We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
3
16
8
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3
16
8
5
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Within the grounds of the Manor House, the converted distillery location of the Park Hotel provided a comfortable stay for one evening as we enjoyed the beauty and serenity of the Lahemaa National Park.

Our initial welcome to the hotel was warm and we ordered our dinner on arrival as we were advised there is only a small kitchen and pre-ordering reduces the wait.

The hotel is bright and airy with many shared spaces in the central halls, with places to relax communally if you wished. There is also a large restaurant room. So if it is full I hope that you have ordered on arrival to beat any queue!

We had a twin bed room at the top of the building in the eaves, though the room had been set out to avoid any likelihood of anyone banging their head (even my 183cm husband). Entry from the hall corridor was to a small hall like room, with the bedroom to the right and bathroom ahead. We had a nice view out of the back to the lawn and lake beyond. There was also a heater for any cold nights, and windows for air if you had a warmer day (not for us sadly, it rained heavily!). The room was at it's rustic best with plenty of pine furniture and space for all your travel things, and enough plug points for recharging any necessary electronics.

The bathroom was a shower-room, with errant clingy curtain! We were delighted to discover we had underfloor heating, which was to be switched on my a switch near the floor of the bathroom door. Clean towels were provided.

It was a small hearty menu and I enjoyed my herring and potato dish, though there was rather too generous a portion of sour cream for me, though my husband disagreed and soon polished it off! The local dark beer was a popular choice it seemed and my husband enjoyed it greatly. Pleasingly fitting that the old distillery was good with the booze choices! We had great service and a real laugh with the small staff. Sharp dry wit abounds at the hotel and our meal was really fun.

It was a great setting to discover the park and we enjoyed two decent cycle trips from there, one on checking in and another the following morning after checkout. We had only a little time to really appreciate the setting and hence had a swift yet lovely run around the grounds the following morning. If only we had a little more time, I am sure there were plenty more joys to discover.

It's all about the location and appreciating nature, if this appeals to you more than 200 thread count cotton, I expect you will enjoy your stay.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank incite_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 September 2017

This hotel used to be the distillery of the manor. The manor grounds are lovely with gardens, a pond and walking trails. It's a perfect location from which to explore the Lahemaa National Park. The hotel itself is very basic and
as other reviewers have pointed out, not much effort was put into making the hotel cozy, however the setting is
idyllic. The rooms are spare and clean. Breakfast was quite good. We had one dinner there which was adequate. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

Date of stay: August 2017
Thank Exploration802659
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Set in Lahemaa National Park, this converted distillery offers basic rooms all kitted out in 70s decor - which is odd, seeing it was done up in the 90s! Popular with hiking and cycling groups, almost everything here is made out of pine wood. Make sure you don't open the windows at night - the picturesque lake doubles up as mosquito central. Bathroom has a bath with shower attachment and a 'plumbed-in' hairdryer. Our shower curtain had a strange habit of ghostily floating up and wrapping itself round you in a clingy embrace. Luckily my trusty companion, thetravelnurse, found an ingenious way of wedging a selfie-stick (yes, we have a selfie-stick - don't judge us!) over the bath to keep its unwanted advances in check (see photo!). The restaurant provides basic, hearty food at reasonably prices. Highly recommended: Vana Tallinn liqueur (€2 per shot), a vanilla and cinnamon-flavoured rum-based tipple. Do make sure you get your food order right - someone in our group pointed at the wrong thing on the menu for dessert, so when everyone else was happily tucking into their pancakes with ice cream, he found himself opposite a prawn cocktail (had I mentioned the 70s theme?). Have a wander around the landscaped gardens, but don't get a ticket for the Manor House - just say you're staying in the hotel and they might let you in for free. It's pleasant - but not worth the €9 charge. A few minutes' walk to the left there's a medieval-themed 'tavern' which serves traditional, meat-heavy food. In Park Hotel Palmse you won't find: air con, kettle, mini-bar, all the mod cons. You will find: nature, tranquility, romantic photo opportunities. Don't stay here if: you're looking for a luxury country retreat or any kind of nightlife. Stay here if: you care more about the location and setting than the actual hotel.

Date of stay: August 2017
2  Thank thetripdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 August 2017

My husband and I stayed here for three nights to explore the National Park. Basically it is an excellent idea that an old building from the estate be converted into a hotel and that guests have access to the estate grounds and renovated mansion.
However
- the staff are willing but seem untrained
- the rooms are basic. The conversion was in the 1990s, although our bathroom looked distinctly 70s-ish to me
- the communal areas are spartan and cold i.e. poor lighting and no decoration. I found this rather depressing.

No attention at all has been devoted to making the place attractive, interesting or welcoming - sheer waste of potential! It wouldn't take a lot to put some pictures on the walls and adjust the lighting.
By the way, the in-house dinner is nothing to write home about.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 August 2017

If you want to explore the Lahemaa National Park, this is an excellent base from which to do so. As other reviewers have said, this is not a luxury hotel, but we found our room clean, bright, and comfortable. The staff were also very friendly. There is a restaurant in the hotel (no bad thing, since it is rather out of the way), and we had a satisfactory meal there.

The hotel's setting is especially lovely. It's a converted distillery on an old park, with a manor house, and when the place was closed to the public, we were able to walk around the grounds and gardens after dinner in the late evening sunshine.

Note that credit cards are not accepted here, and you have to pay both at the restaurant and hotel in cash; but the hotel warned us of this, so that we could make sure that we had enough money when we arrived.

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank PeterandRobin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews