We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Indifferent Staff, Average Service, Clean & Nice Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
Ranked #41 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2017

This is not my first visit to the Delano yet something in the last few years has certainly been lost. I'll comment by category:

Concierge/Front Desk: Poor
1. I had to contact the concierge two times prior to my visit to get some basic information about a fight (Mayweather vs McGregor) related event at the hotel during my stay. Never got the information I needed.
2. When I arrived I spoke with two separate concierge folks (one guy, one woman) - neither follow-ed up with me.
3. Finally after asking the concierge to get a manager I received answers, yet they were not accurate when I showed up for the event. It was all sorted out eventually but not without to much effort.
4. Front desk during check-in was nice and welcoming, yet miscommunicated some info that caused an issue at check-out.
5. Front desk during check-out was average at best, very defensive over the ask for a removal of a $40 charge. They corrected it yet were very defensive and irrational given the amount of the total bill.

Room: Good, as expected
1. Room was clean and well stocked

Restaurent: (Leynia) Pleasantly Surprised
1. Service was excellent, all waitstaff
2. Manager was excellent
2. Food and drinks were very good
3. Seating was nice and open (we sat outside for 3 meals during our stay)

Pool: Nice Pool & Pool Staff, Poor Bar Experience
1. Pool & Pool Staff: was very nice as expected. We did not get to enjoy as much as we would have liked due to rain, however the pool staff was very welcoming and helpful.
2. Pool Bar: it was a standard pool bar, but nicely positioned.
3. Pool Bartender (woman) was clearly expecting us to close the tab after only the first round (because she was about to get off duty in 15 minutes). *I get it you want your tips bit this is supposedly a nice hotel and experience and that is unprofessional. I was a waiter/bartender once too. Don't do this (or ask) unless you have been waiting on the folks for a while. Not one order 15 minutes before you get off.

Spa: (Agua) Great service
1. The facilities are average at best. Lockers are small, only two showers and an steam room.
2. Towels and robes are nice.
3. Staff was very welcoming and attentive.
4. Massage staff was excellent and professional.

Bell Staff: Good
1. They were friendly and helpful as you would expect.
2. They seemed to work really hard and fast - mush appreciated.

Room Tip: We had an Ocean View on 12th Floor. I'd recommend that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SParkerJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 88 of 2,774 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

From check in to check out every staff member was friendly and accommodating. We requested early check in and it was provided with no problems.

The room was standard but clean and comfortable. Nothing special but it was fine.

Because of rain we spent most days at the pool bar. Jeremy, Katie and Nina were amazing. They made the rain bearable by treating us like friends while we spent the days at the bar. They kept the socializing and fun going despite the weather. Additionally, the pool attendants were quick to set up the loungers during breaks in the rain.

Scarlett and Raymond at the beach were extremely attentive and made sure we were comfortable. Raymond was great and checked in on us regularly to see if we needed anything.

Front desk always greeted us when we walked by.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank djamespapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

What an awesome visit to this exquisite Sunday Brunch experience. Handsome Jose was attentive and satisfied our thirst with the Mimosa and Bloody Mary cocktails. The food was above our expectations. The variety was "WOW"!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tammy651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

The pool has recently been rated at the tippy top of USA Today's list, so now you need to go! The device is amazing and Soledad is a real star. Grab a cabana and she will take care of you, along with her amazing staff, all day. Stay until sunset and enjoy everything the Delano has to offer. I'll be back...often.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Peta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Everything about our stay was 5 stars. From the valet to the security. Each member of this staff was excellent and accommodating. Concierge and front desk was super helpful and friendly. We were surprised to see a bottle of Veuve sent up for a nice hospitable touch! Delphine and her Sunday brunch staff have to be hand selected from the best. The night manager Arnaud recomended the Goucho Steak for our dinner and it was most impressive. Even Shane the busser was super friendly and helpful. Never forget how important this job is! The overall design and furnishings were amazing to boot. We will definitely be back and recommended this hotel to anyone looking for a truly memorable experience. Thank You!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
SLS South Beach
#43 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,266 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,738 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#48 of 212 in Miami Beach
7,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#44 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,557 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#11 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,730 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#54 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: €276 - €919 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing