We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Great location for Universal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando
Ranked #168 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel offers a great location for Universal and easy access to I-4 (East and West). The hotel was clean during our stay the week of March 19th. I personally thought the free breakfast was gross but you get what you pay for. The cinnamon rolls were ok and ended up being my breakfast every day. It is very busy for breakfast so expect a large crowd and limited seating. We used the pool for a couple hours one day and found it to be fine. Clean pool and towels available. Front desk staff was ok. Beds were very uncomfortable but the four pillows available on each bed allowed for many adjustments. We will return to Florida next year but will not stay here. We can get a bigger bang for our buck somewhere else but not a terrible hotel. And let's face it - you have an unlimited number of entertainment options in Orlando - why spend a grand amount of time at the hotel? If you want a place to sleep each night with not many frills then this is your hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MexicoPros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

We were sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. Our complimentary breakfast does include fresh pancakes, eggs, rotating bacon or sausage and cereals, yogurts, banana's, muffins, bagels and our signature hot cinnamon rolls. Plus fresh coffee and juices.
Please let us know the room number to give us the opportunity to improve the bedding in that room.
We thank you for taking the time to share your review and we do hope you will give us another try to make your stay 100% enjoyable. Have a good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (902)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 442 of 902 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

Nice room, shuttle to Universal although we found out later that a cab was only $6.00 so don't restrict your time to the shuttle times. Good breakfast and good location. Next time will not bother to rent a car as the malls are so close by and would be cheap to rent a taxi, as car rentals are ridiculous prices now! Pool wasn't very warm but enjoyed laying by it anyway.. May go for some place that has a quieter pool area if we were spending a bit more time there but price was good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cantwaittoretire19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for the nice review. We are pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and your accommodations. Taxi service is readily available, normally just a 5 - 10 minute wait.
We appreciate that you chose this location and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This hotel is a little outdated.I am an employee of another location in Pa. My neice and nephew went down to the desk and asked for change for vending and Ruth(lady in forties, who was very rude) said we don't have change here.The next time I went to the desk and ask during the day(no problem).The front desk manager was very nice.I think her name is Arlene.If I went down to the business center Ruth would be singing loud enough to be very annoying and would distract me from working. This hotel and all should have the sink inside bathroom. When traveling with other people,no privacy. Overall very close to attractions.When I checked in, the front said they couldn't get my PC number in but later in the week Arlene had no trouble putting it in.The second shift could have cared less about us.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

We thank you for choosing this hotel to host your two weeks in Orlando. I will share your nice comments with Arlene and we will certainly address the other staff comments as this is not the normal service we deliver.
Sounds like you enjoyed the parks and the location of the hotel, and again we appreciate the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This Holiday Inn is a remodeled property in the general vicinity of the Orlando family attractions including Universal Studios and Disney; it is also near downtown Orlando, right off I-4 at the Expressway toll road.

The property is clean and neat, the employees are polite and eager to please and the rooms, while a bit small, or well organized, neatly appointed and CLEAN. No tub, just a shower with a pocket door to set off the toilet area, but the King bed is comfortable and the choice of pillows is nice.

The only negative I would offer is that sometimes the plumbing, which is apparently in the hallway wall, is a bit noisy when those on the floors above are flushing or running water.

During Bike Week/Spring Break, there are NO good values on rooms unless you have booked months in advance (as we did). We will stay here again if circumstances bring us back to this area.

Room Tip: The higher you stay in the bldg., the less noise you will encounter from the street below; it is a b...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papadoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thank you for the nice review. This hotel is located in the heart of the Orlando area with easy driving distances to the Attractions and the Downtown Orlando area. The staff appreciates your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next stay in Orlando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The hotel was ok for the location. Great for convience to universal and has free breakfast. I guest being a priority club member doesn't matter to the front desk help. Twice now once in tampa and now here they dont actknowledge you or welcome you to their hotel or as a priority club member. I think I'm going to switch hotels to see if theirs better customer service. Even leaving all they say is ok your all set. No over the top customer service I'm used to.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tazmannto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

We absolutely appreciate that you are a Priority Club Member. I apologize that the staff did not recognize your membership, and will address this with the team. The points never expire so we hope you will remain a member of the Holiday Inn Express brand and continue to stay with us in your future travels. Thank you for your review comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Florida Center
Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn
#55 of 340 in Orlando
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando

Address: 5605 Major Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7960 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites @ Univ Studios)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Business Hotel in Orlando
#155 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: €82 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Closest Holiday Inn Express Hotel to Universal Orlando Just steps away from Universal Studios and 10 minutes from the Orlando Convention Center, our central Orlando hotel offers both comfort and convenience. If you are looking for lodging near Orlando theme parks, look no further than our charming Orlando hotel, conveniently located at the intersection of Florida s Turnpike and I-4. Easy access to popular Orlando attractions like Walt Disney World Resort and SeaWorld Orlando and Aquatica. Cruise International Drive, also known as I-Drive , for the best shopping, restaurants and entertainment in Orlando. Prime Outlets, Festival Bay, and Mall at Millenia are all five minutes away. Also, we are only 15 minutes away from downtown Orlando. During your Orlando business trip, you will be impressed with the accommodations our Orlando hotel provides. Our Universal hotel is conveniently located near the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center and is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Orlando, FL. While vacationing in Orlando, enjoy several hotel amenities including free high-speed Internet access, pool heated (seasonally) and hot breakfast buffet. Book your reservation today and enjoy our great Orlando hotel deals and rates. Must be 21 years of age with valid credit card at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Universal Studios Orlando
Holiday Inn Express Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing