We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel. Beautiful Scene. Not so beautiful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #43 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 16 February 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Fontainbleau twice, but it was during construction so we got a great rate, although it was still quite expensive. The first time we stayed there, it was great. The Tresor One Bedroom Suite was wonderful, the front staff was great, but the housekeeping was not too great. One housekeeper constantly knocked on our door until we woke up and asked if we're leaving soon. Needless to say, it wasn't a great wake up call. Also, since it was our first time in Miami, the front staff directed us to a couple places to get food and where to eat out, which they said were walking distances, unfortunately it was about an hour walk in the hot sun. The second time we stayed, we stayed in the Sorrento One Bedroom Suite, which was equally and if not better than the first time. Now that we knew our way around, we rented a car, which is highly recommended when in Miami, and we had a beautiful and relaxing holiday . We would love to go there again since the upgrade.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StrawberryPicking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13,837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11,022 - 11,026 of 13,838 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2010

We reserved a one bedroom suite in the 'chateau' (new) building. As we checked in the front desk girl told us that due to the large volume of people that we had moved (although upgraded) to a new suite... but it was in the old building. We stressed that we wanted the suite we had reserved in the new building. They accomodated us. We had let them know prior to our stay that 2 friends would be joining us and staying overnight on the pull out bed in the living room.

As we entered the suite things looked nice, but upon inspection we noticed that there was only one little trash basket next to the toilet, there were no clocks or alarms, we couldn't figure out how to turn on half the lights, and the shower had apparently been 'missed' during housecleaning since there was hair in the drain and the shampoo bottle was watered down, and there was only two sets of towels for our party of 4. (On a separate note the shampoo and conditioner were horrible- the lotion was also lousy)

We called about the shower and towel situation and it was resolved as we left the room for lunch. House keeping service folks were extremely pleasant and very polite.

After 2 nights of insufficient sleep due to the 'boom boom boom' of the club 'Liv' down below they credited us for 1/2 of the room on the second night and we checked out early. (We went to the Four Seasons, which we know from the past is reliable) We were on the 10th floor but it was not far enough away from the noise! When we called at 4 a.m. to the desk they told us it wouldn't be much longer since the club closed at 5 a.m. We understand that they could not control the noise BUT we should have been warned about the excessive noise when the reservations were made.

We checked out by noon and later that day my friend realized that she had left her boots in the room. We called the hotel, were switched to lost and found, talked to a person who said they hadn't been tuned in and waited for a return call. Nothing. It is 2 days later and those boots have still not been located.

Also- One person in our party felt that Blade, the sushi bar, had less some less than fresh fish, the chef lacked creativity when asked for sushi outside the ordering menu, and was not overall impressed with it.

For a very expensive suite (which other than our complaints was beautiful) there were too many disappointments. The halls were clean, the staff very pleasant, the decor nice (although trash baskets and clocks would have been great), but between the noise and the bathroom issue we would not choose to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnastasiaDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

It is a nice hotel. $1 billion bucks -- Retro styling, super grand foyer, and nice touches that represent that old rat-pack time las vegas high end hotel/ casino. Beds are comfy -- sheets are AWESOME.

The service is unbelievable disorganized. The breakfast line had 30 people waiting. Took me about 20 minutes to get a table. When I was finally seated, I look around and there were easily 30 seats at tables available. The problem? The table were not bussed (80%) or for some reason, simply not seated (20%).

The valets were clueless. The line to park the vehicle was insane. The organization to pull the vehicle up -- long. The line to check in -- long. (I think you get the point).

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broncmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

1)Check in area about 1km from our room.
2)Suite advertised as having a "queen sofa sleeper", that wasn't wide enough to be a full.
3)Requested rollaway for my other teen (did not fit on the sofa sleeper, see #2), and it took 6 calls and 1 hour and 45 minutes to arrive. Call#5 and #6 were the nasty type, and still, 15 mins apart.
4)Moldy shower (eeekkkk!!!)
5)Two burned out lightbulbs, never fixed.
6)Dirty carpet, not vaccumed (found a manual carpet sweeper in the closet, and then it made sense!!! They DO NOT vaccum).
7)No coffee maker in room.
8)30 mins to retrieve car fom valet, and no option of calling ahead from the room. So had to wait in the cold!
9)No glasses in bedroom, never arrived.
10) Nice double burner, in kitchennette area, however, no pots or pans, no silverware.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martaplaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Our experience at the Fontainebleau was miserable. The hotel is fairly expensive - we paid over $500 a night for a standard king room without a view. However, for the price, you receive no more in the way of amenities than you would at a limited-service hotel like a Courtyard or a Hampton Inn. Our problem was not with the room - it was small but clean and well-designed (except the bathroom, which was tiny and wouldn't even fit two people). The problem was the poor service and the blatant money-grab that began as soon as we set foot in the hotel. The pool area was a joke - unless you wanted to rent a ridiculous and overpriced cabana (who needs a flat-screen TV at the beach), you had to settle for a chair on a tiny sliver of grass, packed next to each other with absolutely no space in between. All of the space near the pool was taken up by the totally empty cabanas. I visited over a holiday weekend and despite the hotel being busy, maybe one or two of the dozens of cabanas were rented. The 18% gratuity included on everything was infuriating considering the shoddy service we received (one poolside waitress being an exception). No complimentary bottles of water are provided in the room, the only water available in the entire hotel costs $6 (plus gratuity) for 12oz. The mini-bar even charges you automatically if you move any of the items of a sensor for more than 15 seconds (whether or not you eat them - luckily, our bellman warned us). Our much-hyped in-room computer didn't work properly. We had several meals at the hotel which were quite good, and the Bleau bar was a nice spot, but anyone can visit and enjoy these without staying at the hotel. We ended up leaving the hotel and taking a day trip during our last day there because the poor service and pool area made the hotel unenjoyable. We are happy to spend money for a luxurious experience, but this hotel did not come close to providing that.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mp812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,756 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#44 of 214 in Miami Beach
7,249 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#67 of 214 in Miami Beach
5,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#87 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,532 reviews
Nobu Hotel Miami Beach
#2 of 214 in Miami Beach
374 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#17 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: €267 - €723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing