We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many better options than the overpriced Delano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
Ranked #46 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2005

I travel a lot, so maybe it's hard to impress me. Certainly the Delano is a great hotel but there are better options in Miami, As with all the Ian Schrager hotels, the lobby and common areas are designed to impress, But not necessarily the rooms.

Every Schrager hotel I've stayed at has tiny rooms. Maybe it's just that I'm spending $450 a night, instead of dropping $1000 for one of his better rooms. The value is just not there.

Miami has a wide array of hotel options. Go to the Delano for drinks or dinner and enjoy the common areas. Skip the hotel stay. You can find rooms at a fraction of the price that are twice the size and a much better value

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
34  Thank gregjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,930 - 1,934 of 2,803 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2005

My wife and I had a great long weekend at the Delano. It blends classic South Beach style with modern service and excitement. The restaurants are great, and the athletic club is awesome. We spent most of our time at the pool (yes, my wife and many other women there were topless) and the beach. Great service from the bar at both the beach and the pool.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SoBe_Regular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2005

Spent an evening at the Rose bar at the Delano Hotel South Beach. Designed by Phillip Stark and full of beautiful people it gives you the full Miami glamour factor. Not so well known by visitors as the front of the hotel gives nothing away, the bar and restaurant plays host to Miami's hippest crowd. Definately worth visiting for a drink as well as the bars at the Shore Club, The Wish Bar and Spire Bar at the Hotel of South beach and the bar at the Sagamore Hotel. Drinks may be pricey in all of these places but for the true South Beach experience well worth it. Don't forget your glad rags!!!

5  Thank Joleenlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2005

We had a four night stay mini honey-moon and arrived on Labor day. Although, I was happy that the crowds had left, it turned out to be not as cool an ambience with just us there. Not to say the decor did'nt do it's part, it was everything we hoped for. The pool was heaven, and there was a party on Tues nite. As one other reviewer stated, the staff could have been more attentive, when we asked the gentleman at the front desk if the pool party scene happened every nite, it appeared as if we had awakend him from an upright slumber and he mumbled a half "yeah" and then shrugged.?? So, I guess we were'nt as lucky as that other reviewer who was directed to all the hot spots. For the most part they were polite and did provide service. My new husband was less that thrilled with the slightly "cold" rooms although they did look nice, I personally would have welcomed at least a floor mat next to the bed to cusion the hard concrete floor. We did the spa and it was wonderful, used the fitness facilities but were told that the business center was being remodeled and no internet was available to guests so we had to go to a cyber cafe. In all it was very relaxing and beautiful which we really appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank KooKoo4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
19
Reviewed 14 September 2005

Starting with the negative, the rooms are small and sparsly decoracted. Although this is neat and trendy looking (all white decor and furnishings) it lacks in functionality, with beds that aren't up to 5 star luxury standards, a small TV with no pay-per-view and a tiny bathroom with minimal toiletries (not name brand, combination "shampoo/conditioner").

Having said that, you don't stay at the Delano to hang out in your room. The public areas are frankly stunning. The lobby is comfortable (with couches and sitting areas) during the day, and turns into a rocking club at night. The pool area is even better - comfortable chairs, not too large, and a great looking crowd. Finally, the beach in front of the hotel is very nice, and the hotel provides padded chairs and towels on the beach.

The most pleasant surprise of my stay was the friendliness of the staff. I was expecting a NY boutique hotel "I'm cooler than you becaus I work here" attitude, and ended up experiencing no bad attitudes at all, and in fact unusually friendly service.

All in all, this is a great hotel for younger luxury travelers!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
SLS South Beach
#36 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,314 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#43 of 214 in Miami Beach
7,273 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,655 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#11 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,765 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#49 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: €254 - €964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing