We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calvin with Art Deco Walking Tour is a delight.”
Review of Art Deco Tours

Art Deco Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.00*
and up
Art Deco Walking Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take the #1 walking tour in South Beach with the most popular tour guides in the district. Art Deco Tours, Inc.will enlighten and entertain you with fascinating facts and stories. Two hours will fly by fast. Stroll along Ocean Drive and learn about the history, the unlikely hero who saved the Art Deco buildings, the role of Hollywood and the mob. You'll learn and admire the architecture from the outside and design & decor on the inside. You will become experts in Art Deco by the end of the tour! Daily small group tours (max 8-9 people) are offered several times a day, for that personal engagement and VIP access to select buildings not permitted to large groups. Enrich your visit and learn about the culture, history and architecture of South Beach beyond the beaches! Price starts at $30 per person. Private tours also available any day or time. We also offer LITTLE HAVANA TOURS. Be sure to click the link for our web-site to learn about all our tours.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Springville, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Calvin with Art Deco Walking Tour is a delight.”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Art Deco Walking Tour was one of the highlights of our recent trip. We really didn't know what to expect, but Calvin brought it all alive and added so much more than we could have ever learned just reading about it. We visited many high dollar hotels and learned so much about the architecture and products used during the Art Deco period.
I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg_Westendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    83
    9
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chrisinte's knowledge and enthusiasm made the tour very informative and memorable.”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Art Deco walking tour was very inoformative and entertaining. I had walked the area on many occasions admiring the buildings but never had any insight into the construction and preservation of the area. It was really quite fascinanting to learn of the History of South Beach and of the architecture of the area. This Tour was excellent! I would recommend and ceratinaly a do over when in the area.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
“What a way to spend the day!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a long layover in Miami and this tour made our day fun and memorable. Marty was an outstanding guide. He started with the basics of Miami Beach, then built our understanding of Art Deco architecture with local examples and colorful stories about the growth of the local community as well as the changes of the International Art Deco style. In South America we saw many more examples of the style, and this knowledge enriched our experience in looking at architecture wherever we traveled. Marty is a delightful person, well informed, and full of interesting stories. What started as a way to fill a dull afternoon became a highlight of our trip.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Owner at Art Deco Tours, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Hi Judy!
The fact that our tour was the highlight of your three week vacation is such high praise. Wow. Thank you.

Many guests do take our tour at the beginning of their trip to have a foundation of what makes Art Deco so special. It also heightens the rest of one's visit and gives them the opportunity to revisit certain buildings, restaurants...

Given that our tour is 2 hours, it is ideal for those long layovers to/from the cruise port or airport. South Beach is about 20 minutes from the airport and port.

We hope you can return sooner than later to explore more hidden treasures.
Many thanks,
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
2 reviews
“What a bargain, puts the Big Red Bus to shame in terms of historical context and architectural details.”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Our guide Marty was knowledgeable about South Beach and Florida history, we never asked him a question he could not answer. At the end of the tour he gave us suggestions for restaurants and other sightseeing attractions. Also a good sense of humor.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian_W805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Owner at Art Deco Tours, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Greetings Bobbi!
Thank you for you taking the time to share your experience. Indeed a visit is always heightened when escorted by a local like Marty who's fun and really knows his backyard--history, Art Deco, etc..

Thank you also for sharing the link about Art Deco classic car museum in California. I posted it to our Facebook page to share with other Art Deco enthusiasts.

Warmest regards,
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tour is not to be missed”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The walking tour is fabulous. Calvin is the coolest cat about town and a wealth of information. It is well worth the money yand most enjoyable.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Art Deco Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing