We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropics Hotel & Hostel
Reviewed 9 August 2017

I stayed for 5 nights at this hotel and since the begining I knew it was not a luxurious over the top property.
This hotel is for you if you are the kind of person that prefers to spend your money on other things rather than in accommodation.
It is a 2 stars but did the job for me! Room was comfy, clean and very good size. Of course it looks like they need a renovation , but for me it was a great value for money.
Great swimming pool area, with comunal kitchen and fridges. Pool is large and three feet deep.
AC in the room is great so was the free wifi they provide!
Just a short walk to the beach right next to Lincoln Rd....location it is the best thing probably.
Only dislikes: carpeted room and no toiletries apart from a tiny soap bar.
Good points: no rip offs resort fees, location, location, loctaion....

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LABN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2017

I traveled with a friend and we got a private room. The room was very basic, but it had everything we needed - two single beds, a walk-in closet with a safe and a private bathroom. Towels were provided along with all-in-one soap/shampoo/conditioner - we brought our own toiletries, so it didn't matter.

If you need a hair dryer, you need to ask for one at the front desk. On our first day, they ran out of hair dryers, but the next day, one of the staff members was so nice that he lent us his personal one.

The location is very convenient - a 3 minute walk to the beach and a 5 minute walk to all the main street, Lincoln Road and a 10 minute walk to nightlife central, Ocean Drive. Public and tour bus stops are also only a few minutes away.

Thank you to staff members Taye, Jonathan and Mathias for being very helpful welcoming!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

It's a great location and convenient. For Miami S.Beach it was a great deal. The room was extremely basic no fridge and no individual AC control. It was clean. The pool was refreshing. Don't expect anything fancy staying here. It was remodeled but is still very basic. The bed was firm but comfy if thats what you want.

Room Tip: if you want privacy get the hotel room not a hostel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skilledeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

The hotel staff were very friendly and obliging. They seemed eager to help in any way needed. Shared kitchen was generally kept clean by other guests. We had a private room that was clean and simple. Wiykd

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

We stayed there for 5 nights last summer. The location is very good it is really close to the beach and also to the center. Hotel has own swimmingpool and also small kitchen on the backyard. They clean everyday and it is really tidy. Sometimes during the night there was a noise and the whole room is little bis older. The lobby looks good but then the rooms have old furniture but it is okay.

Room Tip: View on the swimmingpool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maggienka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
HI - Miami Beach
HI - Miami Beach
#27 of 89 in Miami Beach
168 reviews
Posh South Beach Hostel
#2 of 89 in Miami Beach
611 reviews
Rock Hostel
#3 of 89 in Miami Beach
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Freehand Miami
#7 of 89 in Miami Beach
994 reviews
City Center
Beds & Drinks
Beds & Drinks
#19 of 89 in Miami Beach
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropics Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Address: 1550 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3111
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range: €54 - €205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropics Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of the South Beach Art-Deco- and Nightlife-District, just a few steps from the sandy beach. The Miami Beach Convention Center is in walking distance. Easy to get here from Miami Airport, the express bus #150 stops at the corner. There are 2 different kind of rooms: regular hotel rooms, and shared dormitory-style rooms. Very popular for travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tropics Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropics Hotel And Hostel
Tropics Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing