained 24 hours a day. All of the activities we have to offer can certainly keep you busy and relaxed for an entire vacation although when choosing to head off to a local theme park, our complimentary morning shuttle service might just be what some guests are looking for. We hope you recommend us to your family and friends. It is truly appreciated.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in February. The place was great. The grounds are beautifully kept. The lobby/atrium is large, bright and has great water elements. It is an older resort, however; they have worked hard on bringing it to a modern facility. The rooms were very nice. Great views. The bed, couch, desk, coffee table were all very nice. The bathroom was one of the best I have ever seen in a motel (I travel a lot). The facilities were top notch. The pools are large and they offer both children area and adult only area. The fitness center was average for a facility like this. They offer a free 9 hole par three pitch and putt, bicycles, row boats and paddle boats. There are a couple for resturants - however we did not dine at either.

This is an excellent place for couples or families with kids. Plenty to do. Paid $75 via priceline. There is an additional $22 resort fee (very typical for this area). We will return again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonyvtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

We are glad to read that you truly enjoyed our recently renovated rooms. Also enjoying our top notch facilities rounded out to a very nice stay with us. Next time, try our restaurants with new and exciting menus. We hope to see you soon.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
3.4 km away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 339 in Orlando
1,466 reviews
4.0 km away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#27 of 339 in Orlando
4,452 reviews
3.8 km away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#31 of 339 in Orlando
5,740 reviews
3.2 km away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#86 of 339 in Orlando
3,198 reviews
8.2 km away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Address: One Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836-6799
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Business Hotel in Orlando
#9 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#9 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#19 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: €166 - €310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing