We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not go back”
Review of The Park Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Park Central
Ranked #136 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 20 July 2008

The best thing about this hotel is that it is in a great location if you want to be on Ocean Drive. It is right across the street from the beach. I feel like they really tried with this hotel - you can see a lot of personal touches like robes in the bathroom, newer TVs, and they are renovating rooms. The room was small but clean. The room had a lot of really nice, thoughtful details. Someone is really trying to make this hotel seem upscale. There is a tiny shop downstairs, which is convenient.

However, the air conditioner in our room consistently emitted a small engine roar after running quietly for five minutes and was so incredibly loud that we couldn't run it at night (and I am not a light sleeper). Consequently, our room pretty much felt like a sauna. We finally figured out that the noise happened after turning the air conditioning off and then turning it on again. When we left the air conditioning on all day and came back (we wanted to cool the room down so we could turn it off while we were in the room because of the noise), the sound would dim down to a dull hum, which seemed wasteful, but that is what we ended up doing. However, even with the noise down, the air conditioner didn't really work that great.

Other things that weren't so great about this hotel: there is only one ice machine - it's on the fourth floor, which was under construction. The afternoon staff are not that friendly; they feel kind of scornful. The maids and the morning staff were pretty nice.

We had dinner downstairs at Casablanca. I don't know what breakfast and lunch are like, but I would not recommend dinner. The drinks and appetizers were really good, but the entrees were really, really bad. Just completely bad.

Most of the other things I would overlook, but I wouldn't go back to this hotel just based on the air conditioner not working. Miami in the summer is a miserable experience without a functioning air conditioner.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank extraextra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

824 - 828 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2008

I stayed at the Park Central for 14 nights with my boyfriend and have to agree with the previous review, we were in some ways disappointed. The hotel is listed as an historic building so i appreciate not much rennovation can be done, but it could do with a touch of redecorating. Our room was nice, spacious and down the corridor from the lift. There was no noise heard at all. Only downside is the noisy air conditioning and fan which badly needs to be updated and had to be kept on all night otherwise the room would be too hot.

We had the continental breakfast included in our package but that was a major disappointment - you have to chose between a bagel, croissant, muffin or toast and this comes with tea/coffee and juice. I generally stay in hotels of this class - mid range, and they always offer a buffet service. The service was slow and not particulary friendly and if you want to order other items from the menu you will find they are priced at least twice as much as elsewhere on Ocean Drive.

On the plus side, the hotel staff are very helpful and nice people.

The location is fantastic, 7th Street Ocean Drive with easy access to the beach, shops and restaurants. Also appreciated the free beach towels and sun lounger use.

Despite some disappointments, i enjoyed my stay here and would not advise against using the Park Central, if you mainly want a central location as a base and do not plan on spending much time in the hotel, but i would recomment a room only basis as the whole of Ocean Drive offers better value meals.

It just about qualifies as being worth the money, but i feel that the Park Central could be slowly falling behind the other similar priced hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BARTSTAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

I spent a lot of time on the internet researching a good, central but not overly expensive hotel to stay for four days over Christmas with my husband.

Having stayed in the Park Central, I'm now not really sure what to say about it.

It appeared on the face of it, and on the internet, good value for Miami. It was in a great location on Ocean Drive, art deco in its styling, had pretty good reviews on trip advisor - yet somehow didn't meet my expectations.

First impressions were of a slightly grubby, slightly unkempt hotel. Excused somehow ( in my mind) by the fact that it was genuinely art deco.

Our room (with a sea view therefore more £) was small, noisy because of the lift next door and just not somewhere we wanted to spend much time. Strangely, reminding me of the hotel we had stayed in, in Cuba, the year before. But with much lower expectations.

We didn't eat in the restaurant. The bar itself was fine - but the barmaid did try to rip us off right royaly. However the reception staff were excellent and helpful and the parking was close by and cheap.

Overall it wasn't a dissapointing few days but somhow not quite up to expectations. However with no experience of other Miami Hotels it's difficult to give a truly clear objective. Hence,'m not quite sure what to say. about the Park Central.

One recommendation I would make make for South Beach is the restaurant "A Fish Called Avalon" one block up from the Park Central. It was superb - and way ahead of most of the restaurant on Ocean Drive.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HBomb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2008

Stayed here for 4 nights to end our 2 weeks exploring the keys. Was very impressed, room was spacious, bed very comfy, huge TV, robes, free newspapers, free wifi. Loved all the old black and white photos all over the hotel. Used the $15 self parking round the corner, they give you a pass to get in and out, then you pay for it when you check out. Only complaint was that the fridge was so full of mini bar items, we couldn't fit any of our own water etc in, so had to keep getting ice.

I think we may have been fortunate with our location, we had a room at the back of the hotel through a fire door (217). The view wasn't great, but it was the furthest from the elevator, and only joined to one room so it was fairly quiet. There was occaisional noise which floated up from the stairs, i think the kitchen might have been nearby, but it didn't really bother us. Was quick to run up 2 flights of stairs to get ice as well.

Hotel is perfectly located on Ocean Drive, a short walk accross the park to the beach where you can get free chairs. Beach towels available from the concierge, who was also a great help with making recommendations and booked the Barton G restaurant for us (would highly recommend). Didn't try the breakfast in Casablancas as we slept in most mornings, and there are loads of places to get a good brunch including the News Cafe and Big Pink.

Roof terrace was nice, but we didn't get much of a chance to use it as there was quite bad rain during our stay. The seats were wet when the sun did come out. There was yoga up there on saturday morning which i would have loved to join, but it was our last day and i was busy packing :(

Only thing that did get very annoying was the hosts on Ocean Drive trying to get you in their restaurant as you walked past. Decided to walk on the ocean side of the pavement to avoid them. But you couldn't avoid the host of Casablanca's as we had to walk past her to get into the hotel!

When it came to checking out, they stored our luggage, and then opened a shower room so that we could freshen up before driving to the airport. Was a particularly hot day, so that was really appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Melbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2008

I thought the hotel was perfect. A bit dated, but how long do you actually stay in the hotel for?

Perfect location for lincoln road shopping and at the end of the strip so you've got every restaurant you could ever want within steps of the door!

It can get a bit annoying as everyone is asking you to dine or drink in there place, but if you cross over and walk on the other side of Ocean Drive, then it's fine.

The smallest pool in the world, but, none of the hotels on Ocean Drive have pools really.

Good price and would definitely recommend as a base

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahN79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#125 of 212 in Miami Beach
886 reviews
0.1 km away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,460 reviews
0.7 km away
The Marlin Hotel
The Marlin Hotel
#7 of 212 in Miami Beach
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Essex House
Essex House
#54 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,928 reviews
0.9 km away
Cardozo Hotel
Cardozo Hotel
#145 of 212 in Miami Beach
352 reviews
0.9 km away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#87 of 212 in Miami Beach
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Central

Address: 640 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6219
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#92 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: €122 - €196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park Central 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central Miami Beach
Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing