We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Sad when an Icon fades” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delano South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
Ranked #41 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sad when an Icon fades”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Recently my husband and I had dinner at the Bianca Restaurant in the Delano with 7 customers of ours. The wait-staff were great. I wish I could say the same for the food. My husband's $48 pasta dish was cold on arrival. Not wanting to make a scene in front of our customers, he said nothing.
We went for drinks at the bar after dinner where the bar tender was very rude. He told my husband we'd have to wait for drinks because there were 6 people ahead of us, then promptly served people who'd arrived after our party. We were never served so we went to the pool bar.
To top off our experience, Valet lost my car! I waited for an hour for them to find my car! They had the gall to still charge $25 for parking!
In a town known for poor customer service, the Delano unfortunately sets a very low mark.
Visually, the facility is beautiful but seems 90ish. Top off the dated ambiance with poor, rude service and the Delano now becomes a place that is best fondly remembered as it was in it's heyday.

Room Tip: Choose a modern hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,360
    548
    222
    144
    117
See reviews for
248
969
129
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Let me put this into context, all white with super slick decor is very Miami but also feels a bit dated now. The rooms are tiny and not really very practical, they are too sleek and I think the newer Mondrian looks a bit more to my taste. The entrance is stunning, the building is lovely and the location is ideal, walking distance from most things in SoBe and right on the beach. Where the hotel scores highly is the pool area which is picture postcard stuff with a gorgeous lukewarm infinity pool and plenty of staff to keep you fed and watered. Most of the staff are good, especially the bell guys who are a scream but getting served at the restaurant was a challenge and the Rose Bar was dead probably because they've now opened the Florida Room. A real shame as it used to be one of my favourite places in South Beach. In terms of value it isn't great, you're paying a premium for the style and the hipness but there are newer and hipper venues in Miami now. Don't get me wrong I do like it but I just don't love it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0el_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This was my 3rd time ad Delano, this time I Went as a couple, and it was incredible. Love the atmosphere, the food, the staff are AMAZING... the concierge got us into all the best restaurants for dinner, as well as a table at LIV club, all last minut, thank you Willy!!! and the room was a perfect hang over place to be. huge, comfortable, trendy... the bathtub can fit all the friends you have! .....Big thanks too Soledad and Carlos as well!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Feedmemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This is my kind of place !
Clean
Stylish
Cool
Atmosphere
Great Service
and much more...The restaurant very good -- of the breakfast, lunch and dinner we had the lunch was our most preferred. And the highlight was just sitting around the pool and lounging the day away, stealing off to the beach for a walk and just generally relaxing.
Who loves design can't miss it!
I'm always back when I'm in Miami

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa_Rotschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I have been a frequent traveler to Miami and the Delano is fading a bit. Certainly the room service quality and restaurant quality is declining. They seem to be focusing on new decor in the restaurant and not food quality. Room Service kept bringing the wrong items. Service is not attentive or focused. There seems to be inconsistency with who is serving and no evidence of a team. The Concierge team seems to be less than adequate falling from a very lofty team on previous visits. I hope attitude doesn't trump good service...which in this case I mean warm and inviting.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiTraveler33139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#27 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,528 reviews
SLS South Beach
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#43 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#34 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Property: Delano South Beach Hotel
Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing