We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort
Nearby Hotels
Bayfront Inn 5th Ave(Naples)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Naples(Naples)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on Fifth(Naples)
US$462
US$283
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Central Naples(Naples)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$108
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$594
US$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$402
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$248
US$221
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$277
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,336)
Filter reviews
2,336 results
Traveller rating
1,561
508
150
69
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,561
508
150
69
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla playabaleen restaurantgulf towerbeachfront roomfire pitbeach servicevalet parkingocean frontthe ritzmain towervalet servicegulf of mexicoresort feebeach attendantsbeautiful beachvalet guyslarge balcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,975 - 1,980 of 2,336 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2007

We were married and had the reception on the grounds in July. We had booked 50 rooms for our guests at the hotel. We were extremely nervous about choosing one place for all of our guests to stay. We could not have been more pleased with La Playa. The service was excellent. Our favorite part was having everyone in one spot. The tiki bar, 4 pools, restaurants, room service. No one had to rent a car and it was filled with a weekend of constant entertainment. Absolutely beautiful hotel. Very tropical although elegant. Reminds me of Tommy Bahama style. We can't wait to make it back for our anniversary.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank MDesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2007

I have been going to Naples for over 25 years. We thought we would give the La Playa a try. Great reviews. Rooms look great. UGH. Here is a list of the problems.

1. Upon check in, we noticed there was no elevator access for a stroller. We were told we could carry the stroller up the 9 stairs. (keep in mind we were staying for nearly three weeks). The only solution was to take the "access elevator", which was for staff only and it exited into the storage room on the ground floor. It stunk so bad, and was so dirty (what else would you expect for a storage room facility though). Needless to say, we had to carry the stroller up and down every time.

2. First room in the tower that we were given had ceiling damage--half of the ceiling was on the floor due to a water leak. The mold was everywhere above the ceiling. It really was bad. Obviously the room could not be used. So they gave us another room...in the front building. Now I promise I am not being picky here or exagerating...but these halls were so dark and musty it was nearly impossible to tolerate it. I mean it really did smell bad!! No matter what floor you were on, all the halls were hot, dark, and smelled very bad of mildew. I asked the manager about this--it was just impossible to ignore----she was honest and said many complaints are about that issue, but the AC and lighting system is very old.

3. The pools are nicely laid out, but are very very small. Also, the lay out of the chairs are very close to eachother. One of the last straws for us was the cabanas. Having to pay $60/day for these is a joke. They are lined up against the back of the pools...right next to the road side! The only thing between you and the road is a little row of bushes...about 8 feet tall. So, they are in the back of the pool, against a tall row of bushes....what does this mean?? NO BREEZE! They are just horrible. Everyone sitting in them was fanning themselves and just miserable. If you sat up front, the breeze was fine of course...but no cabanas are there. Do not spend money to stay in these...not worth it at all.

4. Valet is a joke....young kids who dont help at all or care at all. They are there making minimum wage for a summer job. They socialize with eacother more than anything else.

5. Elevators in the tower have no AC. They are dreadfully hot and muggy! Literally unbearable. Mang. states the ac in those units are very old and usually do not function up to par. They have no plans to fix this.

Needless to say, i made a call to the ritz down the road...and moved two days later. It was great!! Please think twice before staying here.

Most people might not know this, but the La Playa resort was actually one of the very first resorts on Vanderbilt beach---been there atleast since the late 70's. Obviously the have updated it to death...but it still shows its age regardless.

If you want luxury and service, go to the Ritz. Simple as that.

The La Playa has some nice things...they are right on the beach...the rooms are bright and well decorated. The poos look nice...just not very easy to use...and are crowded easily.

Any questions...just email me cypress822@yahoo.com

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank pemarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2007

We love this hotel....you feel so special when you stay here...yes the charges / day can mount up, but we already knew that from staying before...

I booked with Expedia for a 2 night treat for my husbands birthday..we previously stayed here when we were courting...and I wasn't disappointed....we even had our room upgraded from one of the canal views to a sea view....

The rooms & beds are just gorgeous...everything you would expect from a high class Florida hotel ...

We love, we will be back..I'm even sending my parents there from England in October....

PS Book a table at Roys and enjoy a fantastic Asian fusion meal...

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Princessnaughty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We stayed at this resort several years ago, and had a wonderful experience. When we heard that they had undergone a multi-million dollar renovation recently, we were anxious to see what was new and different. The most charming thing about this resort is that it is just that....very charming...but it's also a full-service resort! It is nestled among a residential area of condos, just several buildings down from the Ritz Carlton on beautiful Naple's Gulf Coast. The lobby is very unpretentious but very welcoming. Everything feels "boutique" and not "resort" yet all the ammenities of a resort are there.

There are a variety of rooms and we were at first disappointed because our rooms would be in the bldg. across the street (not on the gulf side). I was not thrilled about having what they called a "bay" view when we were on "last hurrah of summer" vacation. However, our furnished and large wrap-around balcony had views of the gulf (for sunsets) and also of the bay and luxurious homes (for sunrises). The room was well-appointed and extremely spacious and comfortable. The only complaint would be lack of dresser space (just a few drawers below the entertainment unit were not enough for our family) and stinginess w/ the towels (we had to ask for extra towels every day). But those are the only tiny complaints.

Service is IMPECCABLE. But here is what you will most enjoy about La Playa...as I said it is a resort that feels almost like a boutique hotel. There are four pools w/ cabanas around the perimeter. For $40 one can rent the cabana for 1/2 day and the rental includes a water-stocked fridge, the table and chairs in front of your cabana for lunches and the lounge chairs poolside in front of that. Service abounds when you are a cabana renter, so no need to wander to the bar for a tropical drink or lunch for the kids. The wide beach is just steps away, as is the spa. Using the cabana for "homebase" was wonderful as our family enjoyed jetskiing, spa services and shopping throughout the days.

There is only one restaurant and the food was superb. Room Service and lunch poolside were always delivered perfectly and promptly. The spa is tiny and a bit overpriced in our opinion. I paid $278 for a pedicure and a 50 minute massage (20% was included). I felt this was a bit much, expecially for a spa that is not large enough to have a relaxation room, a hot tub or locker room facilities. I will report that the service in the spa was top-notch.

There were two large (100 or more people) business groups there the weekend that we were there (we heard this from staff) but one would have never known it. La Playa is so spread out that there were NEVER crowds at the beach, the pool, the restaurant. It is nice to enjoy a resort and all that Naples, FL has to offer without enduring the crowds that one often encounters at the pool and beach while staying at the Ritz or the Naples Grande. I definitely recommend La Playa to all who plan to stay in Naples!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank mamamooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2007

Stayed here for two nights enjoyed the lovely room and facilities. Right onto the beach from the hotel. The staff seemed to maximize every opportunity to get a trip. it wasen't possible to park your own car ( valet parking only) which made us fell restricted in being able to come and go as you please.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Englandschatterbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews