We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,498)
Filter reviews
2,498 results
Traveller rating
1,673
533
160
75
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,673
533
160
75
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la playa baleen restaurant gulf tower beachfront room fire pit beach service valet parking ocean front the ritz valet service gulf of mexico resort fee beach attendants beautiful beach valet guys large balcony hotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
1,698 - 1,703 of 2,498 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband and I live year round in Naples, but got married at La Playa last year. After our wedding we stayed at La Playa for 2 nights. It was one of the best parts of our honeymoon. It was a great way to start it off. After hectic weeks leading up to the wedding it was nice to wake up the night after our wedding and enjoy mimosas on our balcony over looking the ocean and listening to the waves. We loved the decor of the room, the views, and just lounged most of the time we were there. It was great to relax and just spend time together. The only downside of that trip is that despite the hotel stating they are a 100% non-smoking facility, guests are allowed to smoke on their balconies, which unfortunately required us to go inside and shut the doors everytime in occured. If you smoke or are unbothered by cigarette smoke, this would not be a problem, but to me I have severe allergies, so this spoiled part of our stay. We did report it to the hotel staff who offered to have us move rooms, but that would have been a hassle since we were packed for a 2 week honeymoon and had food/drinks in the fridge. Additionally, the wind changes in FL frequently, so if we moved and the wind changed, we'd have to move again haha!

The second time we stayed at La Playa was this past weekend for our anniversary. It was again the relaxing retreat that we needed. The first day we were allowed to check in early thanks to management help. We were sent complimentary champagne and a nice personalized note since we were staying for our 1st anniversary. The room was clean and we loved the bright colors just as much as last time. The view and sounds of the ocean were magnificent and we again lounged in the room as much as possible. There is so much space in the rooms that it really feels like a treat for us. We enjoy the rest of Naples all year, so it was nice to have a front row seat to the ocean. Luckily the first night we were able to sit on our balcony and enjoy fresh air without any smokers affecting our enjoyment of the property. We even slept with the doors open to be able to hear the ocean. Note to non-Naples residents, La Playa is one of VERY FEW hotels that offers an oceanfront view. We have visited and stayed at other hotels and if you want a hotel that offers a view, this one is the one you should stay at.

Our second trip again ended a little worse than it began as we woke up to cigarette smoke AGAIN. We shut the door for a bit thinking whoever was smoking would smoke one and move on, but for the next 3 hours the miserable lady was out there chain smoking. We had been given permission for late checkout but ended up leaving on time because there was nothing left for us to do since our ability to enjoy the fresh air was interrupted. We went home and enjoyed our OWN balcony with fresh air instead. It's definitely disappointing to have such a nice room with that kind of a room and have someone ruin it for you, especially at the price of the hotel.

Overall I give this resort a 4. Everything there is decorated well, clean, great service, luxurious rooms, gorgeous views, great food, the list can go on and on. But for me, being sensitive to smoke, it's a HUGE negative, so I had to give it a 4 overall. If it doesn't bother you, I am sure you'd give this a 5! I still recommend going!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ranndella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Thank your for your continued support of LaPlaya! We certainly appreciate your repeat business!

I have shared your detailed critique with our team. It's great to see our Front Office team was able to provide you with a early check in, when occupancy allows, we try our best to allow our early arriving guests access to their rooms! In the future, you are more than welcome to arrive early and even if by chance the room is not ready yet, we can store your belongings so you can get a head start to the beach, pool, or a nice lunch at the Tiki Bar!

Your comments regarding guests smoking on the balconies are noted, thank you for the feedback. I can understand your frustration, and I am pleased to see our team did all they can to make you more comfortable.

We hope to see you again soon, stay posted to our website for some hot summer specials!

Regards,

Jason K. Moll
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Just returned. The west side of Florida is beautiful. LaPlaya is a fabulous resort right on the water. Views are amazing, food delicious and service top-notch. Will happily return.

Room Tip: Stay in the main tower.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPlayaDORM, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

And thank you for that wonderful review! Also, that’s an amazing picture of the sunset that you took from your Gulf Tower guestroom. We’ll look forward to some more scenic snapshots on your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Our family visited this hotel in late Febuary. The staff was wonderfully helpfu, professional, and friendly. The poolscape is lovely, and the beachfront set-up well-conceived. The property is well maintained and has a historical feel to it while still being very up-to-date. Baleen, the restaurant, offers marvelous outdoor seating overlooking the water as well as an elegant interior dining room. The hotel offered enough amentities to keep both of our children and their grandmother entertained. Although not necessarily a kid-oriented hotel, we felt quite comfortable staying there. A wonderful visit overall...!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eli72_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPlayaDORM, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Thank you for choosing LaPlaya for your February family vacation! We’re pleased that you had such an enjoyable time – and that everyone in the family had a comfortable visit. While it sounds like you and the family kept busy on your own, we do offer a popular kids camp on select weekends throughout the year that the kids may be interested in on a future visit. Our concierge can always check on availability to see if this may be an option on your next trip.

Thank you again for your visit and support. We look forward to serving you again.

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I was here for business but would have enjoyed myself just as much with my husband. They are keeping the rooms and property updated. The bathrooms are big but the showers could be updated a bit. The beds were cozy! I loved sitting on the balcony looking at the pools and palm trees. An ocean walk out room at this resort would be awesome. The beach is terrific. They have beach service and the water is blue and calm. The pools were nicely landscaped and the food I had from room service and pool side were both a good value and very good. Service here is incredible and I was even more impressed when I forgot my phone in my room and they were able to retrieve it and get it to a co worker who was leaving later in the day. Many hotels would have just blown it off but not the staff at LaPlaya. Thank you!,

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean walk out, they are right on the beach and quiet!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ychick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPlayaDORM, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Thank you for choosing LaPlaya and sharing your experience with others via Trip Advisor. From your review, it looks like you really were able to kick back and relax. We aim to make the beach and pool experience as comfortable as possible – and we know that our professional, friendly service staff is the key to making this happen. Thank you for recognizing all our staff for impeccable service. We’ll also be sure to recognize Ricardo in our engineering department for taking the extra step to help recover your lost item!

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Beautiful facility! Fabulous beach! Located in good proximity for exploring the area with easy access to wonderful birding areas.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPlayaDORM, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Thank you for choosing LaPlaya as your destination to escape the winter weather up in Virginia. We truly appreciate your support – and we hope to see you next winter, if not before.

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews