We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel lacking good service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #68 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel lacking good service.”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Hotel is beautiful. It sits on Ocean Drive, a beautiful grand dame of art deco. Too bad the service doesn't live up to the hotel. Front desk staff was very nice at all times, the restaurant staff was another story. They act like you are lucky to get service and very poor service it was!
The hotel should have a better team, it deserves it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ngonghills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your authentic feedback on your recent stay with us,

Our sincerest apologies for the lack of attentiveness, graciousess and friendliness from our staff. This is embarrassing and not indicative of the service you deserve.

We will use these comments as part of a retraining to all staff to ensure we provide the experience you and other guests deserve.

Once again, our deepest apologies.

Sincerely,

Mathew Pargament
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    292
    98
    41
    39
See reviews for
178
602
46
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I've stayed at many of the large hotels on South Beach (Delano, W, Fountainblue) and thought it would be nice to try something a bit more quaint. Unfortunatly, this was not only the worst place i've stayed on South Beach but probably one of the worst hotels i've stayed at anywhere. Everything from the restaurant service at the hotel, to the room to the front desk service were awful. It is extremely noisy and the staff is very rude. WARNING: DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank zoenicole819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced on your recent visit to The Tides South Beach.

There is never an excuse for poor service and guest inconvenience and frankly, I am embarrassed. I assure you that this experience is not indicative of the service philosophy we champion at The Tides and certainly not representative of the style we have become famous for over the years.

It is extremely disconcerting to us when we learn one of our valued customers has had an unpleasant experience. We work diligently each day to build a service culture, responsive to the individual needs of our guests. It is obvious that on this occasion we have failed to accomplish our goal. I would like to extend my apologies for the poor service which you experienced throughout your stay. ,

We hope that you will afford us the opportunity to redeem ourselves by offering you the level of service which you, as an esteemed guest of The Tides expect and deserve. I hope that you will give us another chance during your next visit to Miami so that we may show you that we are indeed committed to providing service that is unparalleled.

Regards,

Mathew Pargament
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We had lunched outside here a year before this trip. We were impressed by the ambience, service, food and the art deco design. So this year, we happened to be near Ocean Drive and decided to stay at the hotel.

The reception staff were really pleasant and helpful.The room, which overlooked Ocean Drive and the sea, was excellent - large with great art deco design with all the facilities that anyone could reasonably expect. We dined out on the terrace - the food, wine and service was very good. The location is absolutely perfect, being right in the middle of the action, but the hotel is an oasis where one can have peace and quiet.

I would certainly recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
So nice to hear about your recent visit to South Beach and the Tides.

Hope to see you back with us soon.

Regards,

Mathew Pargament
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
352 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Recommended by our Travel Agent who felt that the Delano would be too noisy for us. Our first night was noisy, however, as the Hotel is next to the Palace Bar which hosts a number of gay evenings. Apparently there is frustration at the Hotel at the noise emanating from here.

We had Maintenance shut our window completely on the first morning and the noise was pretty well blocked out although we were aware of much commotion coming from the Palace Bar from 6:00pm on the ?Saturday night which is broadcast, I believe.

Couple of niggles. There was no information book in the room — you know, the sort that tells you about check out times, laundry facilities, location of the pool etc. Had we had one, I would have expected detailed instructions on operating the Nespresso machine, plus the DVD and TV and the Alarm.

We were offered a cocktail on arrival which was pleasant but one was served in a cracked glass.

Room was quite jaded and in need of refurbishment and, as mentioned earlier, we couldn't close the metal framed window on the first night.

On the other hand, the bed was very comfortable and there's great complimentary pastries and coffee/tea in the lobby. And in a great location for South Beach (although just a little too close to the Palace Bar!)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your authentic feedback on your recent experience at Tides.

Our sincerest apologies for the numerous inconveniences your experienced during your time here- from the exterior excessive noises generating from our neighbors, the lack of an information book in the room on the services and operations of the room and the Hotel, the lack of attentiveness in our glassware and the tired look of the room.

I am saddened to hear about your experience, but will use the information provided to us to address these items urgently and correct them.

Sincerely,

Mathew Pargament
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We were looking for a place that was close to the action of SB but also a hideaway. This hotel is the perfect location in between the southern end and the old north end. The rooms are large and modern. The pool is quiet and tranquil. We came off the street where it was typical SB which was bustling and loud and could not hear anything in our 2nd floor room! The staff was very professional and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethbussian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Very nice to hear abour your recent visit to South Beach and the Tides. So glad you enjoyed yourself.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mathew Pargament
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Leslie Hotel
#41 of 207 in Miami Beach
510 reviews
Hotel Victor
#77 of 207 in Miami Beach
896 reviews
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#8 of 207 in Miami Beach
2,398 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,862 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Property: The Tides South Beach
Address: 1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing