We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
9
3
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
3
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews casey key relaxation russel condo linens steps towels florida
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

If you want to escape it all, this is the place to be. The views of the Gulf are fabulous and the beach is just steps away. The unit was clean, clean, clean and everything seemed new. We could not figure out the TV (operator error) and the manager Jennifer came right over and helped us with it. And quiet it was. We had a full kitchen, but only made coffee in it as we ate out. The bed was a king and very comfortable. Don't miss out on this gem!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Russell's Retreat is a great get away spot located on the gulf side in Nokomis Florida on Casey Key. Steps from the ocean. Very clean and spacious. The beach feels like it is your own private oasis. You can walk for miles. All amenities are only a short distance away. Definately a must return location.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

We walked in to faded, stained and worn out uncomfortable furniture....all of it. The linens were old and towels/ wash cloths were tattered and needed to be thrown away. Ice maker didn't work. Vertical blinds broke. The top units share a balcony with no privacy or separation for safety. After discussing the rate with the owner of $149 a night as advertised on VRBO, he charged more on my credit card. When I called him about it he was extremely angry and told me "not to ever come back"...don't worry! We found slugs on the nasty worn out carpet and some type of black worm on the ceiling. The pots and pans were horrible. Stay away from this place! (We left early and he refused to refund any of our money.)

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Pioneer398760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phantasia1, Owner at Casey Key Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear guest,
we are the new owners of former "Russells Retreat" - now "Casey Key Retreat" and wanted to let you know that we renovated the property and take care that it is clean and maybe you want to give it a try and come back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Our entire family just got back from a long weekend at Russell's Retreat. We booked 3 of the 4 units. They are very, very nice - spacious, well-cared for and you can't beat the location. The manager was there to greet us and show us the details. If you have any doubts about staying here - don't. Can't wait to go back next year - been going to Casey Key for over 45 years - first time at Russell's - but it won't be the last.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect, comfortable and nicely decorated.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leblangray, Manager at Casey Key Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Dear Judy G,
Thank you for the kind words. We were very happy to hear that your family enjoyed their stay at Russells Retreat. Looking forward to seeing you and the family again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

This was our first visit to Casey Key and no words can describe how perfect it is! Russels is directly on the beach and beautiful. It appears to have been a home that is divided into separate units. We stayed in one of the bottom units facing the ocean. The ocean is a short walk away. This is a vacation rental and not a hotel. The owner and managers are fantastic people! Very friendly! My husband walked to fish by the drawbridge every evening of our trip. There are no restaurants on Casey Key but several just over the drawbridge that were fantastic. The area is nice and quiet. A short walk down the beach reveals beautiful, huge homes! If you are looking for a peaceful, or romantic getaway this place is for you! I highly recommend Russels and promise you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: The 2 bottom units facing the ocean offer a covered porch which came in handy on rainy days.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AmberM470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leblangray, Manager at Casey Key Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Dear AmberM470,
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We are very fortunate to have guests like you and your husband. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews