We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, poor to ok service”
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel
Ranked #64 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, SC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view, poor to ok service”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

First of all, don't let my average rating deter you if you don't care about housekeeping issues, particularly the lack of them. Let me start with the positives. We were in a king suite on the ocean and could not ask for more in terms of view and overall ambiance. The breakfast buffet, for the cost, is excellent and better than you would expect in a hotel.

Ok, now the negatives. My husband and I are very particular about NOT having our towels, sheets, soap, etc. changed every single night. We don't do this at home so there is not sense doing it while we are are on vacation. We did everything as instructed in order to not get our linens, towels changed including putting the privacy notice on the door. When we returned in the evening, on our second night, our room had been completely cleaned with new towels, sheets, etc. We were not happy at all so we went to the front desk to complain. I don't remember who we spoke to initially but when we told him about the situation HE BLAMED US! Both my husband and I are in management and/or sales and we know this is absolutely not the way you treat your customers. Without describing blow by blow, it became a little more complicated from that point on until 2 other managers came out who handled the situation much better that the original desk person with whom we spoke.

If someone offered us a free or reduced stay at Grand Beach, we'd most likely go back. However, should we return to Miami Beach independently, we'd probably look to see if we could find another property. And final advice-don't get the lunch buffet! We were starving and its presentation was so beautiful we thought surely it would be worth the $35 per person. Amazing how deceiving looks can be!

Room Tip: Our room was relatively quiet although it helped to keep the fan on since there were kids in the nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DixieUte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,296
    1,880
    585
    243
    215
See reviews for
2,285
1,582
96
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Grand Beach for 7 nights and had a wonderful experience.every single staff member we dealt with was courteous, accomodating and friendly. the rooms are as everyone says lovely, clean and spacious. 2 bathrooms and a sitting area is a terrrific bonus in a hotel room! pools are clean, gym is nicely equipped and the beach is outside your door! parking was timely and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4greatkds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOSCOW
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We've stayed in this hotel for 10 days in March 2011.
Reception was kind and efficient. We had 2 bedroom suite.
I just would repeat other reviewers - rooms and views are beautiful and stunning.
Modern, white and airy room (even huge) with modern facilities. 2 equal bathrooms.
We found the service of the room excellent.
Breakfast was good, but costy - about $90 for 2 adults and 2 kids. Would like to have better choice of dishes. I can't tell anything about dinning in a hotel - we always drive for dine, but I would agree with reviewers - the restaurant looked not very nice and menu is more fit to the fast food dinning, even good enough.
2 pools at this hotel are definately small compare to the number of guests. We had to pick the time to use it. Also there are not enough chairs near.
Beach is beautiful, but not equipped, not many services. Anyway, I really enjoyed staying at the ocean.
The parking was pretty expensive, but if to take into account the location - it's acceptable.
I'd agree with community about location - it's far from South Beach, Downtown and others but we had a car and drove daily to many places.

Room Tip: Take an ocean view, but the opposite view is also nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoscowPavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The rooms and views are beautiful. The service was fine. Excellent value for the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueWaterBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The beautiful and great room with ocean views and charming decor contrast with the lack of service in general. My son and I were staying for 3 nights.
On the first day, I had to ask for towels because the maid had forgotten to replace ...
On the second day, after the room service, the dirty glasses from the night before still on the table and extra pillows were on the sofa, just as we had left before bedtime...
Finally, the concierge NOT booked the car to take us to the airport at 6:00 in the morning, as I had asked twice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RITAFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
1.3 km away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,093 reviews
2.2 km away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,223 reviews
2.1 km away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#33 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
1.4 km away
Courtyard Cadillac Miami Beach/Oceanfront
4.0 km away
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#56 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Property: Grand Beach Hotel
Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-2751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing