We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,067)
Filter reviews
1,067 results
Traveller rating
441
361
151
51
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
361
151
51
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews broken shaker bunk room bottom bunk south beach power outlets pool area great music free breakfast common areas bachelorette party enjoyed my stay the location is perfect collins avenue ocean drive hostel hipster vibe
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 1,067 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2017

My stay at the Freehand has been great. The rooms are clean and spacious, there is a nice swimming pool, where you meet people of all over the world, the staff is great as well and besides that it has one of the best cocktail bars of the city.

Cheap , cheerful and excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arroyinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with a few friends for Miami carnival was a nice hotel had a few problems however the staff were on top of fixing it as soon as they could the pool area and bar is really nice and it offers free breakfast daily

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Bibi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Friendly and helpful service from all staff e.g. receptionist and bar staff at The Broken Shaker. I stayed in a king size room as treat for finishing my month long trip away to America and Canada and what a spacious room it was. Very clean, beach/seaside themed room and had added amenities such as mini bar, toiletries and Freehand branded robes. The hostel is situated in a central location on south beach with a short walk to main streets such as Collins Avenue and Lincoln Road or the famous Art Deco District Ocean Drive is good 20 minutes or so away. Lots of attractions in the area to see/do. With only one day in the city I was limited on time so I took a Big Bus Hop on & off tour bus to see a bit more of the city. I used the Beach (blue) loop and City (red) loop and managed to see more of the city. I stopped off to see the Wynwood Art Walls as have an interest in art & design and also stopped off near Ocean Drive to check out those Art Deco buildings too. Overall a wonderful experience in a fascinating city that I would love to visit again sometime soon!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with statravel.com
1  Thank kayleigh_black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

I hate writing reviews, b/c I'm everyone's highlighted all the features. Clean, amazingly fun, super cheap, best people, and pool. Two blocks from a quiet beach, short uber to SoBe. Probably the best hostel in America. I will be back.

Room Tip: Inside facing might be a little loud at night due to all the fun happening. But...that's also why you're in MIA.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

A dormitory-style room at the Freehand is a little more expensive than other hostels in Miami Beach, but this place is absolutely worth the price. This homey, eclectic hostel is located just outside South Beach's most congested areas and is a close, safe walk to the beach and nightlife.

I stayed in an eight-person dorm, and the L-shaped room was spacious. I never felt too cramped, even when the space was fully occupied. Our room also came with two full bathrooms, and each bed had a shelf along the wall, a bedside table, clothing hooks, and a personal lamp.

The complimentary breakfast was standard and was served out of the hostel kitchen, which was a little out of the way from the main hostel. To get to it, guests must walk through the gardens and the bar and pool areas, so the scenery made up for the trek. The hostel also offers a complimentary happy hour each day.

Room Tip: There was still some construction on Indian Creek when I was staying there, so rooms away from the street would be quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indiamamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews