We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great rooms, good service”
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #54 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, great rooms, good service”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel two days ago for three nights. I was surprised for the quality and the quietness of the rooms. I got the suite 14, on the building outside the main building.
The rooms are big, clean, comfortable and quiet.
The hotel is located on 10th St, but you dont listen to anything in the street though.
There is no breakfast, but it is OK. You can grab a coffee (for free) and have something on your way,
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capitanblusero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    703
    216
    70
    58
See reviews for
302
781
72
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This was my first time staying at the Essex Hotel, but I have to say that I was very impressed with the top-notch customer service and amenities offered at the hotel! Brad at the Front Desk seemed very genuine and was extremely helpful by recommending affordable local places to eat in the area. I loved the idea of complimentary beers and wine at the Essex bar during happy hour...not many hotels offer a deal like this on drinks! Brogan the bartender makes the best mojitos and made good conversation at the bar.

As a guest at the Essex, you get to enjoy the benefits of the Clevelander without the hassle of losing any sleep! Overall, my friends and I had a blast because the staff was super-friendly and helpful, and the decor of the rooms and lobby were very impressive for a hotel that was built over 80 years ago. I'll definitely be back in the Summer with more people!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClevelanderMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Hi Adrian,

Thank you for your review and recommendation of Essex House! We feel that great customer service is extremely important, so we are happy to hear that Brogan and Brad were both helpful and friendly. We cannot wait to make your next trip to South Beach just as comfortable and pleasant!

Safe travels,

Kelsey Jones
Clevelander & Essex House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We went for halloween and it was great. The room is pretty big and clean. There is security on site so no random people come in. The lobby and waiting area is very posh looking. It is quiet for being one block from ocean drive and about 3 from the beach. It will be about a 5 to 10 minute cab ride to fountainblue hotel which has the best clubs. Make sure you try to find a promoter to get you a reduced rate. I hate being pretentious, but it was cheaper buying the limo and all you can drink deals from them to get in the major clubs which can run you from 30 to 50 dollars for girls. The restaurants are generally expensive on ocean drive so I would recommend collins for washingston,

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ktjf07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This is an original but modern art deco property in South Beach. It's not on Ocean Drive (the beach front street) it's on Collins, so one street back. This makes it a bit quieter but if you want a quiet room, ask for one overlooking Collins, not the service alley.

The room was modern, spacious and clean. It had a large new fit bathroom with shower but no tub. No problem tho.

There is a/c which was fine for March but the windows don't open so can't say whether would be comfortable in summer. Hotel has nice cool, elegant public spaces inside and out, furnished with stylish modern art deco inspired pieces. There's a cocktail bar and a swimming pool. There's no restaurant (sister hotel next door on Ocean provides meals in their restaurant and bars).

The hotel provides complimentary coffee in the lobby in the mornings. Note that there's no coffee in the bedrooms. Note that there's no safe in the rooms either.

Staff were friendly and helpful. This felt like a safe and comfortable place to stay, just yards from Ocean Drive but out of the constant madness that you see on that street. We really enjoyed a dip in the hotel pool which is hidden from the street. It's like an oasis.

We would choose to come back here.

A word of warning about parking. There's a garage next to the hotel. It has recently been updated so it has automatic barriers and pay stations, rather than the pay attendant on exit style.

When we arrived at the hotel we asked where to park. We were told by front desk to use the garage as they were a hotel partner and there is a special discounted 24 hour rate for guests. The receptionist in the hotel also explained that this is where their valet service is based. We asked how the discount works and were told to speak to the garage manager when leaving to get the discount.

Long and short - discount didn't happen and we were charged regular price at the garage. Since they installed the automatic ticket and payment system in the garage these discounts are no longer available. The garage staff said that their people had explained the situation to the staff at the Essex House several times and they just don't get it. Their words to me and my wife were, "we have lots of problems with the Essex".

So here it is guys - as of now, no discount for Essex House guests self parking, but valet seems to be about the same price so maybe a better deal for you?

I spoke to the front desk staff at the Essex House about this when I collected my luggage. They kinda played dumb and said that the manager would call me when he got on duty. I'm still waiting.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClevelanderMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for your review of Essex House! We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our oasis of a pool and art deco charm. We apologize for the confusion with the parking garage and that you were not called back. If you could please send us a message with your name and phone number, our front-desk manager would like to speak with you as originally promised. We’ve met with the parking garage company and want to follow up with specifics to fix these misunderstandings before they can happen again.

On another note, we will be opening a new restaurant shortly in the heart of our history lobby and bar area. We are very excited for this opening and hope you will enjoy it during your next trip to South Beach!

Safe travels,

Kelsey Jones
Clevelander & Essex House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

For me, staying in the Essex House is the only way to get a true Miami experience. Essex house is the best of both worlds. Things are very peaceful on the patio, by the pool, and in the bar. It is a boutique hotel so everything is sized for a very catered experience. For partying, it does not fall short either. Your room key gets you complete no-line access to the Clevelander and its private decks. Also, don’t miss out on the weekday happy hour where beer and wine is completely free. The service is impeccable, as everyone working there seems so happy to have you staying there. Remembered from being there before, we were surprised to have some drinks waiting in our room when we arrived. I even forgot some valuables when I checked out, and had no problem having them sent to me.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FredjSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#49 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,314 reviews
0.3 km away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#46 of 208 in Miami Beach
551 reviews
0.3 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#36 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 km away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#113 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,772 reviews
0.2 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Property: Essex House
Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing