We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring plenty of $50 bills or go elsewhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #44 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Bring plenty of $50 bills or go elsewhere!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Good: The rooms was well appointed, the pool area nice (but well overcrowded), the food great and the location perfect.

The Bad: 1. Asked to upgrade to a room with a balcony and a view of the ocean at check in and we agreed. The room had a view of a very roof and only if you leaned off the balcony at a dangerous angle could you see the ocean. On top of that, the room was in the Versailles building, meaning it was a long walk from the restaurants, the pools, the beach - everything basically. 2. Pool was SO crowded, only way to get close to one of the pools was to give a very gnerous tip to the pool boys a day before for a chair. Beds, round beds and cabanas all charged (upward of $200 a day!) Like I said, the rich rule here. 3. the music at the pool areas were so loud you were better off at the beach anyway. 4. Pool closed at 4 pm on a Saturday and 4 pm on a Sunday for concerts. Really guys? I paid money to be kicked out by people who paid more money for the shows? 5. One pool had private parties ($$$) that prevented you for gaining quick access to the way back to the main building. More shlepping.

The bad: The beach was great BUT: 1. More money greasing hands. No (free) loungers closest to the ocean, oh no, those are reserved for cabanas ($36) a day, and beds ($244 a day); we peons were shoved to the back. On top of that a manaatory service charge of 30% -- really downright thiefery 2. Umbrellas are $24.50 a day and don't leave your chair to go to lunch, they will give away your chairs and recharge your umbrella to another. 3. Everywhere you go, they cater to those that give large tips making you feel as if you should have gone somewhere that they appreciated your business. 4. At check in, we informed them that we needed late check out. Told it was no problem and to tell them again day of check out. When we did tell them, told us it was not possible because they were to full capacity. A bitter end to a bitter stay.

Room Tip: Main building -oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drlearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
We appreciate your detailed feedback and are sincerely disappointed to learn of the dissatisfaction with your recent stay at Fontainebleau. I am pleased to hear that our team was able to accommodate you with a complimentary room upgrade. Although we do offer several day bed and cabana rental options for our guests, we have several complimentary lounging options throughout the property including our main pool, ocean lawns, beach, and Tresor & Sorrento tower pools. We certainly value you as a guest and look forward to the opportunity to impress you during a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,679
    2,505
    1,185
    669
    670
See reviews for
2,968
3,054
344
2,181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The room was great, the ac worked silently, the shower had pressure and hot water, when the curtains were drawn it was complete darkness! We were comfortable sleeping. . . but that must be a given when we pay 500 dollars per night, right? Well, the reason I am giving this hotel ONE STAR RATING IS BECAUSE OF THEIR SERVICE! I still can NOT believe how rude, obnoxious, and incredibly NOT CARING the personnel of this hotel were to us! I was there with my sister celebrating her birthday and her gifts, prior credit card orders, paid arrangements for two bottles of Champagne & Chocolate covered strawberries, NEEDED TO "BE BEGGED FOR" TO BE DELIVERED BY THE KITCHEN STAFF(apparently they wanted to keep her champagne bottles, and strawberries for themselves). It was frustrating to deal with untrained personnel, and we were literally upset over their lack of concern & understanding for something so mundane as delivering GIFTS! BE AWARE OF TREATING ANYONE SPECIAL @the FontainBlue Hotel. Their service personnel is in dire need of help themselves! Stay somewhere else in South Beach: The RITZ, LOWES HOTELS, and/orTHE BETSY on Ocean Drive are excellent choices for outstanding costumer service with a comfortable room!

Room Tip: Pool view is the best view here! We had partial ocean view, & it was lame!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lucianaflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you again for being our guest and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, as your comments are extremely important to us. Our entire team works very hard to ensure our guests are well taken care of, and we are sorry if we were unable to provide you with an exceptional experience. As we discussed, please reach out to Hotel Management directly in the future to ensure a smooth and unforgettable experience. We are confident that we can change your mind about Fontainebleau and impress you next time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I just returned from the property tonight. I stayed in the one bedroom Sorrento Suite (pool/ocean views with wrap around balcony) FANTASIC!!!! couldn't say enough about this room. The Sorrento tower is the absolute best.

For the most part, employees were extremely helpful, resort was spotless, they offer fruit flavored water at the pool which is wonderful!

This hotel is chic luxury 5 star 100%. If you are looking for this type of luxury, this hotel is probably for you. Definitely mostly a younger crowd. I noticed a decent amount of couples, a-lot of partiers. (I did go to Miami for Winter Music Conference, so I don't know if its always a-lot of partiers.) The hotel does get noisy at times with music. if you are a light sleeper and want to stay here, i would request as far away from the noise as possible, but if you don't mind it, it is awesome to listen to from your balcony!

Restaurant Tips: I experienced 'Vida' a few times during my stay. The only time I felt the service/food was worth it, was when Darryl was our server. He truly made our dinner pleasant, (very attentive, constantly filling drinks, listened really well) as for the other servers, they were so/so. Ask for Darryl, you won't be dissapointed.

La Cote, I experienced a few times as well. The food is way over priced for what it is worth ($18.00 kids chicken fingers) Only things I enjoyed there were the Burger, and the Fusilli alla Caprese. I couldn't say enough wonderful things about that pasta! However, the servers were rude every time we ate there.

I know they have a steakhouse, Italian, and sushi restaurant as well, but I didnt' experience those.

Room tip: Not all rooms have balconies, the ocean view is completely worth the extra money

*MAC computers are in every room they have (even standard rooms)

*They do charge a 16.00 resort fee for things such as: newspaper, free wi-fi etc.

*This hotel is located on Miami Beach, technically not South Beach. It is approx. a $20.00 cab ride one way into South Beach, give or take a few dollars depending on how far down Sobeach or traffic, but its worth it to stay here.

*Beach was rocky, and had lots of seaweed. (as does most of South Beach). I am a beach person, but I didn't leave the pools, the pool area is just incredible.

My favorite hotel by far. Wouldn't stay anywhere else when i travel to Miami. Absolute best out there!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
I am excited to hear about your AMAZING experience with us! Thank you for your gracious compliments regarding your room accommodations and spotless property. Most importantly, we appreciate your kind words regarding our helpful service level. Our 2,200 employees go above and beyond every day to exceed our guests expectations. We truly appreciate your recognition and recommendation. Darryl will certainly be acknowledged. We await your return to Miami, hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The Good - Staff (friendly and lots of them), Beach (amazing), Music (awesome)

The Bad - Wireless internet in the Tresor unusable, Freezer in one bedroom suite stopped working, Elevator had a 20 min wait on the Sunday

The Ugly - Child cut her foot on glass in the hot tub

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Deadmau5er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
It was a pleasure speaking to you about your experience and getting more detailed feedback. I appreciate your recognition of our staff and the excellent service they provided. I was glad to hear they were able to fix your challenges in a timely manner and turn your experience around. As mentioned, we will definitely use the feedback provided to continue improving our offerings throughout Fontainebleau. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Went for one week over the Christmas Holidays with my family. Hotel and rooms are absolutely beautiful. Although Front Desk, staff and service in general were very cold. Beach and pool areas are over crowded. On the beach we felt like Pingouins in the Artic. One person on top of the next. Around the pool there is limited sun due to the sourounding high rise buildings and the best spots are reserved in advance for the big tipers. My biggest stress everyday was trying to find chairs around the pool in a sunny location for my family. There was lots of young couples renting big beds around the pool. One couple was going at it in front of my kids like there was no one around. This seemed to be acceptable by the hotel staff and we finally had to change places. Furthermore there is nothing to do in terms of entertainement for the kids. I spent a fortune on this trip and based on the overall experience, I really regreted it. This is a place that you frequent for the disco, restaurants, or just for people watching, but definitely not to stay with a family for an entire week.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time provide us with this feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our beautiful property and room accommodations. Rest assured that we will use your comments as constructive criticism to continue improving our service levels for future guests. Our goal is to exceed your expectations, and I will certainly review your comments with our Team Members. In the future, we do have alternate pool choices located in the Sorrento & Tresor towers. These pools tend to be more quiet and private for our guests to relax. Fontainebleau also offers many wonderful amenities for your children including The FB Kids' Camp and babysitting services. Here, children have the opportunity to play games, enjoy arts & crafts and participate in outdoor activities. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#65 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,181 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#11 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,398 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#58 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,942 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Property: Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing