We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,507)
Filter reviews
2,507 results
Traveller rating
1,679
534
162
75
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,679
534
162
75
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la playa baleen restaurant gulf tower beachfront room fire pit beach service valet parking ocean front the ritz valet service gulf of mexico resort fee beach attendants beautiful beach valet guys large balcony hotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
1,601 - 1,606 of 2,507 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband and I stayed in June 2012, and we booked a beachfront room in the Gulf Tower.
We were given a room on the 3rd floor, which we thought was lovely, but when we went down to the beach, we realised the 3rd floor was the only floor with a walled balcony, instead of railings, meaning if you sat down you wouldn't have the wonderful view!! It is also directly above the upper floor of the restaurant, so it could possibly be noisy.
We requested a room change, which we were immediately given, this was inconvenient, but we were compensated for this.
Other than this, It is a wonderful resort, and definitely worth a visit.
Baleen is a nice restaurant for dinner, and breakfast....the french toast is amazing!!
We would not recommend the nearby Turtle club at all.
The air con in the room was quite noisy also, and one night we had a lovely mexican man come to fix it, but unfortunately my husband (an engineer) had to tell him how to try and fix it!! (the filter needed changing). BUT it was very late and he was so lovely, and I was giggling away in bed while the 2 men tried to communicate and solve the problem!!!
It was still noisy though!! Nevermind....
All in all though, we had a lovely time, and so will you....just don't accept the 3rd floor!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendiEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for choosing LaPLaya for your recent visit to Naples! We’re pleased that you had a lovely visit, and appreciate you sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. While we do our best to ensure that our guests will be happy no matter where their room is located, we understand that everyone has personal preferences and do our best to accommodate (even if it happens to be after you check in!). Our staff does indeed work to make your visit as enjoyable as possible, so it’s great to see that they were able to respond appropriately to make your stay a perfect one.

Please accept my apologies for the difficulty with the air conditioning late at night. Our Chief Engineering will address with his staff to ensure that future repairs are as quick and efficient as possible.

Thank you again for your visit! We know you have several options when it comes to your accommodations, and do hope to once again be your choice on a future trip to Naples.

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager
cgrossman@laplayaresort.com
239.597.3123 Ext. 5916

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at the LaPlaya for seven nights in June Beachfront Room. The nightly sunset over the water were Beautiful! The entire staff were polite and helpful, they went out of their way to assist us. This is my 2nd. trip to LaPlaya and I plan to return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TORRY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

A weeklong stay is definitely a nice way to fully relax and rejuvenate, and we’re honored to have once again been your destination of choice! We appreciate you review and support – and thank you for sharing those pictures too.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit someday soon.

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We went last year in July and we stayed at the building across the street and moved to beachfront for the last two days. The beachfront is amazing but am not sure if the extra price is worth it. This is because the rooms are so much bigger across the street and has a large balcony. The only annoying part is the valet parking. They did a pretty good job, but the wait is always annoying for valet parking in general. A rental car is a must, as there are no places to eat within walking distance. You'll have so many more options within a short driving distance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Thank you for choosing LaPlaya for your trip last summer! We’re pleased that you enjoyed your visit – and thank you for sharing your experience in both the Gulf Tower and Bay Tower rooms. Our Bay Tower rooms are indeed quite popular for guests seeking a little more space, and of course they also offer nice views of the resort or bay. On the other hand, while the Gulf Tower rooms are slightly smaller, it’s tough to beat that perfect, panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. We're glad that you had the opportunity to experience both options!

While it’s nice to see that our valet staff did a good job in taking care of your comings and goings, I did want to offer my apologies for any inconvenience with this service. While our location is wonderful, it does result in very limited parking options, thus requiring us to offer a valet only service. Our team will continue to work diligently to park and retrieve your vehicle as quickly as possible – all with a smile!

Thank you again for your sharing your experience with others via TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you back someday soon.

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Superb service from the valet to the wait staff to the maids and beach boys. One employee was nicer than the next! They really want you to enjoy yourself here! The food was outstanding and not unreasonably priced. Staying right on the Gulf of Mexico with nothing to look at but sand, water and sprigs of sea greass was quite relaxing. No tumult here. No glitz. A wonderful FLorida get away! Highly recommended> (If you can, try for one of the ground beach front lanai rooms....roll out of your bed onto the lanai and in a few steps, you're in the Gulf!) The only down side of our stay was some hotel noise at night, in the hallways...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloridaDaytripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Thank you for your positive review of LaPlaya! Our main mission each day is to offer a clean facility with superb food and beverage – all provided by a friendly, attentive staff. A review like yours is always a pleasure to read as it shows that we continue to live up to this important goal.

We really appreciate your recommendation and support – and hope to be your destination of choice on your next visit to Naples!

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager
cgrossman@laplayaresort.com
239.597.3123 Ext. 5916

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We just returned from La Playa and our trip was excellent thanks to the staff. The hotel is on the beach in beautiful Naples. When we checked in we were given a ground floor room right on the pool, with no view, that was ADA compliant. As we had not requested an ADA room, I asked if we could be moved and the staff accommodated my request and exceeded my expectations. We were given a room with a gorgeous ocean view for no extra charge! I did not expect that at all!!! The room was breezy and beautiful! The staff went out of their way to make my stay enjoyable and stress free. We had lunch on the beach! Every day, both morning and evening, we were blessed with dolphins feeding right along shore! There were plenty of Pelicans dive bombing for food too! Shells of all types were abundant. I have been to Florida many times, but this was by far my best experience! Thank you La Playa for making my stay exquisite!

Room Tip: Request a room on the 4th floor Beach Club, ocean view. Room 442 was great for watching the sunset.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Thank you for your positive review of LaPlaya! We are fortunate to have a very dedicated team of associates – and an experience like the one you shared is important to our management team. We do aim for everything to be perfect from start to finish, but understand that there can occasionally be a “bump in the road.” In these instances, we do look for our staff to make things right -- and we’re happy to see that this was the case with your guestroom.

Thank you again for your visit and support! We hope to be of service on a future trip to Naples.

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews