We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Weekend Get-a-way!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle
Ranked #79 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Macon, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect Weekend Get-a-way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Beautiful setting, attentive staff, fantastic dinning! We had a perfect weekend.

Room Tip: There are only 50 rooms - from the looks of things it appears all rooms have a gorgeous waterfront v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeachMacon_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    96
    58
    39
    48
See reviews for
87
147
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Spent several days over Christmas at the Grove Isle Hotel & Spa. The rooms are spacious with great views of the bay. The bathrooms are small and a little dated. Service in the restaurant is slow. Spent time at the pool. The tiki bar staff is very friendly and accommodating. If you are looking for a private getaway, this is a hotel for you.

Room Tip: If you want a large patio, choose the first floor. Best views are on the marina side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilre12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

WE read lots of reviews and some were good while others were not. We were lead to believe that the hotel was on an exclusive Island...ummm...not quite as there are very large condominiums that also share this island with the hotel. For the price paid, there were a lot of things that could be improved for very little money. Our first clue should have been the check in staff who were not dressed in any special manner when compared to other 4 and 5 star hotels we have stayed in in North America and in Europe. There wasn't a thorough explanation of the property, a list of the amenities offered, or a map given of the outlying area. When we reached our room it was obvious that while it once must have been high end for it's time, it was in need of some refreshing as the door knobs were scratched and well worn, the patio furniture was dusty and in need of new cushions, the coffee table was dinged, scratched, and the rattan under the glass was faded and half of the color was scratched off. When we went to use the portable phone, the base unit appeared to work, but obviously no one had checked the phone itself as it no longer worked. Fortunately there was a table phone which was in working order. Upon checking the bathroom we were not impressed as the tub could have easily been re caulked (there was mold around the caulking) which would have made it look more presentable. The cabinet under the sink was cracked and in need of much repair. We decided to high tail it outside as the property itself was really quite inviting and kept well. I think that is probably where all of their money goes. WE sat upon the lovely lounge chairs overlooking the water on a small sandy man made beach. My husband ordered to glasses of wine for us and when he returned with the plastic wine glasses which were in need of washing he looked very annoyed. Hmmm, not only were we charged for the wine, but they automatically add in their own gratuity. $30.00 for two glasses of wine is a bit steep. Well, upon first sip of this wine which should have been amazing for the price charged I had the urge to spit it out. It was awful! Once we dared to force ourselves to try a few more sips, I had had it and returned it politely to the bar staff who appeared surprise by my complaint. He assured me he would bring us another wine to replace the one we truly did not care for. Once again we took our first sip, blech! It tasted the same as the original wine given to us in which case it was returned again and we were given two glasses of beer which now lowered our bar bill to $19.00. We just felt that something wasn't right which led us to steer away from their in house restaurant which also had very high prices. When we finally retired to our room for the night we thought about ordering a movie, but I'm sorry $18.00 dollars for a movie is ridiculous! We gave it a miss. By the end of one night stay we paid a hotel tax, a parking fee, a overly priced bar bill and our bill came to a whopping $ 460.00. We were more than disappointed and would never consider staying there again, which is a shame because with some tweaking the hotel could have been a much different experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

This is BY FAR the worst hotel that my husband and I have EVER been to...and we've stayed at Holiday in Express! The service is attrocious. I had to attempt to serve myself a drink after literally waiting for an hour for a refill and even at that extreme it took another 20 min! (inital drink orders took over 30 min and it was just soda...)...The food wasn't horrible but wasn't good either. The people there are rude, miserable, and extremely unprofessional. It took over 5 hrs for our room to be ready once we arrived. I realize they only have so much control over that but they can also be nice and welcoming about it...The craziest part was when we requested and were approved for late checkout and an extremely rude, cranky man started banging on our door in the morning and said he had 2 new guests waiting to get into the room. WHAT??? Kicking us out in the morning after we had to wait until 5 pm for our room?!? Then they also called us up asking us to leave...This was all BEFORE our approved checkout time. When I casually and very nicely mentioned this at checkout they just looked at me weird and didn't apologize...The elevators there are DISGUSTING. The grounds are OK...but not to the point where I'd ever want to hang around there by choice. The room was OK as well but not very clean. Had to pay abt $100 in parking and resort fees at checkout for 1 standard room. Would gladly stay at Holiday Inn Express again over this dump.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

We live in Miami, and my husband and I usually go out of town or take a short weekend cruise to celebrate my birthday. This year, since we had recently returned from a transatlantic cruise, we decided to keep it local. The Grove Isle is only about 30 minutes from our condo, so we decided to spend my birthday weekend there. What a great decision that was!

Check-in at the hotel was quick, efficient, and friendly. Within minutes, we were being escorted to our bayview room. We were located on the second floor with a fabulous view. The room was well-appointed and spacious. Although this is not a new property, it has lots of character and charm. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive. The valet attendants were always prompt when retrieving our vehicle.

We had concert tickets and prior dinner arrangements, so we didn't have the opportunity to experience dinner at the Gibraltar, their signature on site restaurant. That evening after returning from our concert we went to their bar for late night drinks. The bartender was friendly and helpful; he suggested we have cognac. We enjoyed our drinks outside where they had a wonderful fireplace lit for the evening. I know what you are thinking, fireplace in Miami? Yes, there was a slight chill in the air, so the fireplace was quite appropriate. At that momemt, we decided to make this an annual tradition.

The next morning we had breakfast at Gibralter. We opted for ourdoor seating so that we could enjoy the beautiful view. They have an exceptional breakfast selection. We decided on the french toast and we were not disappointed. It was absolutely delicious.

We enjoyed our stay at the Grove Isle Hotel and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirlyn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#42 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#20 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Hotel Urbano
#49 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle

Property: Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle
Address: 4 Grove Isle Drive, Miami, FL 33133-4125 (Formerly The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa)
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Miami
#24 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Isle Hotel Miami
The Grove Isle Hotel And Spa
Grove Isle Hotel
Palmeiras Beach Club At Grove Isle Miami, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing