We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic can also mean OLD!”
Review of Lakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We recently visited Mount Dora and loved this little town! It's very artsy and the shopping is great! Up One Flight, a coffee cafe, has the best carrot cake ever! However, we were disappointed in the Lakeside Inn. The staff was very friendly and professional and the complimentary breakfast was delicious, but the property needs some serious work! I still have a little tickle in my throat from the smelly room. We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

706 - 710 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

Some of the pictures on here might be true, this is one of the oldest hotels in Florida. They are renovating and remodeling so it will be much better soon. Our room was adequate with all the charm of a hotel built in 1883! the air was cold but did vibrate the closet walls which could have given me a headache had i been in there too long. We had breakfast there and the food was good, service was friendly and prompt. Nice place to stay as it is right in the heart of downtown so you could park and walk the town. I do recommend you stay, just consider the age of the hotel..

Room Tip: Just ask for a renovated room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wldfire101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The view from the terrace is absolutely stunning, the pool is great as well. Thats about it you can say. We were given in a room in the depandance from the main building, its absolutely grose and disguisting. The toiletseat is completely worn off, the carpet is stained, the a/c makes a lot of noise but doesnt give any cold or fresh air. The hallway is like an oven. We made our reamkrs to the receptionist (not friendly) butbthis was put aside with the words we are a historic landmark.

Room Tip: Hook a room in the hotel in Mt Dora
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Wow. What a nice surprise. Location, Location, this place has it! Beautiful sunsets and a great staff. Everyone we ran into was friendly. It's an old historic place but well maintained. If you don't like old places, don't come here. It was built back in 1883 or so. The front entrance to the hotel could use a little cleaning. Dust and cobwebs are all by the front door. Nothing a broom won't take care of. The resturant there has ok food and the lobby is a step back in time. We stayed in the Terrace building and was pleased. Our room had 3 queen size beds. It was 2 rooms with a bathroom in the middle. Decor was dated but functional. The beds were made perfectly! You could bounce a quarter off of them. Not a wrinkle insite. Very impressive. They were also very comfortable to sleep in. The walls are thin and the pipes make noise when you run the water. The toliet has a powerful flush so it's really loud. (Keep that in mind for late night use) There is a small refrig in the room to keep drinks cool. Water pressure was decent and bathrooms were clean. We loved the outdoors area. You can walk to shopping and other restaurants. The pool was nice and large also. Overall, we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Floridatourist17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I got married at the Lakeside Inn on August 4, 2012. We had our ceremony on the lake under the giant oak trees. It was set up very nicely and the ceremony was organized. We had our reception inside the Beauclaire Room. All of our guests remarked that the food was outstanding, and my wife and I agreed (it was a mid-day wedding buffett with a potato bar, beef stew, and hand carved turkey).

Lisa, the wedding coordinator at the Inn, was perfect. She has been working with Lakeside for close to 18 years and the experience shows. She made everything see less for us.

My only gripe is the same as a complaint voiced by many others: a new HVAC system is needed in these building along with new carpeting. The building itself is so beautiful and well maintained, but the visible wear on the carpets and the musty smell does take away from the experience. Sadly one of my guests checked out and relocated to a hotel much farther away as a result. I also had to talk a 2nd guest down from doing the same.

This is a nice inn at a beautiful waterfront location within walking distance of everything in Mount Dora. It is definitely worth stopping by and sitting in a rocking chair on the patio to look out at the lake.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davefinucane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
588 reviews
8.1 km away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
4.3 km away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Magnolia Inn B&B
Magnolia Inn B&B
#1 of 11 in Mount Dora
159 reviews
0.6 km away
Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast
0.3 km away
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Mount Dora Historic Inn
#6 of 11 in Mount Dora
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn

Address: 100 N Alexander St, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5570
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Price Range: €128 - €182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Mount Dora
Lakeside Mount Dora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing