We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
41
9
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
9
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshighly recommend staying hereclean towelsby accidentgulf sidebalconyfloridabeachkitchen
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2018

While searching for a vacation destination in this past fall, I stumbled upon Island House by accident. After reading through reviews and information, I decided my husband and I should give it a try. We stayed for the first time this past December, and we have nothing but positive things to say about Island House! To start off, the staff is wonderful -- very friendly! The rooms were clean, comfortable, and have everything you need. It was great to be able to walk right out to the beach. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: nice rooms, friendly staff, great beach, Gulf view
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ashley5704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandHouseGM, Manager at Island House Apartment Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Ashley, Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you had a great time. It is guests such as yourself and Matthew, that make the Island House a relaxing and friendly place to vacation. We hope to see you soon, and it was a pleasure to meet you both. Thanks again. Have a great year. Staci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

This is our second stay here. Friendly, but not fancy, you can't beat the price for a place right on the beach. The staff is always ready to help without being intrusive. If you want a taste of old Florida, give the Island House a try. We'll be back again for sure

Room Tip: The efficiencies and bedroom apts. look right out on the water.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerrygrafstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

The place is definitely feels like "old Florida".

The place is very clean and well maintained. We had a motel room. It contained a small fridge (not a bar fridge found in most motel rooms) that was about 1/2 the size of a full refrigerator. The freezer had forced air that made ice very quickly so you had no need of finding an ice machine on the property (which there are none).

Great things about staying there:
1. Feels like you are staying at a friends house.
2. Owners help with luggage.
3. No loud parties.
4. Access to a gorgeous beach with plenty of shells.
5. No room phones but wifi & great cable (why would anyone need any more in this day).
6. As a Florida resident, the beach has a fantastic breeze coming in from the Gulf.

Not so great things (just being funny):
1. Close to Venice with great shopping for the women.
2. Places to have a beer while women are shopping.
(As you can see this is a male review)

Even though we live in the Tampa Bay area we would again visit this place as a great getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandHouseGM, Manager at Island House Apartment Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Thanks Don for the great review. We really appreciate your comments, and are glad you had a good time. We hope to see you again soon at the Island House. Thanks again. Staci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

I just can't say enough about this place. Very clean and Staci and Earl are so friendly and helpful. We came for my husband's birthday and loved every minute. This is a small, quaint little gem of a place and I can't wait to go back again and again.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandHouseGM, General Manager at Island House Apartment Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Laurie, Thanks for the review. It is so easy to be friendly and helpful with our wonderful guests such as you and your husband. Hope to see you soon. Staci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful gem of a location! We will return many many times. The view of Gulf was worth millions. Hands-down the best vacation I've had. This is due to the beautiful location, the modern lodgings and the community of the management as well as the guests!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank PrincellaA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandHouseGM, Manager at Island House Apartment Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Thank you for your review and we are so glad you had a wonderful time. Hope to see you soon and Happy Thanksgiving. Staci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews