We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grusomt hotell, bare bedrageri”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suites at Congress Ocean Drive
Ranked #156 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 16 October 2017

A terrible accommodation, with sour and bad receptionists.The accommodation is a lie and deception.
It smells extremely bad in the hallways. The rooms smell a lot of mold and something else that can not be described. You are afraid not to wake up to life the following day!
We were going to have room with a view and the view was right into the brick walls and trash cans. The sliding door could not be locked. There were big nasty stains on the floor, and everything in the kitchen was seedy and disgusting. We tried and changed rooms, but it turned out that all rooms and times smelled as bad and disgusting. We talked to someone who was in a room across the hall. They had been buying buckets and cloths and washed the room !!
Cleaning of rooms is not included and costs expensive. So you might think that many nights stay for several days, and then comes the welfare and will clean for an hour. It is easy to imagine that it will not be clean. But even if things are dirty, the smell is the worst. You must hold your breath when you walk in the hallway to the room. and inside the room there is another smell, which is mold and other. It was even better to turn off the air conditioning ....
We brought three children to this place and they cried and were afraid to be on the spot !!

Room Tip: go to another place!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

I scheduled this trip back in June, they charged my credit card $700 the same day i made the reservations. Unfortunately, i wasn't able to make it due to the Hurricane in September. I called to get a refund and got a very unprofessional young lady named Samantha. I asked to speak with the manager and she said he was not available and wasn't sure when he'd be back to keep trying my luck until i was able to reach him. After days and multiple attempts to get a hold of someone i called the website i booked the hotel thru and they were able to connect me with someone in the hotel. They granted my refund and said it would take 17 days for it to go back into my account. here i am over 30 days later, ive called the hotel over 20 times in the past week and i still have not heard back from anyone. CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS!!! STAFF SUCKS!!!

I had to dispute my charge thru my Bank because Congress would not return my calls or Money...Horrible just Horrible customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Stayed for 5 nights over Labour Day weekend. Great location opposite the Beach and in the middle of the restaurant Strip. Had a room at the rear of the property and still had a small water view. Worried about noise but it was not a problem. The suite was OK a, quite spacious but there were some maintenance issues. Poorly repaired dry wall, sliding doors to bathroom that would not shut etc. Big let down was the roof top pool. It was so hot it was not pleasant getting into it. The view from the rooftop pool/bar was exceptional. Had a strange habit of taking in the shade umbrellas in the afternoon leaving you there to sit in the sun for a couple of hours. Also ran out of towels for use on the beach/pool area one day. Some of the staff were friendly , sometimes we were ignored by reception staff while they finished their mobile phone conversations. We arrived very early on the first day from a cruise and were able to get in the room by 1100 am. Overall I love the location . The hotel was OK and certainly good value for that area. May stay there again or we may see what some of the other hotels are like in future

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Firemw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Don't know where to start really. Check in was 4.00pm and we arrived at 2.30pm, we were told to come back in 1 hour which we did and found the receptionist had changed and we were now being dealt with by some gobby girl who couldn't find our booking at all. After I persona;lly searched thought the booking cards she made contact with the bellman (ha) and we were shown to our room.

We were allocated a front facing Ocean Drive room in the old building of the hotel. Wow you may think an ocean facing room well that's where the wow ends. The room was in terrible condition, threadbare carpets, leaking A/C, mold in the sink, the bathroom was awful, no cleaning under the rim of the sink, black mold everywhere just awful.

We had booked the room for four people with two people to share the bed in the bedroom and two people to share the sofa bed in the living area trouble was the only bedding we were given for sofa bed was one blanket and no sheets. Thank god we were only staying for one night.

And the final insult was the noise coming from the bar next door. Fair enough you might say what do you expect you are on Ocean Drive? Well I expect to be able to close the windows, turn up the TV and drop off to sleep, no chance at this place as the windows did not shut, boom boom boom til 3.00am. (see pictures).

We booked this place well in advance and at the time of booking the reviews were quite good but as you can see the reviews have taken a serious nosedive so maybe a lesson learned about booking so far ahead. The also have the cheek to charge you $15.50 pp resort fee and $15 service charge for god knows what and then have no beach towels available to use.


So do yourself a favour and stay well away from this place. Shame really as the roof top over looking Ocean Drive and the beach is quite nice.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank EllsBells14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Based on all the negative feedback given on this hotel the last months, I was extremely skeptical before arriving (I booked the hotel almost a year ago, and don't believe there were that much negative reviews on the hotel back then).
But to us, everything was great (mostly).
We arrived an hour early, but the room (D303) was ready for us.
Naturally, based on several reviews here complaining about filthy rooms, cockroaches, etc., the very first thing I did was turn on the flashlight on my cell and inspect the room. To my pleasant surprise it was 100% clean.
Furthermore I checked all appliances - besides a little bit loose light switch, and a table that was a bit wobbly (@Congress, you may want to check these), everything worked fine (I didn't check the oven). The full size fridge is a perfect feature for families wanting to stock on water, orange juice, snacks, biscuits, fruits, etc.
The TV (and remote) worked perfectly.
The A/C also worked great, and the steady humming from it drowned out most of the noises from the restaurant below - which of course was audible but pretty expected when you book a hotel with an Ocean Drive address...
There were only a single 'milk glass' (but 5-6 shot glasses...) in the cupboard, I asked for one more from the reception but I never received one. No big deal.
The bathroom was clean, and the shower with the rainfall shower head was working and nice.
Wifi worked great, they even have a 5Ghz connection which was useful when video conferencing with my wife back home.
After unpacking we picked up a couple of towels from the reception, and headed up to the rooftop pool.
This was on a Sunday, and there was a small 'crowd' of happy people drinking at the bar and around the pool.
Now, here I can imagine that on Fridays and Saturdays, things can get a bit 'busy'. Even on this Sunday I witnessed several people jumping into the pool with drinks in their hands and wearing flip-flops and t-shirts. All in good spirits, everyone was happy, but from a health perspective maybe the hotel should have a pool master on duty on busy party days making sure the pool stays clean.
The rest of the week (Mon-Thu), when we were up there, all was good and we enjoyed the pool and the lounges.
Next day we picked up towels and a few good tips from the receptionist regarding which part of the beach we should go for, and a big thank you to her for this. We chose the beach across the road for News Cafe which was nice and shallow.
One of the afternoons, when we wanted to end the day by the rooftop pool, the reception had run out of towels which was a bit unfortunate. Maybe you should stock up on towels... ;-)
Checkout was problem free, and I see now that they have charged my credit card exactly what I expected in extra charges - $15.50 per night for me, $20 for sharing the room with my son.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing Ocean Drive (if they exist) will be more quiet, I suppose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank grenness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#72 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,377 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#89 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,825 reviews
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#115 of 212 in Miami Beach
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#75 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,611 reviews
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#97 of 212 in Miami Beach
832 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites at Congress Ocean Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Congress Ocean Drive

Address: 1052 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5014 (Formerly Congress Hotel South Beach/The Strand)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: €143 - €343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suites at Congress Ocean Drive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the South Beach lifestyle at our hotel in Miami Beach, Florida. Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco Historic District on Ocean Drive, we offer spacious, stylish suites with all the amenities of home. With stellar views of the ocean and the bustling action of Ocean Drive, our beachfront hotel is exactly what you need for your stay in Miami. Because we are located right on the beach, fun in the sun is literally at your doorstep. Stake out your spot in the sand and enjoy the signature Florida sunshine. With the average temperatures in the 70s and 80s, you can enjoy the beach and the sun almost all year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suites at Congress Ocean Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing