We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,501)
Filter reviews
2,501 results
Traveller rating
1,676
533
160
75
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,676
533
160
75
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la playa baleen restaurant gulf tower beachfront room fire pit beach service valet parking ocean front the ritz valet service gulf of mexico resort fee beach attendants beautiful beach valet guys large balcony hotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 2,501 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017

I've stayed with family at this hotel three times previously - we obviously like it. In July we booked direct with the hotel for a weeks stay in September. In calls, emails and booking confirmation no mention was made of the extensive building works taking place, we have just found out by 'accident'. I've now been told the pool area is affected (2 pools closed), the restaurant, veranda, reception etc. on the ground floor are closed (relocated to another temporary facility) and all the balconies on the gulf tower are being demolished and replaced. This is a building site. We have cancelled.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garys2kes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate S, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for choosing us for a fourth visit, repeat business such as yours is the best compliment we as a resort can receive.

We are following up on your reservation to see what happened, as our reservations team do specifically advice guests of the construction going on, as well as it being noted on our website and all written and digital communication from our reservations team, so it is unclear how this messaging did not reach you. We do understand your decision to cancel your stay, and truly hope you will return for a visit when this project is complete, so we can welcome you back for the type of vacation you've enjoyed so much in the past.

If you would like to discuss any aspect of the bookings process, please feel free to contact our Rooms Director, Brandon Tyler, personally at BTyler@laplayaresort.com

Warm regards,
Nate S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Refer to my scores.
Lovely resort from the outside but somewhat deceiving once inside. Staff was quite courteous at all times. Limited food selection and what was available was not up to par with most other resorts in that category. I will like I said give it another go after all construction is complete.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gbf8931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate S, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. As you noted, we are currently making some improvements to our Gulf Tower rooms to keep things to the high standard our guests expect, so we understand and appreciate the feedback. We're glad to hear the staff was friendly throughout the resort, and look forward to welcoming you back when this project is finished, so you can enjoy the improvements we've made.


Warm regards,
Nate S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Best location, best staff, best resort
We have been staying here for 20 years, and aside from the location right on the gulf, the friendliness and courtesy of the staff keeps us coming back year after year

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JEFFREY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate S, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

We cannot ask for a better review than to have earned your trust and business for 20 years running. The entire team here to great pride in hearing your praise for the "friendliness and courtesy" of our team. We look forward to another 20 years!


Warm regards,
Nate S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Unless you want to stay in a building site then I would recommend booking elsewhere, what a shame! We planned this holiday back in march 2017, and we arrived yesterday to the sound of loud drilling, massive rubbish shoots down to reception, the main pool and bar closed? No one was sat round the pool or beach and the whole place look deserted, I'm guessing the few people who were in the hotel were either in town or stuck in their rooms away from the disgusting view and sound.

The only saviour in the situation was the extremely helpful and friendly reception lady called Haley. She even helped us to move to an alternative hotel and did all the communicating with our travel provider virgin to make the transition. Any hotel would be lucky to have such a professional lady!

A bitter sweet experience.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Lorykean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate S, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the resort. We are as disappointed as you to hear you were not informed of these upgrades, as Virgin Holidays was informed. Unfortunately it seems the information was not passed on to you. We are glad you got to experience a bit of our world-class customer service in the form of Haley: she's a great member of the team and we're glad she was able to help you get your vacation back on track.

We hope you will return to LaPlaya in the future, so you can enjoy the finished product.


Warm regards,
Nate S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Let me start by saying there is construction going on at LaPlaya but that did not at all deter from our wonderful experience. From the moment we entered the resort to the time we left the service was impeccable! We would be sitting on the beach and the moment we raised the flag the service attendant would literally come running to ask us what we needed. Our food always came quickly and was absolutely delicious. The beach was beautiful with soft sand and gentle waves. Admittedly there were a few times the construction noise did get a little loud but it never really lasted that long and if you stayed on the opposite side of the building they were working on you barely noticed the noise. We really enjoyed our time. The rooms were beautiful. The bed was so comfortable and the service was amazing.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank nipurna2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate S, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share this kind review of your stay. We are glad the improvements to the property didn't interfere with your stay, as we improve some parts of the facility to keep offering the excellent experience you enjoyed. We are also glad you found the rooms and amenities comfortable, and our friendly service team took good care of you.


Warm regards,
Nate S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews