We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High expectations.... met!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Yacht Club Resort
Ranked #50 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“High expectations.... met!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Disney is known for their customer services, so expectations were high. For the rates of this hotel, I expected exceptional services. WOW! The staff went above and beyond to accommodate or young family of five with two grandparents. From the moment we arrived to MCO to check out, we were really stress-free! I did not even lift my luggage until I arrived back home.

Room Tip: Buy a refillable beverage mug from the gift shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvcrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,251
    690
    234
    80
    46
See reviews for
1,222
385
25
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pori, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I attended a 5 day conference held at the Disney Dolphin hotel in the same "park" as the Yacht club (there are 4 hotels and a "Boardwalk" scattered around a central lake a few hundred metres from Epcot). I wouldn't normally consider a Disney hotel, but the conference was there, so there wasn't much alternative.

There are water buses running between the four resort hotels, The Boardwalk and Epcot.
For proximity to the Boardwalk, the Swan hotel is much better, unfortunately it was already booked out by the time I was able to register for the conference.

The greeting / check-in was a painfully protracted experience, compared e.g. with IHG / Hilton group check-in. American style service - friendly but soooo slow. Staff in reception are all dressed in kitsch naval outfits (the whole hotel is nautically themed), can´t see that it'd appeal to kids - possibly they are targeting retirees, but not really suitable for a conference hotel.

The room was spacious, two huge comfortable beds, decent sized mini-fridge. Having the sinks in a carpeted area was odd as was the teeny-tiny little bathroom. Toiletries were pretty good quality - a decent sized bath to use them in would be even better.

WiFi was very slow, I was often kicked off and even received an error message that there are too many people trying to log on. They perhaps need to upgrade their bandwidth?

The hotel has a huge Disney shop just off the lobby which sells a wide variety of junk food but the nearest place to grab a quick sandwich is a 10 minute walk away on the other side of the lake :-/.

The Boardwalk has a variety of restaurants, I used the Greek restaurant (edible) but they took about 20 minutes to seat us even *with a reservation time*, the Pizza Window was pretty good, the bakery does good cakes, but $12+ for a small sandwich and a diet coke is a rip off. The Boardwalk is hellishly expensive for what you get, and with the exception of a gas station, there is absolutely nothing else close to the resort, so without a car you'll have to pay Disney prices.

After the conference finished I moved on to the Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Squeaky voices and too many ears! Hotel would be okay if they'd just realize that adults come here, too! We had no choice ... our conference was held here. TV sucked ... all disney and cartoons, incl ESPN x 5, and foreign language. NO movie channels and NO PPV movie choices. We asked to rent a movie for the DVD player one night and had our choices of Disney or Disney. Shower was a fine mist, and not adjustable. Food was mediocre at best. Even shopping offered everything in the world ... with ears or rat faces on it. Prices were exhorbitant including $90 admission to Epcot. Will go out of our way to miss this place EVER again! (I have never given a bad review before; prefer being positive, but couldn't hold back this time.)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emgTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olivierij@eastgreenwich.k12.nj.us
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Top notch hotel. Staff couldn't be more friendly and more helpful.
The room was great, clean, bright! Location was wonderful - we could walk to Epcot.
We ate at the Yachtsman Steakhouse - which was fabulous! Pricey - but possibly the best steak I ever had! The parks were surprisingly very crowded, which was not too big of a deal for us, we just went back to the poolside and ordered delicious mudslides. Great vacation!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoanieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, IA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We arrived on a Saturday for an 8 day stay and was greeted at the door by staff from the Yacht Club. The service here is much better than the service we received at other Disney properties (such as Riverside, Port Orleans, or All-Star Resorts). I had requested 1st floor rooms and close to transportation since my father is blind, but they did mess that up. They had my parents on the 1st floor and us on the 3rd floor. I had requested the rooms be by each other so that we could assist my parents if needed. I had checked on our room requests a couple of times before arriving, so it was a little frustrating that it wasn't accurate, but they fixed it right away. We got ajoining rooms on the 1st floor. The rooms were nice and spacious, but certainly not fancy or elaborate. We had a family of 5 in one room and my parents in the other room. The beds were really comfortable and my 5 year old daughter loved sleeping on the day bed. We didn't have any problems with noise or anything. I liked this resort because we were really close to both the bus and the boat transportation, not to mention the pool and the restaurants. We were in rooms 1085 and 1087. The property itself was nice enough; they did add tons of flowers during the week we were there and it brightened up everything so much more! I think they were getting ready for spring :) I think the hotel was very high priced, so that would be my only complaint...not totally sure it was worth twice as much as the cost of Riverside resort or another value resort.
There was some construction on the resort outside, but I didn't hear any noise and had no problems getting around.
The had a very nice gift shop and good restaurants and this resort. The Captain's Grill dinner was fabulous. We had ribeyes and cheese and bacon mashed potatoes. Everyone loved it! Everyone also loved their meal at the Yachtsmen Steakhouse. I liked the Captain's Grill better, however, and the prices were cheaper. The menus at the restaurants are not extensive, so look in advance to make sure there is something you like. We also ate at Cape May's Seafood Buffet; that was delicious as well! Even the food at the Hurrican Hanna's pool restuarant was good.
I like the location of this resort! You can take a boat just right outside your room to MGM studios or Epcot. It was so easy. It does take a little extra time, but is worth it if your feet are tired. We always took to boat to MGM because the bus doesn't go there or to Epcot. Epcot is definitely within walking distance. We ate there several nights and easily walked there each night. My parents took the boat and we met them there. We could even see the Epcot fireworks from the patio off of our room! I think we will stay there again since the location is so convenient.
Check-in and check-out was easy and simple. I highly recommend making all dinner or breakfast reservations in advance or you might be out of luck at the resort! One day the breakfast wait for a sit down meal was almost 1 hour. We had our dinner reservations way in advance, but weren't sure about breakfast. We were easily able to make breakfast reservations while we were there that week. We did also do the Cape May Character breakfast. The food was good and my daughter loved all the Disney Characters that came through.
The pool was awesome at this resort for my 5 year old! She could go anywhere in the sand bottom pool and could touch the bottom. One day she skipped the theme parks all together to just stay back with me and play in the pool while the older kids went on the rides at the theme parks. The older kids did not really use one of the other deeper pools very much, so I don't know how they liked them. They thought the waterslide was fun. The do give out buckets and shovels with the kids meal at hurricane hannas, so your young child will have something to use in the sand.
Overall, great trip. The Disney crowd at this time of the year was HUGE though. It was somewhat tiring to deal with the crowds for 8 days, but I still think it was worth it.

Room Tip: We had two rooms (1085 and 1087) and they were nice and quiet and close to boat transportation and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tinsman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#66 of 339 in Orlando
1,703 reviews
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#101 of 339 in Orlando
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Yacht Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Yacht Club Resort

Property: Disney's Yacht Club Resort
Address: 1700 Epcot Resorts Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8407
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#18 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#48 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#52 Business Hotel in Orlando
#65 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Yacht Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the formal grace of a grand New England-style yacht club at this lakeside hotel. Relax in the inviting elegance of a plush lobby replete with nautical touches, explore the whimsical Stormalong Bay and rent a variety of watercraft from Bayside Marina. Sharing many amenities with its pastel-toned sister, Disney's Beach Club Resort, Disney's Yacht Club Resort is walking distance to Epcot and a convenient boat ride to Disney's Hollywood Studios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and TravelUp so you can book your Disney's Yacht Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Yacht Club Hotel Orlando
Disneys Yacht Hotel
Disneys Yacht Resort
Yacht Club Disney
Disney Yacht And Beach Club
Yacht Club Orlando
Disney Yacht Club Resort
Disneys Yacht Club Resort
Disney's Yacht Club Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing