We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but room for improvement”
Review of Abae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abae Hotel
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here in a penthouse suite for 7 nights, initially very bad impression - AC didn't work in the room at all. Attempts were made to fix it very quickly but required an engineer. Unfortunately couldn't be called out the evening of arrival due to weather, resulting in a very sleepless night at 85f. The following day it was fixed fortunately. Would expect this to have been checked pre check in as rather critical and they said that they'd been experiencing issues on the floor.

We also booked through booking.com where the penthouse suites are advertised as having a balcony - ours had a tiny space you could just about stand on but that was all. In fairness, their website clarifies this where as booking.com did not. We asked to change room to one with a balcony and were moved a few days into our stay.

Apart from these initial issues the room was of decent size with comfortable bed and decent shower, however I have to agree with others regrading cleanliness. It appears to be more of a tidy and superficial clean than what most hotels perform. Underneath the bed was very dirty, there was a large obvious makeup mark on the bathroom door that easily cleaned off that they'd ignored. For a hotel this new the condition wasn't great. These are relatively minor issues but detract from the overall experience.

We found the location to be great, it's not particularly close to ocean drive if that's where you plan to spend most of your time it's most likely not ideal.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Abae Hotel and we loved it.. the room is awesome, bigger than expected. We have a large room with kitchenette and livingroom.
The hotel is perfectly located and the roof top with the pool is amazing!
A good value for money !
We will come back for sure!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Virginie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

I booked it 3 month ago but when we arrived the reception guy refused our booking , he said they are full and don't have room for us. Terrible experience. Stay away from this place. Luckily we found another place to stay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Dmytro K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

The apartments look amazing but just haven't been thought about properly. They have coffee machine and oven and microwave which is great. But then no kettle, no pans or anything to cook with, just shows it hasn't been thought about.

Similar things are the sun beds by the pool all have sheeting around them so they kind of have some shade but not enough. Then no umbrellas.

And no sunbeds that you could put fully in the sun if you wanted to.

Apartment was cleaned everyday. But I would more say it was a tidy. And there is hair everywhere!! Think the cleaners need hairnets desperately.

The worst thing about this hotel is there front desk. I have stayed in 2* hotels with more friendly and helpful staff. The front desk is the most miserable experience I have ever had checking into a hotel.

However after all this. The view by the pool is great! The location is 100% perfect. The beds comfy. The apartments are bigger than expected.

Definitely a good option for the price but could literally be 5* if they got some better service and some common sense.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Soooo this was a nice, very clean, and cozy hotel BUT this was a stay that wasn't so good. The hotel apparently switched to a new system while we were there.. when initially booked I paid the first night for the deposit, after I got there I was charge the entire price of the stay(my deposit was not showing I paid) so they had to refund the difference. Then I get home to find out Tuesday morning my card was charged a second time again for the wrong price. So I ended up paying twice for a weekend stay. Not to mention the wait it will take to receive back the funds that was taken. I had to dispute with my bank. So if you decide to stay I encourage you to use cash if you can. Or make sure their system is running better. It was a nightmare, But I guess could have been worse. Oh and one of the guys(can't remember his name) who works over night was kind off rude, he was not trying to help me so I had to wait to speak to Brett. Brett was great tho. I'm not sure if I'll ever stay there again because that can never happen again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Monique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#40 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,921 reviews
1.2 km away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#83 of 212 in Miami Beach
208 reviews
1.1 km away
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 212 in Miami Beach
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#98 of 212 in Miami Beach
836 reviews
1.1 km away
The Shepley Hotel
The Shepley Hotel
#14 of 212 in Miami Beach
719 reviews
1.1 km away
The Kent Hotel
The Kent Hotel
#94 of 212 in Miami Beach
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abae Hotel

Address: 1215 West Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4307
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range: €152 - €241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abae Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABAE is a mysterious coded letter combination that matches the address (1215) for an extra layer of exclusivity. 1215 West Avenue is one of the most coveted addresses in South Beach. ABAE HOTEL, welcomes guests to the chicest side of the island. In the heart of the West Avenue corridor. Each room features ultra modern decor with timeless lines, calming neutrals complemented by splashes of color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Abae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing