We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
9
3
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
3
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews casey key relaxation russel condo linens steps towels florida
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Stayed here when is was Russells Retreat two years ago and then again this year. It is under new ownership now and is still the best place on Casey! Key. They have done several renovations and spruced up the place considerably with a fresh coat of paint, new linens and brand new beach chairs. We have already booked in for 2019. I have had contact with the owner and met the office manager. They are so accommodating and gracious. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: more privacy on second floor -- ground floor good for those with chilren
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarabel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

This is our ninth year on Casey Key in Nokomis Florida and hopefully will be here for another nine. Casey Key Retreat is a treasure. Condo very comfortable, ocean views from each unit are spectacular. Literally 50 steps until you're in the water. Sunsets, gas grill on patio to cook, they provide beach chairs, linens and towels. A free laundry room is also a plus. Condos are very very clean and new patio and landscaping are a nice upgrade.

Room Tip: Nice size kitchen to cook, fully stocked.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MichiganTerri42808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

If you want to escape it all, this is the place to be. The views of the Gulf are fabulous and the beach is just steps away. The unit was clean, clean, clean and everything seemed new. We could not figure out the TV (operator error) and the manager Jennifer came right over and helped us with it. And quiet it was. We had a full kitchen, but only made coffee in it as we ate out. The bed was a king and very comfortable. Don't miss out on this gem!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Russell's Retreat is a great get away spot located on the gulf side in Nokomis Florida on Casey Key. Steps from the ocean. Very clean and spacious. The beach feels like it is your own private oasis. You can walk for miles. All amenities are only a short distance away. Definately a must return location.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

We walked in to faded, stained and worn out uncomfortable furniture....all of it. The linens were old and towels/ wash cloths were tattered and needed to be thrown away. Ice maker didn't work. Vertical blinds broke. The top units share a balcony with no privacy or separation for safety. After discussing the rate with the owner of $149 a night as advertised on VRBO, he charged more on my credit card. When I called him about it he was extremely angry and told me "not to ever come back"...don't worry! We found slugs on the nasty worn out carpet and some type of black worm on the ceiling. The pots and pans were horrible. Stay away from this place! (We left early and he refused to refund any of our money.)

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Pioneer398760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phantasia1, Owner at Casey Key Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear guest,
we are the new owners of former "Russells Retreat" - now "Casey Key Retreat" and wanted to let you know that we renovated the property and take care that it is clean and maybe you want to give it a try and come back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews