We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Conch Fritters EVER”
Review of Pops Sunset Grill

Pops Sunset Grill
Ranked #5 of 33 Restaurants in Nokomis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Pops features fresh grilled seafood, oyster bar items, over sized burgers, sandwiches & wraps. Daily Specials and weekend entertainment.We now feature several Craft Beers on Tap and by the bottle. We have seating for large groups and welcome families. Pops is a local favorite. Try one of our Fresh Oven Baked Flat breads or nosh on a basket of fried shrimp, clams or crab cakes. Our little place is located right on the water, we are laid back and have an excellent team of friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable staff! Drop by for Happy Hour 3-6 Daily!
Reviewed 23 May 2016

We come here at least twice, every time we visit Nokomis. They have the best conch fritters and fried shrimp! I am so partial to what I like, I never try anything new. My husband does though, and he loves everything. hehehe

Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2016

Hello Rebecca S! Thank you for your continued patronage of Pops Sunset Grill! Also want to thank you for the multiple visits and for taking the time to share your complements on TA! our Conch Fritters are quite popular and glad you enjoyed them as well! Hurry back to see us again soon! Cheers, Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

684 - 688 of 1,663 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2016

You can get dinner here but it's just a local bar that happens to be on the water (bay). Not a fancy place, more like baskets of fried shrimp. I happen to enjoy their coconut shrimp though. The best part is the friendly wait staff who are always smiling and quick to refill drinks, etc. Prices are good. Parking is tight.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Khiori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Greetings Khiori, Thank you for stopping at Pops and for taking the time to share your complements on TA! Pops features many items in addition to our familiar Shrimp Baskets, we serve fresh catch daily from our wood burning grill, oversized burgers and sandwiches and a nice variety of salads! We hope you will hurry back and enjoy some of our other menu items! Cheers and safe travels, Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

We, three couples, had dinner tonight at Pop's and had the most incredible waiter - Paul. He had so much knowledge and humor. Even shared a recipe. Oh and our dinners were fabulous! Paul we will be back!!

Thank gerriedickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Hi gerriedickey, thank you for your recent visit to Pops Sunset Grill and for taking the time to compliment our terrific staff on TA! We hope to see you again soon and often! Cheers, Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

My friends and I first spent part of the day at Nokomis Beach which is very nice very old Florida there's a jetty there and a connection from the Gulf to the intercoastal waters the beach is covered in seashells hard to walk on but cool if you're looking for shells we then went to Pops for lunch the views are wonderful you're right on the water and sometimes you can get lucky and get a table right on the beach sometimes you'll see manatees and or dolphins food is your average Fish Shack menu two of us have the clam strips that were very tender crispy and not greasy our other friend had the calamari huge portion and again crispy but tender nice place for lunch if you're in the area and experiencing one of your typical Florida beach casual restaurants

Thank Bernadette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Hi Bernadette H! Thank you for your recent stop at Pops Sunset Grill and for taking the time to share your complements on TA! There are so many cool features in our surroundings, and we are happy to know you enjoyed them all! Cheers, Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

A lovely place to have lunch, enjoying dining right on the water with good food and grat service. We will go back again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mamamandpoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Hi mamamandpoppie, Thank you for making Pops your stop and for sharing your nice compliments on TA! We hope to see you again soon and often! Cheers, Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pops Sunset Grill also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pops Sunset Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing