We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
3
4
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
4
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Perfect 2 bedroom/bathroom condo right across from the park and beach with a direct, and i mean direct view of the ocean/beach and morning sunrise. Renting suite 5d was very easy and Steve took great care of us on our arrival. Parking is available but we did not need it. 2 sets of keys and fobs were also available. nice little pool that is sunny most of the day and a small gym for basic workouts. master bed is a big size with direct access to walk in closets and ensuite bathroom. Room also has access to the terrace. 2nd bedroom does not have a window and has a bathroom across the hall. All rooms have great tv's and av equipment. Kitchen is fully stocked and we cooked bfast everyday. Lots of appliances too-feels like home but with a great view! Washer and dryer in the suite which was handy as we worked out everyday. Publix was a 15 minute walk away for food and booze along 5th street at Alton road. Condo very well located. All in, good value and great location with good hosts. people very friendly in the building. We'll be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smallhanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We selected unit 5D for a 5 week stay because of the location and great photos (which were accurate).

We noted a strong dog smell when we first arrived (and mentioned it) but assumed it would go away.

The back bedroom and sofa bed were infested with fleas. They did not come with us as I have asthma and we have NO pets. Flea pupae can lay dormant for 170 days and spray doesn't kill pupae. The condo manager acknowledged this. See fleas, 4th paragraph: http://www.cdc.gov/nceh/publications

We have photos to prove our bites. We collected glasses of water filled with fleas that the local custodian saw. We moved out for 3 nights and 4 days to give the managers a chance to clean and spray, to get rid of the dog smell,and to remove the sofa bed, rugs, and blankets that had fleas. We spent all day washing our clothes at the laundry (which we had not done since we were at university) and vacuumed the floors. Then the exterminator came and after looking at the fleas we had collected, decided the infestation was worse than he thought. He said he would have to wear a mask to spray as a result.

The managers offered to put the four of us in a single hotel room for one night. With an infant who goes to bed at 6 p.m. and takes naps, this was not an option. Besides we were out of the infested condo for three nights not one.

We returned, already suspiciously checking our legs and concerned for our grandson about the amount of insecticide. However,the fleas jumped on us again. We would have preferred to stay where we were; we did not want to deal with moving clothes and food during our holiday.

We contacted the owners and said we were moving out, but they refused to help us find another place in the same condo building, saying that none was available. In fact, several were available. We had to pay MORE for the 2nd condo and have the documentation to prove it. The 2nd condo did not have fleas nor did any show up during our three weeks there. It is in the 2nd building, facing Collins. It has been GREAT and their customer service has been outstanding.

We have disputed the credit card charge for the weeks we had to move out. The owners have yet to call or apologize for this amazing inconvenience. We were also told by several people in the building complex that this same unit had a problem in March and had to be sprayed. Another person told us that "dogs were in there all the time." The contract allows for dogs at the discretion of the owner.

If you had a minus star, I would give it that. If you stay here make sure you have a clause in the lease about fleas and CHECK the unit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elleg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrans, Manager at Ocean Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

As another reviewer noted, this is a private condo building and not a hotel. Some individual owners rent their condos on their own, as was the case with this unit. Other units are managed by vacation rental companies and more than one vacation rental company operates in the building. The reviews on Tripadvisor are reviews of individual units rented by owners and units rented by vacation rental companies so be sure you ask who manages the unit you are booking, they are all not the same! As an example, our company does not permit pets so there wont ever be a flea infestation in the units we manage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We have stayed at Ocean Place for the past 2 years. The 2 bedroom unit we rent is clean and has an excellent view of the ocean. The owners are very nice and accommodating and make us feel like family. There is private parking with a rear entrance and a security guard at the front desk. Just a short walk away from the strip and no rental car is needed. We stay in unit 5-D and highly recommend staying there. We will be there again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Generally speaking we enjoyed the condo & location. There are 2 different buildings - one on Collins and the other on Ocean. All the ocean facing condos on Ocean Drive will have amazing unobstructed views of the water. We were in the condo on Collins Ave behind the aforementioned building with unobstructed views. So, while our building did have water views - they were limited by the building in front of us and I'd suggest you clarify which building you'll be located in. Our condo (8KL) was a 3BR 2.5Bath which beautiful furnishings, everything you need in the kitchen and it was very clean. Location to the beach is awesome, just a quick 2 blocks. Walking to the party areas are easy and if you like Nikki Beach Club and Joe's Stone Crab - then this is the perfect location for you! In fact, there are many great places to eat in a 1-2 block radius of this condo. Pool is on the smaller size (in the other building so you have to cross the alley) but it was super clean and quiet. I would definately recommend this condo but probably would have preferred the unobstructed ocean view as we like to sit on the balcony in the evening with a glass of wine and gaze at the water.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Longhini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Cleaning is a MUST that needs to be improved, dirty floors they were black, bathrooms and furniture were dirty with spills. I personally had to clean them myself because the bathrooms were so dirty it gross me out. Only one elevator was working, water was out for the whole morning one day until after lunch time. Great location away from the craziness, ideal location for family with children and is really close to the shopping/restaurant area. MAKE SURE you verify that it is ocean view and ask for current pictures because the condition of the place from the pictures was deceiving from what we actually saw.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Medallo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews