We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect escape from Florida”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #31 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2017

As soon as you drive through the entrance gates, the palm trees disappear and you are instantly transported to the majestic northwest. The huge lobby takes your breath away and the cozy fireplace and timber columns invites you in to begin your adventure.

Service: The cast members at the resort were more than friendly and attentive. From the "park-rangers" entertaining families and giving out interesting facts to the super helpful concierge, the staff was all fantastic. Highlights included front desk member Reese, who happily helped us find a room with an impressive view for no extra fee. Doug, the former president of guest services for the company, at concierge made sure that we had no trouble getting help after a mishap with a family member's disability pass. Overall, the Disney magic really shone through the service.

Food: Wilderness Lodge has four main eateries, but we were only able to try the quick-service Roaring Fork and lakeside casual dining Geyser Point. Both had great, relatively inexpensive food options, and the atmosphere was perfect as well. Whispering Canyon Café often gets great reviews, and Artist Pointe, the signature location, unfortunately gets less then great reviews.

Room: The rooms are large enough to sleep a family of four, and are beautifully appointed. The beds were comfortable, and the A/C and fan worked very well to cool you off after a Florida afternoon. The bathrooms looked to be recently refurbished as they were very clean and used new technology. Some aspects of the room however, have began to show their age as some reading lights would not turn off and cabinets show a little wear-and-tear. The wear on the furniture was minor, and did not take away much from the otherwise great rooms. The resort has many rooms with fantastic views, so if you can grab one, it is a huge score to relax on your balcony facing a waterfall or lakeside forest.

Other information: The pool with waterslide was large and often quite empty, so you may definitely want to pack a bathing suit. The resort has many recreation activities including free tours, multiple pools, an arcade, and watercraft to rent. The boat transportation to The Magic Kingdom and Disney's Fort Wilderness Campground and Contemporary Resort was great, allowing an easy and relaxing beginning and end to a theme park day. Take advantage of the boats to the other resorts to explore their shops, restaurants, and theming.

Room Tip: Some rooms may have a bit of a walk. Lake and courtyard views are the best. South wing rooms are clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 90 of 3,647 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

We stayed in a club level, Deluxe room, which has a bedroom with 2 Queen beds and a separate living area. This configuration was what we were looking for and only WL and AK lodge offer this with club level access. The downside is those rooms are not on the 7th floor where the club lounge is, they are on floors 2-5 at the very end of each corridor of the hotel. So it was a long walk from the room to the club lounge. That said, they stocked your mini-fridge with whatever you wanted from milk, chocolate milk, water and sodas. We took them with us into the parks, so while we could have done a delivery of drinks to the hotel, it was nice to just have them right there all the time and not worry about having too many or too little.
The bathroom had 2 sinks which was appreciated, and the Bambi tiles that the regular rooms have which added to the theming. The rooms at the end of the hotel corridors face the water, so while that gave a nice view we could hear the boats horns late in to the night plus the loud music from the water boat light display. Our kids slept through it no problem, but something to be aware of for light sleepers. You hear it from Fort Wilderness around 10 pm as well as from WL around 9.30.
The lounge was always very quiet during breakfast when we were there, which I wasn't expecting. I was a bit disappointed with the snacks; it was dried fruit and trail mix in the main. We only really liked the pita chips. The essentially open bar and additional food was a nice bonus, although we were out most evenings so didn't really take advantage of it.
The menu at the quick service restaurant had changed from what was online, so they only had basic mickey waffles, not all the different flavor varieties. We also did the whispering canyon which was fun but I didn't feel they included all the kids for the horse race very well; mine were totally ignored in terms of being offered a horse or to participate.
That said, the WL has a lovely feel to it. Less frantic than the parks, and with the amazing lobby. The buses were frequent in the main, the boat to the park was great and a nice change to the bus, the pool was great, and our kids loved the slide and also the games room was a hit; we'd swing by on the way to the bus in the evening.
I don't know how it compares to when the new DVC properties were built, but it still felt open to me and I'd definitely highly recommend it and stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you have the deluxe club level for better water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Daniella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

When we were looking to book a WDW vacation about a year ago I considered Disney's Wilderness Lodge, but the theming didn't appeal to me so I chose Caribbean Beach. We recently went on a return trip to WDW in early September and for some reason the resort hotel I had rejected before just felt right. I am glad o went with my hunch. Everything was down right magical. I absolutely love the location of this resort. A boat ride to Magic Kingdom! I know some readers are monorail resort only people, and the Poly and Grand both offer boats. So why would this less expensive resort beat them out? The size. It's small enough that you can't possibly be in a poor location. It's a short walk to whatever it is that you want to get to. With two quick serve restaurants, refillable mugs were definitely worth the money. We also didn't HAVE to go outside if we didn't want to. It's one of the few hotels that have all of the rooms connected to the lobby. My daughter was down at concierge several times for random little things and they were always more than accommodating. The only down side was that the rooms were not very large, especially for a deluxe. It's a beautiful resort and we had a fantastic time. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Fragel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We have been staying at this resort since its original opening in 1993. It is magnificent. A southwestern vibe with 50 foot totem polls in the lobby, a massive fireplace that is at least 6 stories tall, a water stream that starts in the lobby and runs all the way to the pool (roughly 1000 feet), wonderful dining (Artist Point, Whispering Canyon, Geyser Point Lounge, and a very nice indoor lounge that serves appetizers). Some of the rooms are still basic and others are extravagant (pricing plays a role here obviously). There is completely serperate, yet close to the main resort area, DVC hotle with its own private pool. Boat dock with ferry's that will take you to the Contemporary or MGK. I cannot say enough great things about this resort. We have stayed here every year since 1993 and it never gets old.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carter414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We came for a family vacation with three children ages 97 and 11 months. The children loved this hotel. It was one of the highest quality locations I have ever stayed at. We intended to leave before the hurricane but when they close the airport today early we found ourselves stuck there for hurricane Irma. Disney went out of its way to provide entertainment and distraction during the curfew. So in the time leading up to the storm. They also went out of their way to have spectacular food choices at the in-house restaurants at a reduced price while families were trapped there by the storm. My family and I were able to sleep through the hurricane. At no point during our stated we have noise from other families. They did allow dogs in the hotel that we are sheltering from the storm there wasn't barking problem that was resolved quickly. Our concierge went out of his way to be helpful. We had a full kitchen in our suite. We had the one bedroom suite.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Drhroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#8 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: €312 - €699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge
Disney's Wilderness Lodge Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing