We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14,845)
Filter reviews
14,845 results
Traveller rating
8,990
2,831
1,370
807
847
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,990
2,831
1,370
807
847
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tresor tower sorrento tower lapis spa bleau bar liv nightclub pool area beautiful hotel junior suite lobby bar ocean view amazing service beach service people watching pool staff valet parking beach chairs scarpetta
Filter
Updating list...
11,897 - 11,902 of 14,845 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We reserved a one bedroom suite in the 'chateau' (new) building. As we checked in the front desk girl told us that due to the large volume of people that we had moved (although upgraded) to a new suite... but it was in the old building. We stressed that we wanted the suite we had reserved in the new building. They accomodated us. We had let them know prior to our stay that 2 friends would be joining us and staying overnight on the pull out bed in the living room.

As we entered the suite things looked nice, but upon inspection we noticed that there was only one little trash basket next to the toilet, there were no clocks or alarms, we couldn't figure out how to turn on half the lights, and the shower had apparently been 'missed' during housecleaning since there was hair in the drain and the shampoo bottle was watered down, and there was only two sets of towels for our party of 4. (On a separate note the shampoo and conditioner were horrible- the lotion was also lousy)

We called about the shower and towel situation and it was resolved as we left the room for lunch. House keeping service folks were extremely pleasant and very polite.

After 2 nights of insufficient sleep due to the 'boom boom boom' of the club 'Liv' down below they credited us for 1/2 of the room on the second night and we checked out early. (We went to the Four Seasons, which we know from the past is reliable) We were on the 10th floor but it was not far enough away from the noise! When we called at 4 a.m. to the desk they told us it wouldn't be much longer since the club closed at 5 a.m. We understand that they could not control the noise BUT we should have been warned about the excessive noise when the reservations were made.

We checked out by noon and later that day my friend realized that she had left her boots in the room. We called the hotel, were switched to lost and found, talked to a person who said they hadn't been tuned in and waited for a return call. Nothing. It is 2 days later and those boots have still not been located.

Also- One person in our party felt that Blade, the sushi bar, had less some less than fresh fish, the chef lacked creativity when asked for sushi outside the ordering menu, and was not overall impressed with it.

For a very expensive suite (which other than our complaints was beautiful) there were too many disappointments. The halls were clean, the staff very pleasant, the decor nice (although trash baskets and clocks would have been great), but between the noise and the bathroom issue we would not choose to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnastasiaDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

It is a nice hotel. $1 billion bucks -- Retro styling, super grand foyer, and nice touches that represent that old rat-pack time las vegas high end hotel/ casino. Beds are comfy -- sheets are AWESOME.

The service is unbelievable disorganized. The breakfast line had 30 people waiting. Took me about 20 minutes to get a table. When I was finally seated, I look around and there were easily 30 seats at tables available. The problem? The table were not bussed (80%) or for some reason, simply not seated (20%).

The valets were clueless. The line to park the vehicle was insane. The organization to pull the vehicle up -- long. The line to check in -- long. (I think you get the point).

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broncmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

1)Check in area about 1km from our room.
2)Suite advertised as having a "queen sofa sleeper", that wasn't wide enough to be a full.
3)Requested rollaway for my other teen (did not fit on the sofa sleeper, see #2), and it took 6 calls and 1 hour and 45 minutes to arrive. Call#5 and #6 were the nasty type, and still, 15 mins apart.
4)Moldy shower (eeekkkk!!!)
5)Two burned out lightbulbs, never fixed.
6)Dirty carpet, not vaccumed (found a manual carpet sweeper in the closet, and then it made sense!!! They DO NOT vaccum).
7)No coffee maker in room.
8)30 mins to retrieve car fom valet, and no option of calling ahead from the room. So had to wait in the cold!
9)No glasses in bedroom, never arrived.
10) Nice double burner, in kitchennette area, however, no pots or pans, no silverware.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martaplaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Our experience at the Fontainebleau was miserable. The hotel is fairly expensive - we paid over $500 a night for a standard king room without a view. However, for the price, you receive no more in the way of amenities than you would at a limited-service hotel like a Courtyard or a Hampton Inn. Our problem was not with the room - it was small but clean and well-designed (except the bathroom, which was tiny and wouldn't even fit two people). The problem was the poor service and the blatant money-grab that began as soon as we set foot in the hotel. The pool area was a joke - unless you wanted to rent a ridiculous and overpriced cabana (who needs a flat-screen TV at the beach), you had to settle for a chair on a tiny sliver of grass, packed next to each other with absolutely no space in between. All of the space near the pool was taken up by the totally empty cabanas. I visited over a holiday weekend and despite the hotel being busy, maybe one or two of the dozens of cabanas were rented. The 18% gratuity included on everything was infuriating considering the shoddy service we received (one poolside waitress being an exception). No complimentary bottles of water are provided in the room, the only water available in the entire hotel costs $6 (plus gratuity) for 12oz. The mini-bar even charges you automatically if you move any of the items of a sensor for more than 15 seconds (whether or not you eat them - luckily, our bellman warned us). Our much-hyped in-room computer didn't work properly. We had several meals at the hotel which were quite good, and the Bleau bar was a nice spot, but anyone can visit and enjoy these without staying at the hotel. We ended up leaving the hotel and taking a day trip during our last day there because the poor service and pool area made the hotel unenjoyable. We are happy to spend money for a luxurious experience, but this hotel did not come close to providing that.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mp812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

I have to admit that I am a little biased because I am a Miami native and grew up hearing spectacular stories about the famed FBH and it being a beacon for celebrities and the wealthy. I was pleased to hear it got a long-awaited facelift. There is a special rate for Florida residents that we were able to take advantage of, otherwise the rates would have been astronomical the week before the SuperBowl. We arrived at 10pm after a long rainy drive, and the valet service was immediately attentive. To our unsuspecting surprise, at check-in at the Tresor, we were notified that we were upgraded to an "ocean-view, one bedroom suite". We got a full kitchen, washer and dryer, jet tub, 2 showers and full view of the ocean and bay from our 30th floor balcony; my husband could not stop grinning in delight of our good fortune. I'm usually a frugal traveler and consider this trip a splurge; and he always fancies the 5 star route of travel. [sigh . . .]

Our first day was a wash-out; in other words, it was a torrential rainfall the whole day. Breakfast at the Vida restaurant was very good, and the waiter reassured us the weather would clear the next day. We took full advantage of our 12.95 per day resort fee. We spent at least 1-2 hours at their awesome gym every day. When the weather cleared the next day, we sat in the beach chairs watching the ocean every morning. The iMac got a lot of use surfing the net for local restaurants. By the way, the hotel is a good 25-30 blocks from South Beach and Lincoln Mall area. So you're either going to need a taxi or rental car to get there. Our Florida resident package included valet parking (usually $35 per day), so we had much more freedom to venture out of the hotel. If you stay here, you're not going to find "cheap food" within walking distance. The hotel's restaurants are pricey, but not unexpected if compared to other hotels like Mandarin Oriental, Loews or Ritz-Carlton.
The entire hotel is very posh and well-manicured. It attracts the a variety of folks from families with young children, the rich and well-endowed, and hip hop stars. My husband's favorite thing to do there was hang out at the valet spot and gawk at the fancy vehicles pulling up; he saw Ludicris with his entourage and I saw Jimmy Johnson there too. The pool area is of course beautiful and spacious, often the site of VIP parties, and they were setting up for the ESPN Super Bowl party when we were there. FBH has certainly earned the reputation as the coolest place to be.

The hotel staff, including our front desk, valet, pool attendants and housekeeping, were amazingly friendly and always acknowledged us with a "good morning" or "are you enjoying your stay?". Service was almost always with a smile. I can't really explain the other negative reviews on this sight. The only negative comments I can make is the elevators were a little slow in the Tresor, the coffee and soda is expensive ($4), and the location is a bit far from the touristy sites in Miami Beach. Overall, I loved everything else here and feel a bit "cooler" just by staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank groverPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews